We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pheasant Run Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Wheaton, Illinois
2 reviews
“Great for families!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent Labor Day weekend at Pheasant Run. I was a bit worried after reading the negative reviews, so I was prepared for the worst. Thankfully, I was pleasantly surprised at how nice our room was! We had a whirlpool suite, which is great if you have kids! Our room was cool and clean, and very spacious! The upstairs bathroom (yes, there were 2 bathrooms in our room) was HUGE! The gigantic whirlpool tub was the best part of the whole stay! My 9 year old took at least 8 baths! The bed was very comfortable, too. The cons were: old carpet in the room needed replacing, the TV's were not flat screen, the ice machine on our floor was broken, the AC in our room was noisy, the water smelled like sulfur, and the furniture in the room was uncomfortable and dated. BUT, none of that really mattered to us because we have stayed at much worse! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The maids were very good and even cleaned up our room while we were at the pool and gave us clean towels, new toiletries, and made the bed. We had a great time and would go back. I hope that the management at Pheasant Run will put some money into renovating the rooms with flat screens and comfortable furniture, replacing the carpet throughout the hotel, and fixing the sulfur smell in the water. Only then will they get a 5 star review.

Room Tip: Get a whirlpool suite if you have kids! They are 2 levels, with an upstairs bath and downstairs bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyB2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    179
    164
    109
    104
See reviews for
189
222
22
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

In July of 2013 I used Pheasant Run for my wedding venue. We had our ceremony and reception there. When we first met with the wedding staff at Pheasant run we were very pleased by their professionalism and knowledge. We loved the lady we were assigned to, unfortunately after meeting with her and booking our event there, she retired. We were then assigned to another lady who I dealt with and set up our entire event with. I got an email about 2 months before our wedding that she just quit. We ended up having a 3rd person help us with our event. Amanda was awesome. She was on top of things and really understood that we wanted everything a certain way. They were able to accommodate around 70 of our guests staying in rooms and 200 guests we had at the actual wedding. The staff was nothing but nice to everyone! They provided everything as promised. I was able to relax on my wedding day and they provided a service that allowed me to have the best day of my life! I would recommend this venue to any bride and groom that is looking for an outside of the box event! I would also recommend Amanda to work with again because she was on top of things!
The only complaint I would have about this place is that the rooms could use some updating and a good clean. Our honeymoon suite smelled musty but overall it was clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtice, Ohio
Level Contributor
316 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Pheasant Run has it's share of great attributes but also a few problems that need to be addressed. I stayed at the resort for a week long conference and found the staff to be exceptional. They were friendly and seemed to go out of their way to make sure all of the sessions and break sessions were well attended to. The New Orleans style theme to the common areas was really cool and livened up the atmosphere. The food provided was very good and the pools were clean. The rooms however need some TLC and some updating. The facility is aging and the tower rooms should be renovated to become the primary attraction of the facility. Overall, Pheasant Run served the conference well and I would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PfeiffersOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is the 6th time we stayed at Pheasant Run on a business trip and ive been to many motels and this one gets 5 stars every time! we always look forward to staying here and this year we decided to bring our family and they were blown away w all the wonderful amenities offered... the pools were best and the kids activities and firepit to warm up by aft a swim! our room was beautiful and cool and clean! it was such a treat to be pampered w our beds being made every morn and the bathroom cleaned and fresh towels and washcloths for the whole family! ur staff was very friendly and helpful and we cant WAIT to come back next yr and the kids want to come along again!!! THANX PHEASANT RUN STAFF for all ur hardwork for such a relaxing n beautiful retreat!

Room Tip: the golf wing rooms have every amenity n quiet n heard no other guests n has a cozy patio w Adironda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Even though we read the negative reviews for this facility prior to reserving our room, we stayed there anyway so that our daughter could be with her teammates for their soccer tournament. Those negative reviews are completely accurate.

We stayed for only one night because we were expecting the worst, and the condition of the guest rooms did not disappoint in that regard. The smell of our room hit us with a musty punch in the face the moment we opened the door, and it completely went downhill from there. The list of atrocities we found in our room is as follows: dead insects in the bathroom light fixture, rust stains in the toilet, years of calcium build-up on the shower head, hairs in the bathtub, smears on the mirror, malfunctioning light fixture next to the bed, a peculiar cabinet in the wall with the handles removed that we left closed out of trepidation, stained and threadbare furniture, food stuck to the nightstand, and a dirty air conditioner that shut off for no apparent reason in the night. Other families staying in our group reported malfunctioning showers and televisions.

Furthermore, when booking the room, we were told we'd have a "courtyard view," but what we actually got was a room whose only window looked out into the hallway, so unless we wanted to sacrifice our privacy and open the blinds, we had no natural light whatsoever -- extremely depressing indeed. Incidentally, the blinds on our window wouldn't completely close, so anyone who really wanted to see in our room could do so by positioning themselves just so in the hallway, which reeked of mold too, btw.

The few positives to mention are that the staff we encountered were friendly enough, and the free wifi was fast...The end. Most people would like to spend a night in a hotel that's as nice or even nicer than their own homes, and most people would be disappointed here. Anyone who has any respect for the time and effort they put in to earn the money it costs to stay there should take their business elsewhere. There are other choices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgjb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our Church has had two events at Pheasant Run Resort and in both instances we have had received excellent service from the staff. The place is filled with so much amenities from the golf courses, swimming pools and etc... The resort is great for both a pure retreat or a business meeting. This resort is trully a gem in an urban setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I got this hotel due to its location; we were there for a funeral. I am giving it two stars only because the bed was super comfortable. We checked in really late after driving for 12 hours, and checked out really early, so I was exhausted and just too tired to try to change rooms. First of all, the tub was yellowed and didn't drain. There were two dirty washcloths still hanging on the shower rod from the previous guests. There was hair in the tub. There was chewed gum in the floor. I stepped on a sliver of thin plastic (I guess from a pom pom?) and did a jig b/c I thought I stepped on a bug b/c it tickled my foot. The complimentary shampoo was 3/4 empty and the lid was broken. The water smelled like sulfur. My in-laws had 2 rooms, and they didn't have a problem at all, so maybe they just forgot to finish our room. I'm not sure. On a positive note, they had several pools, a fire pit, an animal balloon maker, and night time movies for kids on an outdoor projection screen. We saw all of this while passing through to our rooms. So, it could be nice for families if your room is actually cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gruber03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
11.5 mi away
Eaglewood Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pheasant Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pheasant Run Resort

Property: Pheasant Run Resort
Address: 4051 East Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pheasant Run Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 50 years, our unique combination of onsite entertainment, recreation, delicious dining, and sprawling venues have established Pheasant Run Resort as a Midwestern treasure. With 293 guest rooms and more than 80,000 square feet of premium event space, Pheasant Run is like a city in and of itself, complete with hotel rooms, theater, live comedy, diverse restaurants, golf, tennis, and swimming! We have the ideal indoor or outdoor space for your wedding, an experienced team of planners to help with your meeting or convention, and friendly staff waiting to make your stay remarkable. Bright lights, small city. Those four words describe the lively country feel of the Pheasant Run Resort. From sidesplitting laughs to award-winning theater, to live music, all the fun you desire is right here at our resort. Join us for popular productions in our Mainstage Theater, and see the Midwest's funniest comedians at Zanies Comedy Club. Small town service, big city taste. Inspired by the culinary spirit of the South and the heart of the Midwest, our diverse restaurants in St. Charles, IL, feature a world of fresh, seasonal flavors. Experience farm-to-fork fine dining, Cajun-Creole cuisine, a high-energy sports bar, a scenic café, ice cream shop, or jazzy garden buffet, all right here. And with seasonal events like poolside BBQs and Mardi Gras parties, you'll always enjoy fabulous food and fun at the Run. Take in 18 holes of championship golf or schedule a relaxing massage at Spa Vargas Wellness!! Whatever you choose, you'll experience the charming side of Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pheasant Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Run Hotel Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing