We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Compound” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Q Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Charles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Q Center
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Compound”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I spent 10 days at the Q Center or "the compound" as it was affectionately known as. It's not a tourist hotel, it's a conference center geared towards small and large companies alike. I was in an Executive Room with a queen sized bed, ergonomically friendly desk and lovely flat screen TV. The room was clean and well-cared for. The property also has plenty of leisure activities to occupy your down time.

Room Tip: The Q Center is at least an hour outside of Chicago and travel into the city is most convenient by c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniC4590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Q Center is not actually a tourist hotel. It isn't even a standard conference hotel. Rather it is a conference center designed specifically for training sessions and regularly scheduled conferences, mostly for Accenture, but other organizations too. The rooms are a cross between dorm-style and hotel, although they are generally comfortable and functional. Beds are comfortable, too. The real focus, however, are the large and beautiful grounds on parkland (and a former country club) in north St. Charles. In addition, the facilities are large and spread out, and the fact that meals are offered in a cafeteria-style actually works quite well: the food is reasonably good, with sufficient variety, and the buffet service quick and easy. Seating is always available, both in and out, and comfortable. For someone used to traveling on business and tired of waiting in a restaurant alone for service, this is a nice change. Of course, most people here are with colleagues or others in meetings/courses and this provides an excellent opportunity to network as well.

Room Tip: Executive rooms have quite a bit more space than the twin-bed equipped standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSwith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

For meetings and training the Q Center is great. Q Center is not a hotel or resort. It is not intended for leisure guests. To stay here is to attend a conference, business meeting, training program, or organizational development event. Thus, many negative comments from other reviewers seem misdirected. Considering that folks come here to focus on business, the remoteness of the site, small rooms, and limited entertainment amenities make sense. I agree with another reviewer who noted that the dorm-size rooms (this was originally a college) that accommodate only single occupancy can be preferable to larger rooms shared with strangers. The comparison to a cruise ship room is apt ... small but nicely and thoughtfully appointed. Common areas are comfortable and attractive, meeting rooms are excellent, food is very good. I did not experience the lack of food choice noted by other reviewers. Staff is well trained and helpful. If you are looking for a corporate meeting site with after-hours entertainment, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a site to focus on business and organizational development, I highly recommend the Q Center.

Room Tip: The complex is large and sprawling. When booking a room, ask the staff for a room near your training...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NormalIL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great facility, but rather boring location (no reason to leave the Q Center). It can get monotonous after a week - there's only one bar and you can only drink so long for each day.

The campus feeling still made up for everything. Food is surprisingly good for cafeteria standards. Very small bedrooms (ymmv).

I was there for 2 weeks of training.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
277 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I guess those who had stayed here would say the same - back to their campus dorm days. or at least that was for me. Except that the room furnishing is much better and we get ensuite washroom.
I wish there is more bus in the evening to nearby places, otherwise there is just nothing else to do. Great place to keep people in and focus on the courses :-)

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank 1place1dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was here for 5 days for company training. The facility is unbelievable and the conference rooms were really good. Q obviously has a dedicated staff who have worked here for a while. The rooms are small but do have everything you need, nice desk area, bathroom area, and bed with cushions to make it like a day bed. Bathroom has shower only, no bathtub and I felt claustrophobic when the door was shut so I recommend a doorstop on the door. The food at Q is fantastic and gives you so much choice it was almost too much. The big issue for me with Q is that it is in a remote location; you need a taxi to go anywhere and there is just not enough to do. We biked and walked on the trails north of the hotel. North is the preferred direction according to the front desk. The trail along the Fox River goes much farther but after about 3 miles it disappeared into the road for a while so that is where we turned around. Don't expect to get too close to the river; when you do get close you are also near private propertyand no trespassing signs. The exercise room was nice. The other choices are shuttles to Target, Walmart or the Charlestowne Mall, which I understand is pretty much empty except for large anchor stores. There is also a planned trip to the outlets. There is no "pay per view" in the room, but movies are shown communally. Pubs and pool rooms round this out. If you want to walk without going on the river trail, walk around the tennis courts and parking lots; I got a lot of miles in that way. This place needs more signage as well.

Room Tip: I don't think this is an option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth57Elkridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Helpful staff, all facilities on site and everything is properly organized and taken care off.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Koudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Charles
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#2 of 11 in Saint Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Baker
Hotel Baker
#6 of 11 in Saint Charles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Herrington Inn & Spa
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Center

Property: Q Center
Address: 1405 N 5th Ave, Saint Charles, IL 60174-1264
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Saint Charles
Number of rooms: 1042
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 40 years, Q Center has been one of the world's finest meeting facilities and the choice of many Fortune 500 companies. The 95-acre property offers a secluded, distraction-free environment with 1,042 sleeping rooms and 150,000+ square feet of IACC-certified meeting space. Q Center is an undisputed leader in conference center technology, offering 500 Mbps Internet bandwidth, wireless and LAN set-up, a secure data center and a full-service on-site events and media team. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
q Hotel Saint Charles
q Center Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing