We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steaks”
Review of St Charles Place

St Charles Place
Ranked #5 of 197 Restaurants in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The table is set and the candles are lit: Join us for an elegant, unforgettable evening at St. Charles Place Steak House. Since 1993, we've been serving our guests the finest USDA prime steaks with an accompanying wine list from producers around the world. With decor that harkens back to the prohibition era supper club, we're keeping old fashioned fine dining alive in St. Charles. Voted the Best Banquet Facility in Kane County, we're the perfect space for private events as well, whether you're planning a wedding, family reunion, business dinner, etc. We look forward to raising a glass with you soon!
Reviewed January 7, 2019

Came here to celebrate a birthday. I had the Prime rib which was great and cooked perfectly. Being like any great steak house, there is a great selection of food on their menu, even if you don't want a steak. They have pasta, fish and chicken dishes. They have a great selection of wines for dinner. The service is great and the waitresses are very attentive to everyone's table.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank electrical_steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieN816, Owner at St Charles Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2019

Thanks for coming in to dine with us, Steve! We're thrilled you enjoyed your prime rib and that the staff took good care of you. Looking forward to your return soon.

Till next time,
Thom Niforatos, Jr., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 281 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant really surprised us because it looks like a simple banquets facility from the outside. On the inside, it looks like a unique dining room with lots of character. We love the bar area as well. The food was also outstanding. Two of our guests had the prime rib which was one of the best they’ve had in years! I had Steak Diane which was very tasty.

The service was excellent. Overall, this is a restaurant we’ll return to again and again!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieN816, Owner at St Charles Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2019

We're glad you had a great experience with us, Kim! It's great to know you enjoyed the steak Diane and that our servers took good care of you. We look forward to your return soon.

Thanks for your support,
Thom Niforatos, Jr., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

We decided to go out to dinner on Christmas Eve and chose St. Charles Place. We arrived at our reservation time of 6:00 and the restaurant was packed. What could be a chaotic situation at some establishments was with grace and aplomb. Everyone was seated promptly and efficiently with a warm welcome from the hostess. My wife and I had the prime rib, always an excellent choice, and my son had the twin filet medallions in a cognac sauce. All meals were served with a choice of soup (awesome shrimp bisque) or salad and served with a potato. Despite, what some places would consider an overwhelming crowd, our meal was very well paced (not rushed) and the food came out perfectly done and just to the temperatures we ordered. Dining at St. Charles Place is a constantly reliable and rewarding experience that I highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 136BobW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieN816, Owner at St Charles Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2018

Thanks for joining us for a Christmas Eve dinner! We're thrilled that the three of you enjoyed your meal and the experience. We look forward to your return in 2019.

Happy New Year,
Thom Niforatos, Jr., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2018 via mobile

We dine out often and St.Charles Place is our very favorite for “date night”. The food never disappoints, especially the shrimp cocktail, beef wellington, and prime rib...all outstanding. Service is professional and courteous and we love the eclectic ambiance. St. Charles Place is what fine dining used to be...and is very hard to come by now. But,Thom and staff pull it all off consistently. If you are looking for great food, and service in a cozy atmosphere this is the place!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank HudsongrlChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieN816, Owner at St Charles Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2018

We appreciate your longtime support! It's great to know you've always had a great time with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon for another prime rib.

Best,
Thom Niforatos, Jr., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018 via mobile

We where a big group of people so they had a couple people helping our table. Food was excellent and dessert was also great. If I am ever in town again I will definitely go back for dinner again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Lila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieN816, Owner at St Charles Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2018

Thanks for coming in, Lila! It's awesome your meal was delicious from start to finish. Hope to welcome you in again soon.

Best,
Thom Niforatos, Jr., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Charles Place also viewed

 

Been to St Charles Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing