We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PHEASANT RUN IS A VERY TIRED RESORT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pheasant Run Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Pheasant Run Resort in St. Charles Illinois Sunday September 2nd and 3rd 2012 for a relaxing couple of days.

RESORT CHECK IN: We arrived at about 10:00 am. The room was not ready. We left the resort and they called when the room was ready at 3:15 pm. The resort was having a Teen Pageant and the resort was packed. Parking was full. The resort is large with many winding walkways requiring a lot of walking. The front desk personnel were polite.

ROOM: Our room was 3237 on the second floor located at the back of the resort in golf Building F. Parking was full. There are no elevators in this building. You had to carry your luggage up the stairs and to your room. The room was a Bi-level whirlpool suite. Downstairs there was a sleeper couch, chair, small refrigerator, old design TV with cable and full bathroom. Upstairs was a queen bed, desk, old design TV with cable, and a large bath with whirlpool. The AC would not cool the room. Housekeeping was poor. They did not change towels or make the bed. The carpet in the hall is old and worn and should be replaced.

POOLS: There were 3 pools. A small outdoor pool, indoor outdoor pool, and one in the Atrium. The pool in the Atrium was closed. The indoor outdoor was the main pool. It was packed and full with kids. Towels were available. There were people with loud radios that was annoying. This is not the place to relax. The pool was quiet the day after Memorial Day.

RESTAURANTS: There are 5 restaurants, Harvest, Jambalaya, Garden Atrium, Sunday Champagne Brunch and Terrace Café. The Sunday Champagne Brunch and the Garden Atrium was ok. The coffee was awful. The carpet was full of debris and could use a good vacuuming. The ceiling was full of dust. The Harvest for breakfast was very good. The Terrace Café was very good for lunch at the pool. We did not try room service.

BARS: There are 4 bars in the resort, Harvest Lounge, Jambalaya, Lucky Pierres and the Clubhouse. The Clubhouse is convenient and you can get drinks while you are at the pool. Drinks are pricy.

RESORT: The resort is large and spread out. It is a very tired resort and could use some updating. It appears management does not pay attention to detail. Many places in the resort need cleaning. This resort has a lot of potential.

ENTERTAINMENT: There is a Zanies Comedy Club, Theatre and Jambalaya Bar.

SPA: Did not use.

GOLF COURSE: Did not use.

FITNESS CENTER: The Fitness Center appeared to be very good with expanded hours. Did not use.

OUTDOOR ACTIVITES: There are tennis courts and volley ball available.

SUMMARY: Stay at this resort when there are no conventions to eliminate the crowds. It could be a relaxing place to stay. There was no presence of security in the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blue_eyes1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 868 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

The room was excellent, the people were more than friendly, and even if you do not go downtown to Chicago, the main area within St. Charles is an very nice place to visit - nice shops, restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

great staff esp. anna! We stayed here in Sept. 2012 and really enjoyed ourselves. They have tennis, golf,zannies comedy club and ben and jerry's! Even though it was Sept. we were able to use the outdoor pool. It is a little older, but very clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: take the train into Chicago at the Geneva station. It is about 5-10 minutes away. Parking is free in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here one night on a biz trip. Liked it so much I'm requesting of my once per year golf travel group that we use it as a base for our next trip.

What's not to like? The rooms are a bit older and dated, but clean. The pool and patio area are really nice, quaint almost. There are a couple restaurants that are--good, not excellent. The bars in the joint are just fine.

The gold course, which I haven't played for 15 years, was in excellent condition; even with the droughts experienced in the midwest this summer.

Good value----great weekend experience for the fam I would imagine. We're going to try it at some point for that very thing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Ever since our weekend getaway last summer my kids have been begging for a return trip. So for my son's birthday I booked two nights. They love all the pools especially the indoor/outdoor and the game room is fun, and we enjoyed walking on "Bourbon Street" and ordering room service. The staff is so friendly and they don't even allow you to have a problem because they are so accommodating! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow though, my neck hurt cuz theirs are so puffy. But the bed was really comfy oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperMommy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is the 5th time our company has stayed at Pheasant Run. The staff has been outstanding and attentive to our needs! The place is unique and offers things to do for families or business travelers. Service is excellent and the prices are very fair. They have lots to do while visiting the area. We will certainly be back when in the area again.

Room Tip: The tower has some great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKlouw12, Director of Revenue Management at Pheasant Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and your review of our associates and the Resort. Our staff was very pleased to read that they exceeded your expectations and look forward to seeing you again at next year's event!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was so excited to attend an expo at Pheasant Run because of its long history of being a great destination. Check in was very smooth and the lobby was hospitable. I had a courtyard room which was on the opposite end of the complex from the expo space. It had to be about a mile or so, I ended up driving. I would have stayed at the cheaper hotel across the street if I had known that. The room was very dated, probably from the 80's. The alarm clock was the IPod charger which did not work. I had to plug my phone in across the room and wasn't able to see what time it was if I woke up in the middle of the night. The cleaning was a once over quickly. It was probably years since the room was deep cleaned. There was a build up of dust in the corners and behind the toilet and white socks turned black on the bottom. There were dead bugs in the light fixtures. There was no safe or fridge.
Getting from place to place within the resort was like walking a maze and it was not uncommon to have to walk through a restaurant to get to where you were going. In the morning they detoured you around the outer edges so you couldn't walk through if you weren't eating there. The food I had was just OK. The atrium pool was closed for renovations. The expo was larger than they could manage so a part of it was across the street and they provided a shuttle bus.

Room Tip: I think the tower rooms might be a little newer than the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DesignerScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKlouw12, Director of Revenue Management at Pheasant Run Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and posting this review of your experience. Our team was very disappointed to read your impressions of your guest room and its condition. We look forward to accomplishing many guest room and public space improvements in the near future that will leave a positive impression for our guests. The Scrapbook Expo that you attended is one the most popular shows annually and we are accustomed to receiving a variety of requests so please do not hesitate to contact us next year in order for us to provide you with your preferences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
3.4 mi away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Geneva
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pheasant Run Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pheasant Run Resort

Address: 4051 E Main St, Saint Charles, IL 60174-5201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Saint Charles
Price Range: $122 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pheasant Run Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 50 years, our unique combination of onsite entertainment, recreation, delicious dining, and sprawling venues have established Pheasant Run Resort as a Midwestern treasure. With 293 guest rooms and more than 80,000 square feet of premium event space, Pheasant Run is like a city in and of itself, complete with hotel rooms, theater, live comedy, diverse restaurants, golf, tennis, and swimming! We have the ideal indoor or outdoor space for your wedding, an experienced team of planners to help with your meeting or convention, and friendly staff waiting to make your stay remarkable. Bright lights, small city. Those four words describe the lively country feel of the Pheasant Run Resort. From sidesplitting laughs to award-winning theater, to live music, all the fun you desire is right here at our resort. Join us for popular productions in our Mainstage Theater, and see the Midwest's funniest comedians at Zanies Comedy Club. Small town service, big city taste. Inspired by the culinary spirit of the South and the heart of the Midwest, our diverse restaurants in St. Charles, IL, feature a world of fresh, seasonal flavors. Experience farm-to-fork fine dining, Cajun-Creole cuisine, a high-energy sports bar, a scenic café, ice cream shop, or jazzy garden buffet, all right here. And with seasonal events like poolside BBQs and Mardi Gras parties, you'll always enjoy fabulous food and fun at the Run. Take in 18 holes of championship golf or schedule a relaxing massage at Spa Vargas Wellness!! Whatever you choose, you'll experience the charming side of Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Pheasant Run Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Run Hotel Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing