We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Hotel in St. Charles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Chicago St. Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Delray Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in St. Charles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel at least three times a year since it opened twelve years ago. Most of these stays are between two and three weeks at a time and it totally feels like home. The staff under Barbara Merigold are absolutely amazing and I now insist that they call me by my first name owing to the fact that I absolutely do feel like family. There are still several staff whom are originals from when the hotel first opened.

Sylvia, an original since opening is head of housekeeping and is totally dedicated to making this hotel as clean and sanitary as possible, Estela another original since opening the kitchen breakfast chef and is totally amazing. Under the supervision of Barbara the front desk staff go out of their way to make you welcome. If you are in the St. Charles, Illinois area, this is the only hotel to choose. Thank you Barbara for your and your staffs commitment to giving at least this guest a wonderful experience at your hotel it is the best as are you and your staff.

Room Tip: Any room in the hotel owing to the commitment from the staff of making it the best it can be. Parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We love our regulars! You know you are part of our family. On your arrival date, we can't wait for you to come into the hotel and say "Honey, I'm Home. Thanks for posting your comments about the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    41
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
34
12
6
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Wifi is slow. Rooms are pretty good but need updating. No HD.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeakyWader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
We have some great news for our guests. We will be turning on HD this Friday, May 11th in all of our guest rooms. We are also adding more bandwith for faster internet the week of May 8th. We hope you are able to come back and enjoy these upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The location, the cleanliness, the staff were all great. But certian aspects did not set well with me after staying there for 5 nights. Some of these seem to have been because of corporate decisions/guidelines not due to the staff. Examples: no complimentary breakfast, not even continental, some of the guests seemed to have coupons for free use at the lobby Bistro but even with our 5 night stay we had none; did not seem to work on room price reduction even though we paid for use of conference room and catering for small gathering. All local calls are charge for at .75 plus tax which is uncalled for (pun intended). We had a king "suite" with fold out sofa, when it was unfolded barely room to walk around the end of the king bed as the furniture very close together plus the end of the sofa bed hit the leg of the in room desk so could not walk around that direction either, and the sink area had the only mirrow in the room and it was located next to the bath door so often there were major people traffic jams with the 3 of us in the room. Service by the staff was pleasant and responsive all the time. But overall I am was unhappy with this Marriott experience and it is not my first stay at a Marriott.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMA6642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am very glad to hear that you found our service excellent and the cleanlienss of our hotel excellent. It was mentioned that you stayed in a room with a king size bed and a pull out sofa. For three adults in one room, we recommend booking our double queen room. This gives you two queen size beds with plenty of room to walk around. The pull out sofa in the kings is more for families with small children. Your room was booked at rate that does not include a Bistro breakfast. We do offer rates that do include breakfast which can save you quite a bit of money in the restaurant and provide you with a fresh made to order breakfast. Thanks for sharing your comments about the hotel. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

The hotel was in a very good location for our needs. Our King room was very clean, bed was comfey and all linens were in good condition. Heat & Air worked well. Enjoyed the in room fridge. Great Restaurants nearby. Did not have time to use it but the pool area looked very nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nvky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank your for your kind comments about the condition and cleanliness of our hotel. Our staff takes pride in their work, and it shows. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

This hotel is top notch. I will stay here again when I am in St.Charles again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Launce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We sold our house quicker than we anticipated. We stayed with our two dogs and children for a long time before we moved. We wanted our son to finish the school year. They went out of their way to make us comfortable in a tough situation. They were sweet to my boys and dogs. The pool is so nice. The hotel is clean and well taken care of. The staff is friendly and professional. The food is really good too! They brought a microwave to our room. I can't thank them enough!

Room Tip: If you are coming with pets, ask for a room with a sliding glass door to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CKETRCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
It is so nice of you to write a review about your stay. I know the staff loved having you at the hotel. It makes our day to make you and your family feel at home. We are so glad everything worked out so well during your move. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding in West Chicago. The hotel check-in and check-out process was quick and simple. We stayed in a King room. It was very nicely decorated and very clean. The drapery in the room blocked enough light that we easily were able to sleep in the next morning. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIBobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMERIGOLD, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago St. Charles, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you enjoy the comfort and luxury of our rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#2 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
2.9 mi away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Baker
Hotel Baker
#6 of 11 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago St. Charles

Property: Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Address: 700 Courtyard Dr, Saint Charles, IL 60174-1497
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago St. Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Chicago St. Charles hotel is nestled on a quiet corner, just a mile from downtown and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Our hotel near Chicago serves a charming historic town on the Fox River, less than an hour from downtown and within easy reach of area airports. Shop nearby Charlestowne Mall or attend events at DuPage Expo Center. You'll feel right at home in a comfortable St. Charles hotel room featuring a large work area, in-room coffee and complimentary weekday newspaper. We also offer complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Start your morning off with reasonably priced breakfast options or a Starbuck's coffee. After a day of meetings or shopping, rejuvenate in our indoor heated pool or whirlpool, or relax by the fire in our cozy lobby lounge featuring a full bar. And if you're hosting a rehearsal dinner or looking for accommodations for overnight guests, we can customize a wedding package just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Chicago St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Courtyard Saint Charles
Saint Charles Courtyard
Saint Charles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing