We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect family getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Artisan Bakehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just returned from a week's family holiday at the Brewhouse with our two children, nearly 3 and 1. The location of the cottage was brilliant for child-friendly activities all of which were mentioned in Les & Louise's handy folder - Washbrook Farm was our favourite. They were all located nearby (max 40mins) so perfect for little ones not to get fed up. The lovely Les let our little boy make his own pizza and another night we had a beautiful meal prepared by them both, perfect. The pool was handy especially as it was heated, the trampoline a firm favourite for our little boy. The Fountain Inn has half price meals on Monday and as its down the road from the Bakehouse it was handy but also a charming pub. Like a few other people writing their reviews, I'm gutted I have to let more people know how charming, relaxing and truly wonderful this place is, and what great hosts Les and Louise are. Please don't come!!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

A lovely holiday and chance to relax and have fun for both the grown ups and the children. The accommodation is beautiful and the garden was a mass of flowers. The thoughtful extras - fresh flowers, a coverall for my toddler and some toys/books for the children were all much appreciated. We had far more of Les and Louise's home cooked food than we'd planned because it was fantastic. My children (1 and 4) got to make their own pizzas - a real hit. They loved the very friendly chickens and the trampoline. There was plenty to do locally. We really enjoyed Washbrooke Farm - perfect for any young child, lots of baby animals when we visited, good cafe and indoor play area if wet. Steyning is a lovely small town and we enjoyed building sandcastles at Littlehampton. My husband and I had a great massage and facial back at the cottages. None of us wanted to come home!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have had the pleasure of a number of experiences at The Artisan Bakehouse. We stayed in The Brewhouse which is a charming cottage with oodles of character and renovated to an exceptionally high standard. A unique blend of modern luxury and old charm, you feel rested the minute you walk through the door.

The location is truly stunning, as you drive down the drive rabbits scurry away and the moorhens rush back to the pond. The freerange chickens are more inquisitive and often come over for a visit! The gardens are beautiful and a pleasure to explore. There is even a heated outdoor pool tucked away! With the backdrop of the South Downs Les and Louise have created a heavenly retreat. You cannot help but feel relaxed staying here. We didn’t want to leave!

We have also been to a Pizza Party in the newly opened Bakehouse. The children loved it , Les is as good at amusing the children as he is baking. Everything is done to an exceptionally high standard in totally beautiful surroundings. A really unique birthday party for kids, hassle free for mums!

We loved the Bakehouse so much that we booked it out for a family members birthday party. Les and Louise excelled themselves providing an exceptional ‘High Afternoon Tea’. The food looked as exquisite as it tasted and the menu of teas a real treat and talking point. Again the attention to detail and warmth of the hosts provided a really unique and memorable experience.

We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: The Brewhouse has an Aga which I had never used before. Louise was happy to spend time with me teac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeyjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'm loathe to write this as I want this place to remain my precious secret!

We had a fantastic stay this summer at the Artisan Bakehouse. Beautiful cottages in an idyllic setting - great walks, well located for a short drive to Brighton, the zoo/farms, Shoreham, Arundel wetland centre (and Arundel), all of which we did in our week there - great for kids.

One of the real charms of this place is that it is self catering but they offer breakfast and dinner options and the food is absolutely delicious, fresh, local and beautifully prepared - this flexibility is brilliant. Les and Louise are the perfect hosts and make you feel very welcome from the moment you arrive. My wife also had a massage there from a local masseuse, which she loved. We managed a whole afternoon floating in the outdoor (heated) pool and my 2 year old has come away obsessed with rabbits, chickens and trampolines!

We will definitely be back and already planning a winter trip - woodland walks, wood stoves, great food - can't wait!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Milkhouse with our 15 month old son. The location is idyllic, the standard of the accommodation 5 star and the owners absolutely lovely. The homemade bread, dinner and cookies were delicious and there is plenty to do around the area for toddlers/children - a local soft play, little farms and activities for wet weather eg Brighton aquarium. And the spa treatments make it extra special for adults too!

I would definitely recommend this cottage and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: The Milkhouse has the bonus of a conservatory
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Having not long returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at The Milkhouse, I am wary of praising too highly as we want to return next year and I do not want to find the accommodation fully booked! We were greeted with freshly baked scones and tea on arrival, something which I had again during our stay as they were so delicious. The bedrooms were immaculate and fresh towels a plenty were laid out on arrival. The toy chest and toy mice were a great hit with my little girl, little things like this really do give the cottage such charm. My daughter was delighted at the chickens that roam free and loved a daily visit to the swings and trampoline.

The cottage is set within beautiful grounds and is ideally located for easy access to many areas of interest. All in all a wonderful stay and we cannot wait to return.

Carol, Stuart and Eva

Room Tip: If you want to cook during your stay then you will be more suited to the Brewhouse which has an Aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just got back from a lovely 4 night break at the Artisan Bakehouse. The location is fantastic being in the middle of the countryside but with the advantage of the nearby town of Steyning for local shopping. Not that you'll need to do any food shopping if you take up the offer of the owners, Les and Louise, doing the cooking for you! We took advantage of this on each night and it was fabulous! Good home cooked food (in vast quantities) always complete with freshly baked bread.

We travelled with our 11 month old baby and the cottage was well equipped for this with high chair, baby bath, toys etc. Everything was spotlessly clean and the grounds are immaculate especially with all the spring bulbs in bloom. The roaming chickens and rabbits were a particular favourite for our baby, and he also very much enjoyed the swing.

Both Les and Louise can't do enough to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We felt like we actually had a holiday - not an easy thing to achieve with a baby in tow! We shall return as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bazola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Artisan Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Artisan Bakehouse

Address: 1-3 Horsebridge Cottage Horsebridge Common | Horsebridge Common, Ashurst, Ashurst BN44 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham District > Ashurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ashurst
Price Range: $125 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 16th Century Sussex Farmhouse set in 5 acres of pretty gardens and woodland. Offering two newly renovated self-catering holiday cottages with the option to enjoy delicious home cooked AGA meals from our Farmhouse kitchen. Kingsize beds, luxury bathrooms, cosy log fires & deep armchairs in the winter, a heated outdoor pool to swim in, or relax by with a book in the summer. Relaxation treatments available from visiting Covent Garden Neals yard therapist. Acres of gardens and woodlands, chickens & ducks to feed and lots of other wildlife to spot. Parents will appreciate the tasteful luxurious cottage interiors and thoughtful added extras from fresh baked breakfasts, gourmet meal deliveries, babysitting and plentiful baby gear; whilst mini guests make the most of exploring. Set in a secluded rural ideal on the edge of the beautiful South Downs National Park yet just 5 minutes from the pretty vibrant village of Steyning and beaches within 10 minutes too! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing