We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment in superb location”
other travelers have booked this property
Sheltered south facing patio overlooking St Margarets Bay and the French Coast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sheltered south facing patio overlooking St Margarets Bay and the French Coast
Sheltered south facing patio with stunning views of St Margarets Bay all year round Location of Calais View Garden Apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Sheltered south facing patio overlooking St Margarets Bay and the French Coast
Sheltered south facing patio with stunning views of St Margarets Bay all year round
Location of Calais View Garden Apartment
View of St Margaret's Bay from Ness Point
A peek outside
Relax on the patio enjoying expansive views of the French Coast from Calais to Boulogne
200 square feet for your sole use. Sun loungers and a parasol provided  to enjoy sunny days
Patio surroundings
Comfortable south facing lounge with sea views
Comfortable south facing lounge with sea views from the sofa
Comfortable south facing lounge with sea views
Fabulous sea views from the bedroom
Views of St Margarets Bay, French Coast and the English Channel from the bed
Winter sunrise.  View from the comfort of your bed
Lifeboat in the bay.  View from the bedroom
Luxurious bedroom with stunning sea views from the bed
Bedroom detail
Spacious well stocked kitchen/diner
Spacious Kitchen/Diner
Spacious Kitchen/Diner
Master bedroom en-suite with double shower enclosure and Spa Therapy toiletries
Cosy and warm at Christmas
Winter Sunrise - view from bedroom and patio
Winter Sunrise - view from bedroom and patio
Winter Sunrise - view from bedroom and patio
Ness Point, St Margarets Bay, from the Leas
Pines Garden Tearoom a pebbles throw from the accommodation
Detail on Norman church in local village of St Margarets-at-Cliffe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St Margaret's Bay, Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
vmtaylor7...
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
“Excellent apartment in superb location”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The apartment is exactly as portrayed. It is extremely well appointed, especially the kitchen. The view is lovely. Jenny was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay so much and can recommend it without hesitation.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedroom, bathroom and view.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickL367
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

After booking the apartment we had several very helpful emails followed by leaflets ect in the post. We were given very precise instructions as how to get there and where to park on arrival, all went as planned.
We arrived at the apartment a little early, not a problem. We were greeted by a very friendly face, Jenny, who gave us a lovely warm welcome and a tour of the apartment, telling us everything we needed to know before leaving us to settle in.
In the kitchen we found everything we needed, a very genorous welcome pack which consisted of : Bread, butter, milk, jam, fruit juice, biscuits,cereals and a lovely bottle of Rose. There was also tea, coffee, sugar and sweeteners. Also just about every herb and spice you would ever need, several olive oils and vinegars, really just everything you could want.
Up stairs to a very comfy bed with a great view out over the channel to Calais( on a clear day). In the shower room we found soap, shower & hair gel, cotton buds, tissues and shower caps again everything you needed for your stay.
Downstairs again to a very comfy lounge, again, a great view over the channel, if your looking at the pictures on the web site they are exactly as it shows, just stunning.
Beach and pub, the coastguard,a few minutes walk away. The coastguard had an ever changing menu, depending on what the catch of the day was, if you like fish you'll love the coastguard. Jenny and Tim also supply you with a 10% discount card for the coastguard, very useful!
Within a few minutes walk you can be up on to the cliffs with walks to Dover and Deal with stunning views.
Throughout our stay Jenny and Tim were very friendly giving us information about all manner of things and making us feel welcome.
We can genuinely say that this is the best holiday we've had in the UK, if you need to unwind this is the place for you,totally relaxing!
Already booked again for next year, need I say more?

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views from the patio
Liked least: Nothing to dislike, just perfect.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas H
Escanaba, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Have spent a week here twice and thoroughly enjoyed. Place is spotless, quiet, very well laid out, well organized kitchen and, of great importance, has a very comfortable bed. Tim and Jenny, the owners, are very helpful and friendly. Wonderful to listen to the ocean while in bed at night. Lots to see and do within 10 miles of "home" my favorites being Dover castle and the village of Sandwich which is very quant. Ask Jenny how to access tops of White Cliffs of Dover for some spectacular scenery and/or some wonderful walks. St. Margaret at Cliffe has a small market, and several places to eat and have a drink.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and the owners
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidaygi...
suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“bliss”
Reviewed February 28, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

we recently stayed at this gorgeous apartment. We were met by jenny who is a lovely friendly person. She showed us around and was so welcoming . The apartment is fabulously furnished and very well eqipped in the kitchen too. Jenni left a gift box containing bread wine jams and cereal and also in the fridge juice butter and milk. What a lovely way to start our break. The views from the apartment were breathtaking. We were able to park securely which was a added bonus too. I highly reccomend this apartment and I am sure we will revisit one day .

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelMW33
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful get away break with beautiful sea views !”
Reviewed February 13, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

What a lovely little hidden gem! This was my first time to St.Margarets I decided to go to catch up on some academic work away from any distractions. The apartment is a cosy little hideaway right by the sea. You can just it up in bed watching the sun rise against the glorious sea view. It's peaceful and very quiet (away from any hussle and bustle). The property is superbly maintained, immaculate and very homely. There is a nice and thoughtful welcome pack given on arrival with basics (bread,milk,biscuits e.t.c) which lasted me for a few days along with some food I brought. I would recommend bringing food with you as the shops are not nearby. Jenny and Tim are such warm, helpful and kind people it makes all the difference. I felt very lucky to spend time here it was just what I needed! I would definitely go back one day.

Date of stay: February 2015
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julawula
kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful haven and escape - blissful!”
Reviewed February 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a beautiful place. The apartment is beautiful - such a restful environment; charmingly decorated and immaculately presented. Jenny is a wonderful owner, making you very welcome but giving you privacy. The area is great; you literally 'pop' to the beach or if you prefer, can watch the boats from the bedroom window. The kitchen is superbly equipped. We went to de-stress, write and have thinking time after a manic christmas and it couldn't have been a better place to go. The Pines Garden Tea Rooms are also really close by and worth a visit - try the pork and onion roll - it is amazing!

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judithlor...
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Difficult to know where to start and where to stop enthusing about this simply perfect apartment.....frankly we didn´t want to leave and you wont either!
Jenny was an absolute delight to deal with. Booking and questions before our trip were answered immediately and in detail. This most kind and helpful of hostesses goes that extra mile and beyond. Thankyou Jenny. Previous reviewer "Mootman" has covered the practical details of property so well that i´ll leave that side of things. The apartment is very stylishly and comfortably furnished. Definite 5 star standard...everything, in every detail speaks of quality here....incl beautiful bedding and towels. So much thought has gone into the comfort and convenience of guests...amazing. The housekeeping is of an equally impeccable standard. I stand in awe...and believe me i AM fussy! The views are simply gorgeous over the bay. There´s a nice pub within short walking distance (ignore some of the weird reviews). The village of St Margaret´s up the hill has further pubs so there´s plenty of choice for dining. Shopping is easy and convenient in Dover or Deal and there´s a small convenience store in the village too. This is the perfect location for winter or summer holidays. Sadly we were only here for a few days, but there´s enough to do in and around St Margaret´s (great walking country) to warrant a much longer stay. 2 -3 weeks would be perfect. Canterbury, Whitstable, Sandwich, Deal, Broadstairs, Sissinghurst, Bateman´s, South foreland +Cliffs, Faversham......i could go on and on. Just take a look at the map or National Trust brochures. We can´t wait to return to this perfect place.

Date of stay: March 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing