We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It's all in the details” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's all in the details”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have just returned from a three day stay at the guesthouse (taupe room). We were charmed by both the owners and the ambience of this beautiful place. The location is very romantic and our two year old son was very well welcomed, and loved it there too. What I found particularly lovely was all the attention to design detail the owners have given to the different spaces. Everything has it's place and this adds to the harmony, you can't help but relax here,
Breakfasts and dinner - superb!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy_s11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    8
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
71
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We loved staying at The Inn on the Lake. It was a refuge for the weary traveler.
Clean, quiet and friendly. Felt right at home. All the people were helpful, cheerful & friendly.
A pleasant breakfast each morning and a dinner that seemed like a gourmet chef made it.
Don't hesitate to book a room :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our stay at the Inn on the Lake was exceptional. Every detail was top quality. It was easy to feel relaxed and at home.
The location of the Inn was wonderful. The local village around the lake was peaceful and Amsterdam was an easy short bus ride away.
The host and staff were warm, enthusiastic and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. I highly recommend arranging to have dinner at the B&B at least once. Really they should open a restaurant with their talent.
The rooms were clean, spacious, beautiful and comfortable. Plus the historical and architectural elements make it extremely special.
We will be referring friends and family to this lovely place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent but I recommend the Red or Black and White Rooms if you want a romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahOlden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Beautiful inn down to the last detail. Lake setting. Picture perfect village. It was almost unreal because it was so beautiful. Every house was more adorable than the next. Convenient to Amsterdam. Within walking distance of two charming little restaurants. Bike rental place right in the village. (Highly recommend biking to Rotterdam.) Cute little village market. Walking distance to boat rental. (Highly recommend this also.) It feels a world away from the bustle of Amsterdam. HIGHLY recommend this place and can't imagine how anyone could be disappointed in either the inn or the village. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

My husband and I arrived in Amsterdam on October 19 and were picked up at the airport by Karel (we arranged this ahead of time). We had a short drive to the most picturesque village - we pulled up to Inn on the Lake and were greeted by a smiling Pamela- who is so helpful.
As soon as we entered into the kitchen area we felt at home. Pamela showed us our room - the taupe room, featuring post & beam decor characteristic of traditional Dutch architecture. The room was spotless and had all the extra's - robe's to use, new slippers to take home, shampoo, soap, hair dryer etc. The bathroom is very modern and not like any bathroom I have seen at a B&B. The scenery is reminisant of a quaint cottage town in Northern Ontario, Canada. The breakfast was amazing - fresh fruit, cheese, meat, warm buns and croissants. We were offered "eggs Pamela" on our second day, as well as all the items I mentioned above. They were amazing!
On our first night Brian & I sat in the conservatory enjoying a BOLs and Cointreau and had a wonderful conversation with Karel.
Karel & Pamela are wonderful people who truly love what they do.
Amsterdam is a short bus ride away and Pamela provides all details you require. I could continue to write pages on our experience however I suggest you book early and enjoy this gem for yourself. My dad has already booked for late August 2012.

Thank you Karel & Pamela for your hospitality!

Brian & Michelle Peddle- Canada

I almost forgot - I hope this duck that comes for his breakfast every morning is doing well.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIchelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Together with some friends I stayed in this Inn for three nights in April 2011. We wanted a quiet spot just outside Amsterdam, and that was just what we got.

The village itself is charming, and the transportation into the center of Amsterdam quite convenient by bus.

The Inn itself is beautiful! The rooms are so nicely decorated and the atmosphere is friendly and relaxed. We were picked up at the airport for a very moderate cost.

We did have dinner at the Inn one night (this had to be ordered in advance), and the food was delicious. Breakfast too was scrumptious!

The one drawback was perhaps the very steep, very narrow stairs up to the second floor where our rooms were situated. One of the party uses crutches, and she could manage the stairs, but it was not very easy. Personally I found them difficult even without crutches! We had mentioned the crutches upon reservation and was perhaps a bit surprised when we saw that there was no other way of getting to the room. There is a room on the first floor, but this was already booked.

We had the blue and the red room, both equally lovely!

It did take us a while to get the bills sorted on departure, something which could perhaps been a bit better organised, but all in all it was a lovely stay and I would very much like to go back sometime. This time maybe with my husband - it's an ideal spot for a relaxing and romantic weekend!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibhLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

My wife and I found this on Mr & Mrs Smith and have to say were delighted with it in every way. So much so that we booked to stay there again after a visit to the Hague. The owners were extremely helpful and gave us all sorts of hints and tips to help with my move of job to the Netherlands. This included some flat hunting and booking tickets for the Anne Frank Museum - which is the only way to avoid long queues. The property is amazing. We loved the built in crib in the wall of the bedroom and the tiny spiral staircase up to the blue room - necessitating in a neat rope pulley and trapdoor arrangement which they used for taking our cases up to the room! So utterly old Dutch! Breakfast overlooking the lake is a great way to start the day. It is neat to think that the locals ditch their bikes in the winter and don their skates and take the frozen canals to work instead! Skates were on sale in the local shops too in case you are tempted! Its so relaxing there compared to being in the city. Highly recommended. Go to leiden too if you get a chance, its gorgeous.

Room Tip: We were in the Blue room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrenaudonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broek in Waterland
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#31 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Property: Inn on the Lake
Address: Kerkplein 11, 1151 AH Broek in Waterland, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Broek in Waterland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Broek in Waterland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on the Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400 year old renovated boutique hotel just 10 minutes from the center. Luxury en-suite rooms with views of the lake. Boat and bike rental on site, with historic country walks as an option. Meals served on request. Garden terraces and easy parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing