We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden GEM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Baker

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Baker
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
san diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hidden GEM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed on business trip and was leery about an old hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a lot of character but the room I stayed in with river view was very up to date and quiet. The service was fantastic with fresh baked cookies delivered to the room and the price included a large fresh cooked breakfast also delivered to my room, which I could not finish. There were robes in the room and the towels where plush and fluffy. The bed was comfortable and the room temp was easy to maintain to my liking, Very fast free wireless. I will stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Recommend the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedkop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    36
    26
    19
    19
See reviews for
19
66
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Baker for the first time. The room was clean but nothing special... probably will not return. The location is good with restaurants and bars within close walking distance. I will say the bed was very comfortable and really nothing to complain about for the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danh515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Baker on New Year's Eve.

Prior to our stay we called three times to get more information. Twice we spoke with individuals who couldn't answer questions like "do you have any rooms available" and "what is included in the package that you are promoting on line." Once they had to call us back, and another time he simply said he didn't know. Then, asked if I needed anything else. Odd.The third time we called, we spoke with Jacqueline who seemed far more knowledgeable. But, to be fair, the bar was pretty low.

When we arrived, (there were two couples) our husbands went to grab a six-pack of micro brews so that they could relax while we got ready. The two of us opened a bottle of champagne to enjoy while we prepped. When the two men returned, they told us that they had been greeted by a doorman (we could have used him on our way in with all of our luggage) and some other staff. Everyone was pleasant to them as they walked through the lobby with the six-pack (no bag).

But then we got a knock on our room door. The manager came to confiscate the beer they had brought up. We found this extremely odd. The staff throughout the lobby could have easily informed them that they couldn't take any beer into the room, but they didn't. Instead, they reported what they saw to the manager--making an issue. To add insult to injury, the manager brought up the paperwork that we'd signed when we checked in. To illustrate to our husbands that they were breaking the rules. I was the person that signed it, and frankly I did not read every line - I should probably be put in jail.

It was really, really uncomfortable and the experience took us back at least 15 years. We are not typically rule-breakers. We weren't at all disruptive. We simply were unaware of the rule. There was no need to make such a big deal.

About the hotel: The location does not have ideal parking, I saw that in another post - it's accurate. The service is hit or miss. We had a doorman every 3rd time we went outside and I mentioned the wealth of knowledge you run into at the front desk. The rooms are quaint, but there are far too many great hotels out there to go to one that has such poor management and service.

Seriously, keep looking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Charles hotels

Andalusia, Illinois
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Nice place and close to downtown and the fox river. The hotel is old but nice and very comfortable. I would stay again. Price is good and looked like the food and bar areas are nice. This area would be a romantic area for a couples get away. Arcada Theatre right across the river and is a good place for entertainment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

I'm currently here at Hotel Baker and completely disappointed. Apparently there was a wedding & reception scheduled tonight...and the hotel staff stuck us on the 2nd floor where we can hear the DJ to the point we could sing the songs!!! We had to sign a "no party" contract saying we'll be quiet, but we have to listen to this until midnight!!
The bathroom is tiny with a super tiny tub. The remotes for the tv will only let you change the channel but won't turn the tv on or off.
I was really hoping to find a "place" that was ours - me & my boyfriends. A place that neither one of us had ever been to, but one we would fall in love with. Hotel Baker is definitely NOT going to be it!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verykind77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

I was in a wedding at Hotel Baker this fall and the service was horrific. Not only were the staff unprofessional but also inconsiderate. This example was the final straw in a long line of unprofessional and inconsiderate behavior on the part of the staff at Hotel Baker: As a bridesmaid we were told that we could keep up bags in a conference room during the wedding(which we sat in for 3 hours before the wedding began), after the ceremony, during the time when the bridesmaids should be taking pictures,the wedding coordinator told us that we needed to move all our stuff. In response to my question of "where should we put it all?" was the answer "I don't know but it needs to be out of that room." I went and complained to the manager who also was difficult to work with because of her lack of knowledge on the wedding. Worst wedding experience of my life! I would never recommend anyone to have their special day at a place where they obvioulsy don't care about their customers.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JN16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I had my wedding at the Hotel Baker on 10-10-10 which is quite a busy weekend for St. Charles since that was the weekend of Scarecrow Festival. But the hotel was super accomodating for as busy as they were. They helped especially with unloading of our older guest in front of the hotel and the parking was only down the street and was not a huge inconvienence at all. Our wedding was wonderful every detail was absoulutely perfect...our wedding planner which I got two weeks before our wedding since my original planner had resigned made sure that eveything was perfect from the table decor to the dinner. I have only rave reviews....I have had many of our guests tell us that is was the best wedding that they have even been to. If you are planning a wedding ....have it here you will not regret it and the Rainbow Room is just fantastic.
We recently celebrated our 1st Anniversary and have had our 1 year old cake and it was still fabulous. I think I am one of the only couple's that I know that enjoyed their cake a year later. We also went back to the hotel to celebrate our anniversary....and it was wonderful!! My husband and I plan to go back every year to celebrate our anniversary. The staff the was part of our wedding was absolutely fabulous and we cannot thank enough for the memories that I will have for a lifetime.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
2.0 mi away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#2 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baker

Property: Hotel Baker
Address: 100 W Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174-1810
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baker 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baker offers the epitome in all things luxurious -- elegant guest rooms and suites, state of the art amenities, exceptional dining and lounge venues, and a scenic riverside setting that's second to none. Anywhere. If you're planning a wedding, party, banquet, conference or other event, we invite you to talk with our sales and catering professionals who are available to assist you. Our incomparable meeting and banquet facilities can accommodate groups from 10-300 in an atmosphere of sophisticated elegance and grace. And in season, Hotel Baker's charming rose garden and outdoor patio dining create a lovely, memorable setting. You can be confident that everything will be done according to the highest level of service and careful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Baker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baker Hotel Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing