We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stiperstones met all our expectations and then...”
other travelers have booked this property
View from Lower Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Lower Farm
Stiperstones Studio Cottage living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
View from Lower Farm
Stiperstones Studio
Cottage living area
Stiperstones View kitchen/diner
Stiperstones View bed area
Stiperstones View living area
Cranberry cottage, outside  sitting area and plenty of parking
Cottage sitting area with stove
Cottage bedroom panorama
'Probably the best view in Shropshire' - tourist assessor
Stokesay Castle -best fortified manor house in England
The Bog Visitor Centre - famous for its cakes and only 30 minutes walk away
Entrance to Lower Farm, Shelve showing views
Grave of the last Sin Eater at Ratlinghope
Tankerville lead mine - a short walk away
Ironbridge gorge, museums & happy guests
Trevitihick's steam engine at Ironbridge Victorian Town - 30 years before The Rocket
The totality of the 'village' of Shelve. Nice and quiet
Wenlock Priory - once the largest church in the world
Buildwas Abbey ceramics
Haugmand Abbey - lots behind the unpossessing facade
A snowy view from Lower farm
Lower farm from a balloon - easily arranged  for you
Golden Valley, Long Mynd
Cranberry Cottage shower room
Autumn view of Cranberry Cottage
Lower Farm from the air, looking towards Bromlow Callow
Long Mynd from the air
Laburnam tree in full golden candle mode with Stiperstone Ridge behind
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Shelve, Minsterley, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ken N
Cobble Hill, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Stiperstones met all our expectations and then some!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

After a number of UK vacations where we stayed with family this was our first venture with self catering accommodations. We hoped it would live up the the advertising description we used as the basis for our reservation - it did in every way. Located in a quiet village setting, local shopping was only a few miles away and the nearby pub provided an excellent spot for a friendly pub meal - excellent.
Jean and Paul, as hosts, were most accommodating and made sure that all needs were met. The accommodation met all our desires, quiet, comfortable, equipped with all the modern conveniences of home and furnished with quality furnishings which made us feel treated well. The stairs would be a challenge for anybody with a significant mobility difficulty but would not be a problem otherwise. After two weeks at Stiperstones we felt as if we didn't want to leave - but unfortunately had to.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable accommodation
Liked least: wi-fi access a little weak at times
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2013
We try and warn people about the stairs - just in case. We had one lady who had read our access statement on our website and still decided to come with an artificial leg, and found it encouragingly accessible. But good to talk to us if in doubt, Cranberry Cottage is all on one level.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavis H
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“RETREAT”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Lovely walks. Take provisions to tide you over as supermarket 6 miles away. Had to cancel booking then rebook due to op, owners most accommodating. Mobiles did not work so be prepared.We stayed in Stipperstones had lovely views.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peace.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2013
We try to be flexible when booking, so it always pays to chat, and glad it worked out for convalesence. For those traveling there's a Sainsbury at Shrewsbury, Tesco at Telford, or the local shop has most things and will take an order over the phone. Details on our website
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 29, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful beautiful countryside
Liked least: bathrooms could be modernized
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2013
Glorious weather - but people love it here even when it rains. Probably the best views in Shropshire, according to the tourism assessor - and our guests who just like to relax.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
john e
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
869 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Another great holiday at Lower Farm Shelve”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We are regular visitors at Lower farm. As always the accommodation was excellent, and little thoughtful touches such as fresh milk and eggs made us feel really welcome. We were blessed with good weather and able to enjoy walking in the area around Lower Farm at Shelve, particularly the Stiperstones Ridge and the Long Mynd. Paul and Jean are very friendly and accommodating, and always happy to point out events that might be of interest and provide a huge resource of information and books on the area.
We will be back next year!

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Paul and Jean - and the wonderful view of sunrise over the Stiperstones
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badhamsmc
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality apartment in a perfect rural idyl”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week and had a wonderful time. The apartment is comfortable, clean and much bigger than it looks on the website.
Situated in a very quiet rural area, it's a perfect location from which to explore the beautiful villages and countryside of the Welsh/English Marches.
Many walks start from the apartment so you don't need to drive every day. The walk through Tankerville, up to Stiperstones and back via The Bog tearooms for fabulous coffee and cake is a few hours well-spent.
The kitchen is very well appointed so it's easy to cook for yourself. There is no pub in comfortable walking distance for an evening meal but a few lovely ones within a ten minute drive.
The owners are lovely and could not be more helpful, offering their own free-range eggs and produce from their gardens.
The apartment has a double bed so is a perfect holiday for a couple who want to get a weeks of peace and quiet. There is another apartment on site if you have family of friends who you wish to holiday with.

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural location
Liked least: steep stairs would be difficult if you have mobility issues.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C
Willenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, welcoming and warm, with glorious views.”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The weather during our stay did us no favours, but the warmth and hospitality of the owners more than made up for that. The property was warm, clean, comfortable and well equipped and positioned so that we were able to get out quickly to places of interest as the weather dictated.We will certainly be returning for a longer stay when possible.

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view.
Liked least: Weather, but we can't book that!!!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2012
Even though we emphasise the fantastic walking in our ads, whatever the weather there's loads of alternatives in easy reach!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ronnie f
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility in a delightful package”
Reviewed June 16, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

From the first contact to our journey home everything was easy if you want a break from anything this delightful setting and accommodation is perfect.
Nothing is to much trouble from your warm and friendly hosts and everything you can think of is provided in the accommodation.
Dont forget to buy the homemade chutney

Date of stay: June 2012
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The setting
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2012
Lovely to have you here. Glad you enjoyed the chutney - all the garden is starting to grow so it will soon be jam & chutney making time again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing