We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A beautiful, restful stay just outside Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful, restful stay just outside Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Inn on the Lake in Broek in Waterland - just a 20 minute bus ride from the Central Station in Amsterdam after 3 fun, hectic days in the city. Our room (Taupe, also called Hunter) was lovely and very comfortable and clean, our hosts (the daughter of the owners - who were on vacation themselves - and her boyfriend) were very hospitable, and served 2 fabulous dinners (at extra cost, but worth it) in addition to the breakfasts. The setting - on the lake, as the name suggests, was lovely - take a boat ride on the connecting waterways! The village is quaint, and very easy to rent bicycles and tour the surrounding coutryside, town and lakeshore.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    8
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
67
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We are regular visitors to Amsterdam but this was the first time we had stayed outside the city. We had such a wonderful break at Inn on the Lake we'll probably never stay in the city again! Our hosts, Pamela and Karel and their family were absolutely wonderful - very considerate and caring. All their blood, sweat and tears in renovating the old vicarage has certainly been worth it. It has been done with flair and finesse. Pamela's interior designer skills are evident everywhere. The hotel is in a wonderful setting with beautiful gardens on the water's edge. Each morning we enjoyed a different home made breakfast in the conservatory. (Pamela's "special eggs" really were special.) On our last evening we arranged to have dinner in the hotel. We had a lovely surprise when Karel took us out on his boat where we enjoyed our aperitifs and wine in the company of some of their friends from the village. On our return, Pamela had prepared a superb dinner including a vegetarian option for my husband. After dinner we retired to our room, The Red Room, with another bottle of their delicious red wine! We will most certainly return to this little piece of heaven on earth, perhaps in winter next time to enjoy our aperitifs on the frozen lake.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bibbitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I visited the Inn on the Lake for a long weekend in May. Situated in a lovely sleepy village, Broek in Waterland, built on a series of little canals with lots of lovely wooden houses. The Inn is actually the old vicarage opposite the church and has been lovingly restored to a high standard. You can even see a picture of it's treatment for wood beetle when it was being restored! The lawns drop gently down to the edge of the lake and weather permitting you can sit there with a nice cup of tea or an evening drink before dinner. I had the Blue Room which was lovely, with a comfortable bed and good facilities. There is a coffee machine on the landing but I think I would have liked a kettle and choice of drinks in my room as well. It is not permitted to bring food in from outside. For these days of technology the television was poor but could get BBC1! If you want a place to go and just chill out and read a book or take a nap this is it. I found it so nice just to stop for a while that I only went into Amsterdam for one day! Instead my friend came out to have dinner with me in the lovely conservatory overlooking the lake, it was a perfect evening. Pamela keeps a good wine cellar and there is a minibar in the room. The village is a 15/20 min bus ride from the centre of Amsterdam and so from the main station where the bus stops you can get a train to the airport very easily. All in all it was a very good experience and I would certainly go there again, perhaps next time when the tulips are in bloom or Netherlands dance are performing at home! Rembrandt's house is a wonder and Van Gough museum not to be missed. Anne Frank's house fully booked so advise booking online before you leave home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate47a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This B&B just outside Amsterdam is fabulous if you want to escape the noise of the city and capture a bit of the real culture of Holland. The room was a little cozy for 3, but beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. It's an easy ride into Amsterdam, just a bit tricky to get back at night - but worth the hassle if you want to stay in a lovely, dutch home in a picturesque town.

Breakfast was the best part of staying here, with an assortment of warm breads and fresh cakes to die for, cheese, meats, fresh fruit, lattes, and a gorgeous view of the lake! All around wonderful!

Room Tip: The Blue Room is a bit tight for three!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aekloots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have just returned from a three day stay at the guesthouse (taupe room). We were charmed by both the owners and the ambience of this beautiful place. The location is very romantic and our two year old son was very well welcomed, and loved it there too. What I found particularly lovely was all the attention to design detail the owners have given to the different spaces. Everything has it's place and this adds to the harmony, you can't help but relax here,
Breakfasts and dinner - superb!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy_s11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We loved staying at The Inn on the Lake. It was a refuge for the weary traveler.
Clean, quiet and friendly. Felt right at home. All the people were helpful, cheerful & friendly.
A pleasant breakfast each morning and a dinner that seemed like a gourmet chef made it.
Don't hesitate to book a room :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our stay at the Inn on the Lake was exceptional. Every detail was top quality. It was easy to feel relaxed and at home.
The location of the Inn was wonderful. The local village around the lake was peaceful and Amsterdam was an easy short bus ride away.
The host and staff were warm, enthusiastic and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. I highly recommend arranging to have dinner at the B&B at least once. Really they should open a restaurant with their talent.
The rooms were clean, spacious, beautiful and comfortable. Plus the historical and architectural elements make it extremely special.
We will be referring friends and family to this lovely place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent but I recommend the Red or Black and White Rooms if you want a romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahOlden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broek in Waterland
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Kerkplein 11, 1151 AH Broek in Waterland, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Broek in Waterland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Broek in Waterland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old renovated boutique hotel just 10 minutes from the center. Luxury en-suite rooms with views of the lake. Boat and bike rental on site, with historic country walks as an option. Meals served on request. Garden terraces and easy parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing