We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn on the Lake
Nearby Hotels
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Amsterdam Noord(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$177
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$124
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$198
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveler rating
108
8
2
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
8
2
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite roomthe busthe kitchenher husbandcentral stationhidden gemat homepicturesque villagethank you so muchvisit amsterdamroll top bathcroissantsthe hustle and bustleyear old daughterbed and breakfastbusy citythree nights
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 124 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were on a 10 day tour of the Netherlands. A friend recommended Broek in Waterland based on her fond childhood memories of visiting the area from her home in Amsterdam. We located this bed and breakfast on the Internet. What an excellent and lucky choice! While all of our other lodging was in larger cities, this was our foray into the Dutch countryside even though this is only a 15 minute taxi ride from Amsterdam. Inn on the Lake is a beautifully renovated former vicarage. Our room, the Taupe Room, was across from the kitchen. It was quite large and decorated with luxurious fabrics and draperies. The bathroom and shower in the room were very modern and there was a large heated towel bar. The toilet and another wash basin were in a separate small room within our room. There was a coffee/tea machine available in the main rooms for the guests. The included breakfast was elegantly served on a veranda that opened to a view of the lake and gorgeous flowers. We were served croissants and hot rolls, ham and prosciutto, Dutch and French cheeses, butter and jam, freshly squeezed orange juice and yogurt parfaits with fresh berries. After breakfast, we took advantage of the bicycles they had available and rode out through Zuiderwolde through the countryside on a bike path to the dike. What a treat to ride though the beautiful countryside and see new lambs and giant swans! The proprietress Pamela was wonderful to work with, from the prompt response to the reservation and followup on how to find them. When we needed help on our train schedule, she researched the information we needed. When we needed laundry done, she ran a load of clothes for us. The village itself is delightful. Artfully decorated homes, a lake and canals and pleasant walking paths. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast and this location as a respite from big city life.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed in October 2012 and I'm sorry it has taken so long to write this review. We were a family of 4 - myself and husband and 2 and 10 year old children.

Even though we had a pretty energetic 2 year old Pamela went to a lot of trouble to make us feel that he was absolutely welcome - maybe naively so - the interior and furnishings in the house are so stunning that I actually was constantly worried about him ransacking the place! If we'd been there sans kids we would have just luxuriated in the beautiful surroundings.

Having said that, our oldest just loved the gorgeous "cubby hole" bed and our whole family fell in love with the village. The houses on the canals, the tavern, the gardens, the lake, the swans, the nearby horses running along beside us on the bikes we'd hired - this village, along with the accommodation, totally exceeded our expectations and if we were to come back we would stay a lot longer.

I read someone's review saying the owners are not friendly - I must admit at first we found Karel to be a bit that way - not a lot of welcome chit chat on the way in from the airport - but as we stayed longer we realised he is just a reserved kind of guy. However both he and Pamela were incredibly helpful and we thank them for our visit and thank both of them for looking after us so well - including for our beautiful special dinner. We also thank them for posting back to Australia something we had left behind.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murrahjeeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for my 30th after spending a few days in Central Amsterdam. I can only give this property a perfect score. Our room was incredible with a gorgeous view right over the lake. The free standing bath at the end of the bed, sumptious bed linen, the coffee machine for personal use on the landing was fantastic. The owners could not have been more helpful - the lady (a fellow brit) helped us select a delicious wine from her cellar below the kitchen. Food for breakfast was divine and the setting truly beautiful. We were kindly offered a lift to the airport by the gentleman owner. I will be returning as I cannot fault it. Next time we hope to stay longer!

Room Tip: If you want some luxury stay in the Black & White room
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Inn is simply beautiful. The decor is great, tasteful with the feeling that you are escaping to a little sanctuary. The village is gorgeous, very quaint and nice for a stroll. There is a pancake house and a pub/restaurant in the village, both of which I recommend. We stayed in a room with lake views and a roll top bath in the room. The bus into central station runs every 5-10 mins and only takes 10 mins or so- it is worth it for the setting and extra space you get for your money by being a little way out of town. Also a much easier option if you need a hotel with a car park.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bee90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A very comfortable bed in a cool, relaxing room in a beautiful house with scenic views of this picturesque village and it's lake. Nothing was too much trouble for Pamela. I thought of kidnapping her so I could continue to have her cook for me! Karel is more than happy to provide intelligent conversation and to share his philosophy of life late into the evening over a glass of wine. Don't forget to ask him for a boat trip too as it's incredibly relaxing and peaceful on the far lake and you get to see more of the local architecture on the way.
As someone who is somewhat fussy and hard to please, I was suitably impressed and would whole-heartedly recommend Inn on the Lake to anyone.

Room Tip: Ring/email to discuss your particular requirements/preferences - they couldn't be more helpful.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastorie_9, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews