We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Lion
Nearby Hotels
$109
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bull Hotel(Fairford)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel(Swindon)(Great Value!)
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cricklade House(Cricklade)
$100
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Inn(Swindon)
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel(Swindon)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveler rating
18
25
6
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
25
6
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking the thames pathfamily meallarge conservatoryhome cooked foodsunday lunchview of the riverpub foodlovely gardenfish and chipsnext morningploughmansbasin
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 69 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked a groupon deal for a sunday lunch here on August 26th 2012.

Let's start with the positive:
We had a sunday roast and the food was very tasty and good size portions.
The puddings were the same and a good variety to choose from.

The negetive:
The land lady was very rude and shouted at me when i queried the seating arrangements - there were 4 of us and she asked us to sit at a table laid for 8 people. She shouted and said it was infact 2 tables of 4 - but everyone was seated facing each other! Very weird and she definately made us feel on edge especially as the place wasn't full but she deliberately sat people with us on our table and we were all facing each other.

She let the side down really, because buying groupon deals give you the opportunity to try pubs out that you wouldn't normally try and hopefully return if you have a good experience. We certainly won't return due to her very rude and weird attitude which is a shame as the food and surroundings were top notch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel_and_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Went here on a lovely sunny day, after going for a walk, for a few drinks. Pub is very quaint and cosy, with lovely big garden right next to the Thames. Plenty of parking at front and side of the pub as well.

Our group had a small dog with us, and when we mentioned we would like to drink in the garden the lady behind the bar said we would have to go back out the front door and round the side of the pub! She wouldnt let us walk the dog by the restaurant, which is a few seconds to the garden. Restaurant had a cold and outdated feel, and none of us would have wanted to eat in it.

When asking about wine the lady serving read the bottles behind the bar, not offering a list or any more detaills, then kept her back to us awaiting our order. Thought this was very rude and had to make our choice lucky dip style to the back of the woman's head!

My partner and I decided we would like a portion of chips in the garden, only to be told they do not do portions of chips, if you want chips you need to order a main meal, and were offered a Ploughmans. Needless to say we did not order anything.

Really the staff seemed to be trying to make it a 4star resturant rather than a cosy village pub.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KM477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

There are 2 aspects of this establishment that I would like to comment on :the service and the location.

Firstly the service can only be described as remarkable. Nothing is too much trouble and the landlady is the epitome of courtesy and portrays a wonderful cheery disposition. She really lives by the "customer is always right" philosophy and was born to work in the service industry.

Secondly the location is wonderful, backing onto the Thames with convenient picnic tables for eating your lunch as you sample the Timothy Taylors. A real haven for walkers. It was also nice to see dogs are welcome in the bar: all too rare these days

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
Thank JackDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We went for a sunday lunch and arrived at 12.40, we were told we were late and should have been there for 12.30!!

we eventually got some drinks and sat down for our lunch however the dining room was cold and alot of us sat there in coats. a few people had starters which looked very nice. Before the main courses came out all the veg was delivered and was a bit cold before the actual lunch came out from the kitchen, the roast beef was very nice and there was plenty of the veg.

The landlady came round and told us to pay attention as she was going to tell us what the desserts were and listed about 8, when i asked if i could see the list she asked "why will it make it easier?!" i thought this was incredibly rude!

my dessert never turned up and i asked for it and was told it was coming so didn't ask again. When i asked her to take it off the bill i was told why didn't i ask for it, i told her i did and she said well you should have asked louder!!

this was the final straw for me and i couldn't wait to get out of there. and i certainly would never go back! there was 18 of us at the lunch and we probably would have all met there again but not now.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stressicajordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This is a great place for Sunday Lunch and right next door the the Thames, and infact is the first pub on the Thames. There Sunday lunch is allmost to much to eat, and I should know as I have been back there three times.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AndrewEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews