We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Set in the Heart of the Lakes Home from Home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Far Sawrey, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cyberslot...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and steeped in Peter Rabbit et al history but could do with a little attention”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a lovely week and indeed the cottage and Near Sawrey are a great place to explore The lakes from with Hawkshead in easy reach and a brilliant pub over the road. The cottage itself is spacious with two parking spaces, good heating and hot water (electric shower) and a wood burner. Also a lovely little back garden, two Tvs, DVDs and plenty of books. There is also an excellent service from the local Milkman each morning.
We did however have a couple of problems, firstly the overwhelming smell of "dog" on arrival. On contactng the agent they did explain that the owner had recently stayed with their three dogs and then send a cleaner in the following day; eventually the smell did recede or indeed we got used to it. As dog owners ourselves we are used to a little eau du dog but this was somewhat overhwhelming at first.
Secondly and far more of a problem was the fridge that no matter how many times we cleaner maintained a constant smell of "damp". Subsequently anything we put in the fridge also smelt hence the kids' lunchboxes and then the rucksack we put them in. Upon opening the fridge the smell would permeate throughout the kitchen. Again, we mentioned this but short of providing a new fridge, not a lot could be done. We did receive a sincere apology and although this didn't really spoil our holiday opening the fridge was not somehting we looked forward to.
On the whole a lovely week but a little bit on the smelly side

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
Thank you for your review following your stay at Anvil Cottage, we are delighted to read that you have had an enjoyable time and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. We sincerely apologise that there was a lingering smell of the previous occupants dogs, our cleaners do take pride in their work and try their very best to air properties whilst cleaning during the changeover unfortunately despite the best efforts the smell of pets has not been totally eradicated prior to your arrival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philiplil...
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Set in the Heart of the Lakes Home from Home”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed many times at Anvil Cottage. and it was so nice to return again this year, the owners have spent some time and money which has added to the warm experience. It is set in the heart of breathtaking village of Near Sawrey and is a must stay. We spent our time visiting all the local towns as this are a short journey from Anvil. It was great to return to a warm house and settle in for the evening after a visit to the Tower Bank or Cuckoo Brow Inn. I have written a review on these must eat and Drink, Tower Bank has lifted its game and this is down to Jimmy (Scottish) he is a warm and friendly Bar Manager,, his service makes you feel at home in the village. So if you would like to be in the heart of the Lakes with walks on your doorstep and Pubs and in Home from Home property this is a great place to stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2016
Good morning
Thank you for your review following your stay at Anvil Cottage. We are delighted you have enjoyed many holidays at this lovely cottage and feel it's home from home. We hope to welcome you for many more in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelbug...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful location but some improvements needed”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have just come back from a wonderful week in the Lakes with the in-laws. Anvil Cottage is in a lovely location opposite Hill Top and the Tower Bank Arms, so perfect for Beatrix Potter enthusiasts. It provided us with a good base for exploring the area, with places like Kirkstone, Derwent Water and Ullswater not too far away.
The cottage is a good size for four and was comfortable enough, but improvements are needed. It was not particularly clean when we arrived; there were cobwebs around the skirting boards and we found a plaster under one of the beds. We actually gave the place a good hoover before we left and decided it looked better than when we arrived! The furniture is old and tired; one of the wardrobe handles is broken and some cupboard doors do not shut properly. The radio in the dining room doesn't work. We felt that Wi-Fi would have been useful; I understand that people want to get away from it all in such a beautiful location, but in that case some detailed walking guides would have been welcome as we couldn't get on line to check the immediate area. There is not much in the cottage apart from tourist leaflets. Mobile signal is also poor so no 4G. However, you can get Wi-Fi at the Tower Bank.
Very little is provided for guests except bed linen and firewood, so you do need to bring essentials such as washing up liquid, loo rolls and towels. Supermarkets are available in Hawkshead and Ambleside. Milk is delivered daily but you are billed at the end of your stay.
The cottage seemed expensive but you are paying for the location. With a little extra thought given to guests' comfort it would have been perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your recent review following your stay at Anvil Cottage. We are delighted you had a wonderful week in the Lakes and felt the cottage was a good base for exploring the area. The property is owner managed and we shall forward your comments to them. We do hope these issues did not detract too much from your stay and we hope to welcome you again to one of our cottages in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart M
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So good we're going back”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Some previous reviews left us worried but they should be ignored.

We had a great week, grown up family and dogs, lovely walks, great food within walking distance and Anvil Cottage provided a great base.

This accommodation is homely, clean and very comfortable, and provides everything that is needed for a relaxing week away including a small private garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
Good morning
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Anvil Cottage. We are delighted you had such a lovely stay and found the cottage clean and very comfortable. It is great to hear that you enjoyed some lovely walks and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross W
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having read previous reviews I was a little worried but on arrival we were in no dought We had made the right choice the cottage was clean and comfortable with everything we needed it is in a great location with the walks on your doorstep and a great pub oppersite as well as the famous hill top a real Beatrix dream so all In all perfect. it also has a very dog friendly garden and off road parking inc a garage also a added bonus .make use of the farm shop delivery service it's great who needs a shop it works well and with a pub oppersite for meals you won't go hungry I will definitely be coming back to anvil cottage I was v v impressed and enjoyed my stay many thanks Ross / Sophie 2/9 april 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Anvil Cottage. We are delighted you had such a lovely time, it certainly is a popular area with guests. It is great to hear that you are planning to return and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What would Aunt Molly think?”
Reviewed November 10, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in a fabulous location: Hill Top House (Beatrix Potter's beautifully preserved home) directly opposite, wonderful walks straight from the door and the welcoming Tower Bank Arms over the street.

The property is central to the little village and steeped in history. However, the owners seem to rely on their historical connections to fill their property rather than offering it in an acceptable state of cleanliness or adequately stocked for a party of six to cook and serve.
Kitchen and bathrooms were filthy. Drawers and cupboards downstairs were full of junk. The smoke alarms were set off the first time we used the cooker as it wa sso full of grease and we had to clean it - not something you expect to do on holiday.
The overall presentation is very tired.

We have complained to Lakes Cottage Holidays who have informed us that the owners had the cottage spring cleaned in September and would have attempted to putthings right if we had contacted them (as per their terms and conditions).

We hope that our complaint ensures that the owners make more efforts to offer a clean property and hope the owners will work to ensure it is more acceptable for future guests.

On the plus side, there was plenty of wood and coal for guests to use.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Anvil Cottage.We were very disappointed to read that Anvil Cottage failed to meet with your expectations.
The overall presentation and cleanliness of the property has been discussed with the owner.
As you are aware from our terms and conditions we do ask guests to contact us or the owner immediately if they have any problems so we can investigate and put right, unfortunately you did not advise us of any of the issues until after your stay.
The owner informed us that they had a spring clean in the cottage in September and they purchased new crockery and glasses at this time. He has also said he would have been pleased to visit the property to put these things right for you at the beginning, and for the benefit of your stay.
The owner would have also had the caretaker get anything that was needed in the kitchen during your stay if it had been requested.
The owner had the carpets replaced in September 2014, brand new bedding, crockery in September 2015, set of new pans in the summer and then replaced a few of these lids as they had gone missing in September 2015.
They often visit the cottage themselves and if any problems had been reported they would have had the caretakers if not themselves visit to make these right for your stay.
As a company we pride ourselves in customer satisfaction and can only apologise for any inconvenience caused.
We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to one of our properties in the near future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Far Sawrey hotels

Kathryn L
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect locaton, tired and shabby interior”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We absolutely loved the location of Anvil Cottage. Perfect for walking, mountain biking and breathtaking scenery all from the front door. Local pub pretty good for a drink and free wifi.
Unfortunately the cottage did not live up to expectations. There were no lids on the saucepans, 2 egg cups (for 4 of us), flies, tatty and worn rugs/sofa. Not to mention the fridge which stank and a fire in the lounge which hasn't been cleaned out. The owners really need to give it a good clean and remove all chinz.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing