We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little authentic mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taco's El Norte

Taco's El Norte
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great little authentic mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have eaten here many times including last night. The food is always good, plentiful, and inexpensive.
I really like the enchiladas and the tacos are also very good. Also, good margaritas.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome burritos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had a chicken burrito when I went with a friend and the food is excellent. Staff is very friendly and prompt. Would definitely recommend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

When we first went to Tacos El Norte, we were a little hesitant since it was in a skeevy strip mall. However, once inside we found the NICEST waitstaff, and the most delicious food! They make all of their tortillas by hand on-site, and everything tastes SO fresh. The burrito suizo is the absolute best thing on the menu- it's more than enough for me for dinner and for lunch the next day! The combo plates are also a lot of food and a great value. My husband and I always walk out of their stuffed, and with a bill for under $14! (Not including drinks, we normally just have water.) Great place to go!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
219 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good authentic mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

The combo plate is excellent. Tacos made with flour tortillas are the best. Burritos are also a family favorite. The best endorsement for me is seeing the place fiiled with a hispanic crowd - they come for the food. No outdoor seating, no reservations and definitely not a scenic view. Atmosphere and service could be better at other places - but the food can't be beat.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestoroam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great food. Service is iffy at times.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

Great food. Service is iffy at times.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco's El Norte also viewed

Round Lake, Lake County
Round Lake Beach, Lake County
 
Round Lake Beach, Lake County
Round Lake Beach, Lake County
 
Round Lake Beach, Lake County
Round Lake Beach, Lake County
 

Been to Taco's El Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing