We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfy Bed....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Chicago St. Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy Bed....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed overnight on a Saturday. The Hotel was busy with Wedding goers and another large group. The service was good, the staff friendly. The neighbors next door didn't take into account that others were sleeping when they slammed their door but that was not fault of the hotel.
The bed was very comfy and the room was cozy. The sheets were soft and felt nice to the touch. The pool was nice looking but I didn't have a chance to try it out. The workout room was very small, so you may not get on a machine if others are in there.
We had breakfast in the lobby. It was mediocre. Save your money and go out to eat in town. There are several places around the corner that are a better value with tastier food.

Room Tip: I think the higher the floor the less noise you will hear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraMagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. It's so nice to hear that you found the beds so comfortable. That is a key to a successful hotel stay. I am sorry to hear the breakfast did not meet your expectations. The Bistro concept is a bit different from a sit-down restaurant, but is very effective for business travelers who are on-the-go. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    41
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
12
6
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

As per my previous review this has become a second home to me and I would like to add a couple of new names to my thanks list...
Adam is always very polite, using the corporate terms of yes sir and Mr Leonard when addressing me.....as we are all pretty good friends now it's first name terms at my request....I prefer it that way. We have great convo's and I feel you won't be let down by him. A great asset to the hotel.

Gabby and I share a joke often, she always wants to make my stay better, likes to chat and when needed makes a mean bistro burger.

Over a year of staying at this hotel for extended stays gives me a pretty good base to make an opinion on its services and rooms and I can safely say its as good as you can get for its price range, it doesn't try to be the Ritz but what it does do is be a very good Marriott.

I recommend it to anyone, anytime.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosbutkusLeonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about the staff. Gaby and Adam are very caring employees. I am very lucky to have them. Knowing that it can be tough being away from home for so long, I am glad we are able to make your extended stay visits enjoyable. Thank you for sharing your experience with other. We do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Before I arrived at the hotel I spoke with Vicky who was courteous and helpful. She was welcoming and professional. I asked to speak to her manager and Barb was warm and welcoming. When we arrived we checked in by Andre who was professional and fun. When we went to the lobby for dinner Adam was wonderful. Service was quick and pleasant. In the morning we went down for breakfast and was served by Sharon who is wonderful. Amanda the lady who cleaned our room was pleasant and did a great job.

The hotel was clean, the decor modern and serene. The people excellent. Everyone we met was professional and friendly. I would recommend This hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want and they will give it to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uhura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
It was great to have you and your family here during the Spring Break Week. I was glad to see that you enjoyed the pool and our Bistro. It was a pleasure getting to know you and hearing such wonderful things about the staff. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you need to stay near St. Charles, this is the place. The staff is top notch and really tries to make your stay the best possible.

The hotel is close to local attractions and restaurants , grocery stores, etc.

Great Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 63Chitown63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful comments about the hotel and the staff. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is great and the staff is fabulous. They are very helpful and will assist guests with whatever they need. They are also always smiling. I have stayed here many times and have never been dissapointed. Will return again soon. The hotel is very clean and everything looks fresh.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
A smile can go a long way! Thank you for the kind comments about the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We went to St. Charles for New Year's eve. This is the first time I have ever stayed at a Courtyard and if they are all like this place, it won't be the last. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Our tv was not working but I was not aware of it until the next morning so I did not complain about it. I did let them know at check out and they were grateful that I let them know. We did go to the pool to use the hot tub. It was a good size but Way Too Hot! I know they are meant to be hot but this was so bad that you could only stay in for about 15 minutes. They need to turn it down a bit. But we did enjoy the pool area, sitting and talking. The lobby is also very nice. We were not there long enough to sit there but it has a nice sitting area with a fireplace. They also have a sitting area with a large flatscreen tv. The business center was also located in the lobby and looked very nice.
If we decide to stay the night again the next time we visit St. Charles, this will be the place for us.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We would love to have you back! Our lobby is very inviting with the fireplace, especially this time of year. Glad to hear you were able to use the spa. Our engineers check the tempertures daily on the spa and pool, but will have him do a double check based on your comments. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in the far western Chicago suburbs this week. Booked this hotel, expecting nice but nothing exciting.

It turned out to be a wonderful place!
Easy to find. Easy check-in by a nice staff. Really great rooms.

Best part? There is a cool café right off the lobby.
Nothing too fancy--just a nice bar/light restaurant, right there.
Cocktails and appetizers close at hand.
LOVED it!
With a charming and lovely bartender.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CincyBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on our hotel. I am glad to hear that you like our Bistro/Bar and that are bartender served you well. Your comments about the staff are also very kind and will be shared with them. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#2 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
2.9 mi away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Baker
Hotel Baker
#6 of 11 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago St. Charles

Property: Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Address: 700 Courtyard Dr, Saint Charles, IL 60174-1497
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago St. Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Chicago St. Charles hotel is nestled on a quiet corner, just a mile from downtown and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Our hotel near Chicago serves a charming historic town on the Fox River, less than an hour from downtown and within easy reach of area airports. Shop nearby Charlestowne Mall or attend events at DuPage Expo Center. You'll feel right at home in a comfortable St. Charles hotel room featuring a large work area, in-room coffee and complimentary weekday newspaper. We also offer complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Start your morning off with reasonably priced breakfast options or a Starbuck's coffee. After a day of meetings or shopping, rejuvenate in our indoor heated pool or whirlpool, or relax by the fire in our cozy lobby lounge featuring a full bar. And if you're hosting a rehearsal dinner or looking for accommodations for overnight guests, we can customize a wedding package just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Chicago St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Courtyard Saint Charles
Saint Charles Courtyard
Saint Charles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing