We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Sheep Shed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bathampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Leaf Farm Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Found New Leaf Farm Cottages (6 in total I believe) through Country Cottages. Six of us stayed at the Sheep Shed to celebrate my husband's birthday. It was easy to find the property and plenty of parking on site as New Leaf Farm is off the main road.

The accommodation is of very good quality and condition. Good sized double bedrooms although the third bedrrom, a twin, was rather cramped. Having 2 bathrooms (with great powerful showers) was ideal for 6 adults, especially with the ensuite bathroom also having a door from the main hall. Comfortable beds and extra pillows are provided. The whole place was clean and inviting. Milk, butter and bread were left for us to use. We heard no noise from any other guests. Excellent selection of crockery and cultery, plus plenty of towels. Great to use the dishwasher at the end of the day.

We were shown to our cottage and told where to park and then never saw the man again. I think he might have lived in the caravan. I did try to contact him a couple of times to tell him the smoke detector battery was low, hence the intermittent bleeping, but he never answered my knocks on the door, so we just put up with the annoying noise.

In the main spacious bedroom there is no window to open only the door to the garden area. The second bedroom had a window but none of us were able to open it.

From the accommodation it is an easy walk to 3 eateries. OK cheap food at The George pub, but nothing special. Didn't get chance to eat at The Mill. We walked into Bath twice along the canal, it took about 40 mins, and walked back. Bath is a lovely city to explore.

I would definately recommend staying at New Leaf Farm Cottages again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for New Leaf Farm Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 71 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have just returned from spending a wonderful family Christmas in the Hay Barn and were delighted by the superb accommodation and the welcome pack of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, bread and milk plus a full basket of logs and kindling for the cosy, wood-burning stove. There were fresh flowers on the table and Christmas trees in the hall and living rooms made the place look very festive.

We were impressed by the spacious rooms and the high spec of the showers in the three bathrooms.

We loved the position of the property, between the River Avon and the canal and the short distance into Bath. It was a bit wet to do as much exploring as we would have liked, but we are determined to return again in the summer and explore further. We did get to Bath and to Bradford on Avon and one of us intrepidly made the muddy walk back from Bath, via The George, a great local pub.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Five of us stayed here over the wekend as a base from which to visit Bath. The accomodation has been built using the old farm buildings and has been done to a high standard.
We stayed in the stables which has three bedrooms, two bathrooms and a kinchen / lounge area with a dining table. All the fixtures and fittings were of a high quality and the whole place was spotless despite being sited on a working farm. The owners had also left us with essentials like bread, milk, tea and coffee. The kitchen area was well equipped with a quality cooker and even a dishwasher! The accomodation was very warm and cosy (with underfloor heating) but was large enough so we didn't feel cramped. We took towels and pillows with us but they were not needed as the ones supplied were superb. There was a nice TV (freeview) in the lounge with a DVD player as well. A lot of thought has gone into this place with even designated parking places out on the forecourt and even additional parking beyond that. There is a pub within walking distance which serves good food and it was easy to find the park and ride into Bath. We had a problem with the DVD player one evening and the owner came in within two minute and sorted it out. Great service.

Room Tip: This is a working farm so you should expect the usual sights, sounds and smells that go with it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plastiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I found New Leaf Farm by chance when looking for accommodation near Bath for a family weekend to include a visit to the Bath Christmas Market. We stayed in The Stables and the accommodation was excellent, lots of lovely little touches and lovely and warm on a very cold weekend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We went to bath for the weekend and stayed in sheep shed at new leaf farm.
It is roughly 10 min by road to Bath (approx £8 by taxi)
The place itself was beautifully equipped with all the possible utilities. The kitchen is very very well equipped.
There are lots of personal touches for e.g. biscuits, milk, bread, butter on arrival.
The place was spotlessly clean!
The wifi is excellent.
The view outside the house was beautiful

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seema R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My girlfriend found my work colleague and I this accomodation by chance after our normal accomodation was full and we were truly stunned upon arrival. We stayed in Cow byre. Steve, who met us when we first arrived was very helpful and pleasant but I was truly blown away when I walked inside. Very modern with a high spec finish and a lovely log burner and A-Frame oak beam greet you upon arrival and when you slip your shoes off your feet are enveloped by the warmth of the underfloor heating and oak flooring in the lounge. The lounge and kitchen is a beautiful space which led on to the well spaced bedrooms and modern bathroom. As a side note: The shower is fab! Felt like I was getting a massage everytime I showered. I have now booked us to stay here for the next two weeks as it is a perfect home from home. I will, without a shadow of a doubt be bringing my partner here for a weekend away and this most definitely will be sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights from 10th-14th Sept 2012 in the Seed Shed with our 2 year old daughter and 5mth old son. We fitted their beds easily into the Seed Sheds Double room and felt satisfied that the property was perfectly safe for our kids stay. We were pleased to find all mod-cons and more at the property including a microwave to sterilise the baby bottles. A small welcome pack was provided consisting of a couple of tea bags, biscuits, a loaf of fresh bread, a 4 pint bottle of milk and a pack of butter. Oh and a bunch of fresh flowers! There is also an entrance hall to the property, not shown on website, which was plenty big enough for coats, bags, shoes and our double buggy.

The farm is located at the end of a level farm track which is accessed via 3 cattle gates, all bar the entrance are easy to enter and exit with a pushchair (the entrance gate requires you to lift the buggy across the grill, not a problem though). From the entrance of the farm you are 2mins walk from a restaurant and a boat trip stop for the river cruises or a 5 minute walk to a family friendly pub/restaurant which also has access to a canal path walk directly into the city which with a toddler took no longer than 40 mins to walk.

The farm was clean and tidy and very peaceful, the chickens were the highlight for my daughter!

We will definitely be revisiting in the near future and would recommend to all our friends and relatives!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathampton
0.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.7 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tasburgh House
Tasburgh House
#6 of 32 in Bath
931 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bath Mill Lodge Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Leaf Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Leaf Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: New Leaf Farm Mill Lane, Bathampton, Bath BA2 6TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Bathampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bathampton
Price Range: $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Leaf Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selection of attractive holiday cottages have been carefully renovated from former barns, and have kept many of their original features including exposed stonework and beams. The small group of cottages range from a 1 bed (honeymoon suite) to a 5 bed (for 10 people). They enjoy a perfect location on the banks of the River Avon, and on the edge of the picturesque village of Bathampton, which is just 2 miles from the centre of Bath. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing