We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice but needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pheasant Run Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was nice but needs some TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We have stayed here over the years for a company convention in town. This was probably our 9th stay at this hotel. We always try to reserve the tower, as we have stayed in the main level and the room was very old at the time. This year the tower room was also really showing its age. The bathroom shower was in desperate need of a makeover with mold and scratches and a shower curtain that looked like it had been there since the room was built! The rest of the hotel area is always very nice and clean, and the staff at reception is always very friendly. The indoor/outdoor pool is also nice. It's the tower rooms that need some TLC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glitterbff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    179
    164
    109
    104
See reviews for
189
222
22
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northwestern Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here because of a show at the attached theater. We paid $110 / night for a tower room. The hotel shows its age but nothing was in bad shape. It has multiple restaurants, bars, and swimming pools, including a nice indoor/outdoor pool. Nice people working the front desk. I'd stay again if we have a show to go to at their theater or convention center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTheBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

A 3 night stay that was refreshing and relaxing, even off season. Nice heated pool, decent room and very attentive front desk and Bell hop staff. Golf course is decent and we got a good deal on club rental & cart. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is quite possibly the worst hotel I've stayed in within the last ten years. I was in the area on a last minute work trip one evening, and all other hotels were booked. This one had rooms, but at almost $200 a night. The location is decent, but I had heard questionable things about the accommodations, and was suspect. I was a little reassured when I entered the lobby, which is basic, but has beautifully polished slate floors. That's where the reassurances stopped. The front desk clerk kept taking phone calls and it took a half-hour to check in, but he was initially pleasant. Unfortunately, the location of the "lobby" building is nowhere near many of the rooms, and NOTHING is marked with signage...or lighting. It's a big property. Some of the grounds are nice, but very congested, and the buildings are outdated and cheaply built. I drove around in the dark for several minutes trying to find my building, but had to go back to the front desk for clearer directions. The front desk guy wasn't as nice this time around....waving that it was "just over there". When I finally found the room, I was astounded at the condition. Not just outdated and in serious disrepair, but filthy. It smelled of who knows what, the paint was peeling, the carpet ripped and filthy under beat-up furniture, and I was afraid to touch or sit on anything. There was a (broken) sliding glass door, and I kept it open as long as I could to air out the room, but was afraid of security and had to get to bed. I spent a miserable night, wondering how this place can possibly stay in business. The only thing nice about the room was the product line of shampoos and soaps sitting in the bathroom, but it felt like the placement of museum-quality art in a chicken coop. And certainly I knew better, but hadn't had dinner and ordered room service for breakfast. Predictable mistake. The whole thing was inedible. The sausage was raw. Not just undercooked; cold and raw. In disbelief, I called them, and believe they took it off the bill, but didn't sound surprised to be gettting such serious complaints. All in all, a terrible experience, and at a much higher rate than any hotel in St. Charles! I think this property books a lot of golf and other groups, and must offer an attractive package price. For the life of me, I can't think of any other way they would attract hotel guests.

Room Tip: Hard to imagine there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regulartraveler705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Theater, Comedy Show, Golf, Swimming, live bands, dining, dancing, swimming.......you want it Pheasant Run's got it and it is close to home!!! We have been going here for years to celebrate birthdays, anniversarys and other special events and PR ALWAYS provides EXCELLENT service and accommodations. Will continue to go here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank November201050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

My family stayed here while attending a celebration/party in St. Charles. The Resort is easy to get to, has plenty of parking, and has plenty to do. We only used our room as a base for sleeping and changing and I am glad. The rooms are cramped, the bedding needs to be updated. The bathroom is very small and the general appearance of the room is more like a basic hotel off the highway than a true resort. For the price, I wish we had stayed elsewhere but most of the hotels in the area were booked up for our travel dates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etoile983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Resort was beautiful. The staff was efficient and friendly. The Restaurant's buffet was really good with many choices. The Comedy Club was fun. It was just a great place to visit wish my stay had been longer but looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renee1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
11.5 mi away
Eaglewood Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pheasant Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pheasant Run Resort

Property: Pheasant Run Resort
Address: 4051 East Main Street, Saint Charles, IL 60174
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pheasant Run Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 50 years, our unique combination of onsite entertainment, recreation, delicious dining, and sprawling venues have established Pheasant Run Resort as a Midwestern treasure. With 293 guest rooms and more than 80,000 square feet of premium event space, Pheasant Run is like a city in and of itself, complete with hotel rooms, theater, live comedy, diverse restaurants, golf, tennis, and swimming! We have the ideal indoor or outdoor space for your wedding, an experienced team of planners to help with your meeting or convention, and friendly staff waiting to make your stay remarkable. Bright lights, small city. Those four words describe the lively country feel of the Pheasant Run Resort. From sidesplitting laughs to award-winning theater, to live music, all the fun you desire is right here at our resort. Join us for popular productions in our Mainstage Theater, and see the Midwest's funniest comedians at Zanies Comedy Club. Small town service, big city taste. Inspired by the culinary spirit of the South and the heart of the Midwest, our diverse restaurants in St. Charles, IL, feature a world of fresh, seasonal flavors. Experience farm-to-fork fine dining, Cajun-Creole cuisine, a high-energy sports bar, a scenic café, ice cream shop, or jazzy garden buffet, all right here. And with seasonal events like poolside BBQs and Mardi Gras parties, you'll always enjoy fabulous food and fun at the Run. Take in 18 holes of championship golf or schedule a relaxing massage at Spa Vargas Wellness!! Whatever you choose, you'll experience the charming side of Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pheasant Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Run Hotel Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing