We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's mustard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salem Inn And Suites
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Salem
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's mustard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

We are in the suite living it up here at the Comfort Inn located in the heartbeat of the Midwest...Salem, IL. Holiday Road is running through my head on this holiday adventure. The motel features an indoor swimming pool and the typical features you would expect at mid-priced motel including a breakfast spread. This mustard colored cube located in fields of gold is adjacent to a Denny's where you can grab a quick...just about anything 24/7. The place is clean and my indicator of quality...the non-smoking rooms don't have any drifting odors of nearby smokers filtering into range of my nostrils. One issue with the suite here is although "a very nice space" there are no walls of separation between the area with the pull out sofa and the main bed area. Those of you without children may not mind this absence of a barrier but I assure you those of us with small children sleep more soundly when those little eyes can't be staring at mom and dad all night long from the required pack-in-play. The bad news is that in Salem, IL you don't have many options other than the Motel 8 right next door with no pool which was the real difference on why we picked this mustard motel.

The staff are very pleasant and when I called to set up the reservation they did offer me a reduced price on the room - always good.

Overall the Comfort Inn is a fine place to stay when you need a decent place to stay on those holiday adventures away from home.

Room Tip: Ask if they can give you a break on the rate and ask for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank press0384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    19
    15
    18
    14
See reviews for
36
23
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

On are way to Tn.. we stopped overnite for rest, and seeked out the comfort inn,, so for the price of 80.00 we got a room, assuming that this must be the nicest place to stay at, for the PRICE.. the rooms are not updated at all,, looks we walked back into the 70's, pool area was a mess.. and smelled awful, in the morning we woke up and was surrounded by cockroaches , all over the walls, the dressers,, we were sick to our stomachs, as we explained to one of the members on staff, he just told us to call manager tomorrow, as we drove off and headed to our destination, we had bugs coming out of our suit cases ,, we were soo ashamed of it we weren't able to stay at our friends house , cuz we didn't want to bring the roaches in there house, as we finally got a hold of a manager, she was rude and not helpful at all, made assumptions as if we brought the bugs to there hotel,, which i found insulting and shocked by the response from management ,, we don't have bugs or roaches in our house, we live in a luxury condo and don't have roaches , never have !!!! we spoke to several ppl from cooperate and again NO HELP .. !!! no reimbursement for our incovience we had to wash and shake out our clothes before starting our vacation with our friends in TN.. we travel alot and often stay in hotel and this has to be the worst experience i ever had in a hotel, for the price ,, i could of stay across the street in motel 8 , but i wanted a nice place and this was a total disappointment,, no one is willing to help us or even give us a sorry.. or our money back .. !!! if u like roaches this is the place to stay.. but don't waste ur money . horrible start to our vacation ..

Room Tip: look at the room first before giving ur money to any place,,, i sure will,, look and inspect the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Delia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salem hotels

Saint Rose, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Hotel was clean and well kept up. Staff was helpfull and frendly. Room was comfortable and very nice. breakfast was very good. This is an great Hotel to stay overnite in on business.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTRALIA, IL
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

They offer jacuzzi suites which is what we had. Not a bad suite for $130 a night. Very easy to book also.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilfox1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed over night in rm 123 .it was very clean and a/c was cool and quite the wireless internet was nice . we paid a total of $76.78 with our AAA discount. there was a Dennys next door . which we ate at so we did'nt use their free breakfast although it looked nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuckleberryHound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

The Comfort Inn is dubbed the "Newest Hotel in Salem", but don't expect much if you decide to stay here because of location and decent rates. When you walk into the lobby, the carpet is worn out and the decor is dated. The staff at the counter was not very welcoming as I checked in (made me feel like I was imposing on her), and the morning receptionist was even less friendly...I can't remember if she even said one word! The whole first floor is composed of smoking rooms, so much of the hotel smells like smoke. You must walk through dense clouds to get to the elevator, and it faintly hangs in the hallway of the nonsmoking 2nd floor. The room was fine; very basic, but clean. Four pillows on each of our queen beds. Free Internet access was easy to sign on. The waffle maker at breakfast is a nice touch, but coffee was pitifully weak.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elmtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2005

This hotel was mixture of positive and negatives. The first positive was the price, for a two room suite it only $60.00 on the state employee rate. The second positve item it was a two room (door between, not half wall style) suite, although it was not large it was nice to have the two rooms as was traveling with family. The pool was also nice although you tell they had covered the jacuzzi over. The breakfast would be below average compaired to most hotels. Also the staff was par at best, not the warm customer service you recieve at most but not all Hotels. Now for the negitives, the place smelled like smoke in the common areas, also the common areas were worn. The sign at the counter about "No Parties" said this must be the local rent a room and party hotel. Still not a bad deal for $60.00.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IllinoisAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salem
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Salem
Days Inn Salem
#3 of 4 in Salem
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
21.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
21.4 mi away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#6 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
21.7 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salem Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salem Inn And Suites

Property: Salem Inn And Suites
Address: 1800 W Main St, Salem, IL 62881
Location: United States > Illinois > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Salem Inn And Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salem Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Salem
Comfort Inn Salem
Salem Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing