We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS!”
Review of Days Inn Salem

Days Inn Salem
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Salem
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Salem
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BED BUGS!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Traveled from out of state to Salem for a funeral - tub dirty, carpet old and dirty, bed actually pretty comfortable until I woke up the next morning with adut bed bugs crawling on me!!! When I called to tell them they just said, "OK, we'll give you a refund". They obviously knew they had bed bugs - did not even come to the room and look! Terrible experience!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank beegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat E, General Manager at Days Inn Salem, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
On behalf of Guesthouse Inn, I would like to thank you for taking time out of your busy day to fill out a review. I want to apologize to you for your experience at our hotel. On your housekeeping concerns we presented to the housekeeping staff as to what needs to be improved on. We do have an Exterminating Company that comes on a regular basis to treat the property and rooms.
Once again I would like to apologize to you.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
10
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The room furnishings are a bit out dated.. however the bathroom has new tile.. overall the room was very clean and quiet. Plus the pool looked nice and inviting.. cute turtle sprinkler in kids section.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gossipsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat E, General Manager at Days Inn Salem, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
On behalf of Guesthouse Inn, I would like to thank you for taking time out of your busy day to fill out a guest review. Thank you for your good review.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, KY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

While this place is far from new, my room was clean and nicely furnished. Best rate in Salem--good wi-fi, free HBO. No free breakfast, but Denny's is attached, and very reasonable.

I did not see or experience the problems cited by the one and two year old negative reviews.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 820JerryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat E, General Manager at Days Inn Salem, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
On behalf of Guesthouse Inn, I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out a guest review. Thank you for your good review. Guest Satisfaction,Great Service, and Cleanliness are very important to us.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Campbell, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed her for 3 nights with my parents and two small kids for a reunion, the room smelled awful when we entered but aired it out and got some febreeze...the tub was not cleaned and I found a cockroach behind the bathroom door...every night I'd wake up sleeping on just the mattress because there were no fitted sheets, we found sticky spots on both of the bed sheets, there was a disgusting dark stain like dried blood on my mattress and to top it all off the last day we were there we had to leave at 1am because coming back from the bathroom I found an adult bedbug crawling out from underneath my daughters pillow, needless to say it was the worst hotel experience I've ever had!! We will never stay there again..when my mom told them about everything they just thanked her for letting them know..no refund or nothing!!

Room Tip: The super 8 we stayed at last time was a million times nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salem hotels

Birmingham, al
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The price was good, the clerk, Exie, was a jewel, literally, and wonderful. The room was not clean, except for the bed and bathroom, It needed painting, dusting, the floor cleaned. The parking lot was not very clean, either. It didn't have adequate towels, but Exie got those and some coffee, and an ashtray. I didn't mention the room to her, because it's not her job. The attached Denny's restaurant was a great convenience and the food and service was very good. The place has lots of potential, but somebody needs to clean it up and make sure that it stays that way.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you sign for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Granny1Birmingham_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.1 mi away
Salem Inn And Suites
21.7 mi away
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
#9 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
21.4 mi away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#6 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
21.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Salem

Property: Days Inn Salem
Address: 1812 W Main St, Salem, IL 62881-5838 (Formerly Guest House Salem)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Salem 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing