We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Act”
Review of Hotel Baker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Baker
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Class Act”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Hotel Baker is the place to stay when you are in the Fox Valley! I fell in love with the Baker with my first step into the building! The vestibule and the lobby area welcome you with a blend of old & new...Rox City Lounge=LOVEl!!! Best Martinis and staff around and the food at ROX City Grill is outstanding. I highly recommend The Hotel Baker in St. Charles, IL.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    40
    27
    19
    19
See reviews for
19
69
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Even though we are lucky enough to live in the Fox Valley, my husband and I have taken a few "local vacations" and stayed at the Hotel Baker. The location is in the center of town, a perfect place to come back to after an evening of enjoying the various festivities in St. Charles. The hotel is very historic, has been beautifully updated and appointed and is the go to place for celebrities that are playing at venues in the area. The views from the guest rooms overlook the Fox River and are gorgeous. The hotel has a wonderful restaurant named Rox City Grill which has a fantastic menu of steaks & fish. The hotel bar is our favorite and we are there at least once a month. There is an awesome piano player (and its always fun when people join in the singing) and the most AMAZING bartender ever. A Richard Dryfus look-alike that knows everyone's name! I haven't met a person that doesn't love Joe! We have also attended weddings and other functions at Hotel Baker. The ball room is beautiful with balcony seating and the original lighted dance floor. Summer weddings have cocktails outside and a gorgeous backdrop for photos. I would most definitely recommend the Hotel Baker!

Room Tip: If you are lucky enough to get the Colonel Baker suite, be sure to bring your swim suit (any season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at the suite with the river view. The hotel as a great Restaurante with yammy food. The rooms are old and clean and it's in the center of st Charles. The hotel surrounded with walking distance bars, restaurants, Theater. Great hotel in a small town. Very classy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shukimoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We met part of our extended family in the restaurant in the Hotel Baker for Thanksgiving Day brunch. The turkey and ham were very good, but the service was terrible. I don't know if they were short staffed or not. I had to hunt down a manager to address a problem. I won't go back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gschmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBRepresentative, Manager at Hotel Baker, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We apologize for your disappointment. The feedback we have received were positive regarding our Thanksgiving Day Buffet Feast 2013; the Hotel Baker did not host a brunch, as you mentioned. Should you be disappointed with the food or service, please do not hesitate to contact our customer service representative at 630-584-2100. We thank you for your review and hope you will come and visit us soon to give us another try. ROX City Grill, the hotel's restaurant has been honored by Open Table Diners - "Winner 2014 Diners' Choice" - the reviews are overwhelming. Upcoming, we have the sought after Easter Sunday Brunch (04.20.14) and Mother's Day Brunch (05.11.14). Should you wish to get more information about the brunches, please call us at 630.584.2100. Thank you very much for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Charles hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were visiting for a friends wedding the weekend of 9/27/13. The location is fantastic, the rooms are old school European but modern and updated. It's great to have the Rox City Grill attached.

The staff, the staff is amazing! Everyone went above and beyond for us. The cookies at night delivered to our room were so yummy.

We would definitely recommend this property!

Room Tip: The parlor suites are great, ours had a view of the Fox river and we liked having the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coconutshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We attended a wedding there and it is a great spot in St. Charles right on the river with great river views, rooms are done in the "old style" hotel with modern features such as flat screen TV's, modern bathrooms, etc. All the comforts of home, great bar, good food, etc. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay in the St. Charles area close to everything, shopping, walking, river walks, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chetcosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Hotel Baker is the only place to stay in downtown St Charles. It is right on the river in the middle of downtown. Easy walking distance to night life and restaurants. Check in was easy. Our room was on the second floor on the street side. We did not notice any street noise! Our room was clean, spacious and was exactly what we expected. Did not stay for the complimentary breakfast on Saturday morning, but we have have had a good experience at Rox City to believe that breakfast would have been good. We will stay again at the Baker when we stay overnight in St Charles again.

Parking is not available on site but valet and free self park is available nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
2.0 mi away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
460 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
133 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Property: Hotel Baker
Address: 100 W Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174-1810
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baker 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Baker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing