We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, if you don't have big expectations”
Review of Q Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Charles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Q Center
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I've spent 2 weeks in Q Center for business.

Starting with the room. It's small. No matter what you say, standard room is just small. Mine was clean (in opposite to other reviews)

Food isn't great, although thanks to the variety of dishes I think everyone can find something for themselves.

It's located quite far away from... anything ;) you have to take taxi to go to St. Charles (15 mins) or Chicago (1h).

I've used service to receive and send a package and book some tickets. Everyone was nice and helpful.

So what's good about this place? For me it was the thing that there is a lot to do. There is gym, game room (with pool tables), pubs (places where you can sit and have beer with others), two restaurants (or should I call it canteens?), laundry rooms (if you're not willing to pay for the service) and lots of space outside (basketball, running, walking...). You can even watch some movies - I personally didn't.

I wouldn't recommend it for weekend for two, or family holiday. But if you're going for business - don't be afraid, it won't be bad :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarekTheAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 113 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed there for a week or so. It was a great place to stay and learn. Very well done landscaping for beautiful walks and great pictures.
Food was very global, in nature. Westerners would enjoy it more. Asians be prepared to 'adjust'. Rooms which i stayed in were excruciatingly small. I could touch both sides of the wall with hands spread, but then its a training center, not a resort.
Used to be a Golf club resort and a College hostel as well. Huge facility with insane number of rooms.

Room Tip: Ask them if they have bigger rooms. Make sure your rooms are closer to where the training are going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

If you go to the Q Center with the expectation that the room will be VERY small (think cruise ship small or smaller) then you won't have the initial shock and disappointment when you walk in. But in my opinion, having a small room is better than having to share a room with someone I've never met because the Company I work for is too cheap to spring for separate rooms.

The food was great and much better than the other corporate trainings that I've attended. It included a wide variety to choose from at multiple locations. Even the sushi was good. They have hot breakfast, not just scones and fruit like most of these places.

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The training facilities were comfortable.

The only draw backs are the room size and the location. It is an hour from Chicago. But if you plan ahead you can split a limo with 8-10 people and take it into Chicago at night without incurring too much expense. I did take their free shuttle that runs from the Q Center to the mall and then to Walmart and Target. Don't waste your time at the mall. The empty spaces out number the stores 2:1.

They have a large fitness facility (not that I used it) and a variety of walking trails. You can also check out bicycles to take on the trails.

As far as corporate trainings go, it was not bad. I've been to much, much worse.

Room Tip: If you find out which rooms your classes are in ahead of time you can request a room closer to that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandAsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Anyone who thought this place was wonderful must never travel. I am a seasoned traveller at over 100 nights per year and I must say this is by far the worst place I have ever stayed.

To start, the compound is in the middle of nowhere. There are a few places within 10 miles, but nothing within walking distance or a decent cab fare.

Second, the rooms are smaller than a state room on a sailboat. You can stand in the room spread your arms and touch both walls. Not only are they small, but they smell like an abandoned warehouse - a good mix of stale air and mildew. The A/C is a joke. Like many old college dorms they are on a building-centralized system. The room will not get below about 72. The walls are paper thin so you can hear the person in the room next door talking on the phone. The bed is covered in a plastic liner, probably because they know you will sweat all night, which crinkles and wakes you up if you can rollover. I say that because it is a twin bed, roll over and you will be falling out of the bed.

I read several reviews prior to travelling to this place and most said the food was excellent. I was unpleasantly suprised with the quality of the food. If you think the food is good you either eat cardboard on a regular basis or have no taste buds. The food was medicore at best, the mediocre being a self-made salad and build your own turkey sandwhich. The entree's were a joke. For breakfast you can forget eggs cooked to order - carton eggs all around for breakfast with stale bread and unripe fruit.

Tacking on to the first point, this place is in the middle of nowhere, and they know it. There is a bar on premises in an old Country Club Clubhouse. Be prepared to hand them your first born for a drink. They know you are miserable and have to wet your whistle somehow and accordingly charge astronomical prices for drinks or cigarettes.

Whoever designed this place I guess didnt realize that the first floor is 1 and the second floor is 2. At the Q Center, the highest floor is #1. No to mention you have to go up one set of stairs, walk down a hallway and down another to get to the actual training facilites. The place is a maze.

I will give credit where it is due. The exercise facility is large and very much like a large hotel exercise room should be. They have leasure bikes that can be checked out to ride down the river trail. Great scenery, but I had to put the chain back on the bike twice. There is no pool.

All in all, if you are going to this compound, it is most likely because your employer has scheduled training there. Beg for them to change it or stay at a hotel in St Charles and commute in. I would not reccomend this place to anyone for any reason.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Bitmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was my third trip to the Q Center for a training course and it was just as impressive each time. The 'conference center' vibe takes some getting used to as this is not a hotel, but a center that is set up for training and meetings - which is nice as it is all adults, so you don't have kids running all around or a wedding going on in the next meeting room. Really impressive meeting space and refreshment breaks.
The dining room is great - they have a better buffet and are more focused on the quality and variety of the food than most hotels. The guestrooms are small, but only intended for one occupant, unless you are in an executive room (similar to a standard hotel king room). Also, the guestrooms are nicely laid out, with very efficient use of space.
Tons of activities to occupy your time after work - onsite gameroom and pub, as well as common areas to hang out and meet people. Also, several daily shuttles to take you to the nearby outlet mall or quaint downtown St. Charles Main Street area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

I had gone there as part of a large group for a training program. Q Center is spread over a vast area and retains the natural beauty of its surroundings. It has excellent facilities and comfortable rooms. It also provides shuttle services to the nearby shopping centers. It also has a pub to enhance the night life.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaushikGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

The Q Center is a great venue for holding conferences. Service is fabulous, starting from room service, cleaning until all the business related requirements for a conference. The place includes everything you need: Nice and clean accomodation, restaurant, pu, fitness center and organized trips to the surroundings and chicago. Free WiFi throughout the whole site.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statetrooper61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Charles hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago-Saint Charles
3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
Hilton Garden Inn St. Charles
#3 of 11 in Saint Charles
499 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
Courtyard Chicago St. Charles
#5 of 11 in Saint Charles
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago St. Charles
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chicago West - St Charles
3 mi away
Pheasant Run Resort
Pheasant Run Resort
#8 of 11 in Saint Charles
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Center

Address: 1405 N 5th Ave, Saint Charles, IL 60174-1264
Location: United States > Illinois > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Saint Charles
Number of rooms: 1042
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 40 years, Q Center has been one of the world's finest meeting facilities and the choice of many Fortune 500 companies. The 95-acre property offers a secluded, distraction-free environment with 1,042 sleeping rooms and 150,000+ square feet of IACC-certified meeting space. Q Center is an undisputed leader in conference center technology, offering 500 Mbps Internet bandwidth, wireless and LAN set-up, a secure data center and a full-service on-site events and media team. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
q Hotel Saint Charles
q Center Saint Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing