We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We had a great time”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Headland, Kent

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Indoors or out - your choice!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Indoors or out - your choice!
Master bedroom with garden views
Versatile room that can be used to sleep two (with a pull-out trundle), one, a baby, or simply to re
We are right opposite the Pines Gardens - a National Trust property. Lovely for walks
Local Kentish wines, ales and lagers from Biddenden are a great addition to your Kent holiday
Kitchen, table laid and waiting to start the evening! Table extends and can be used for four
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Margaret's Bay, Dover, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
StefanSim...
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
“We had a great time”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent one week at this lovely place with our 1 1/2 year old son. The cottage was very well equipped, clean and cosy. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. We had beautiful weather which of course also helped to make it one of our best holidays.
We enjoyed walking and running on the beautiful coast path which starts in front of the cottage. We walked to the lighthouse and enjoyed a Kentish cream tea there. The pub at the beach served very good fish and chips and we watched the sea while drinking a pint of beer. While our son loved to pet the long-haired cat of the pub or throw pebble stones into the water.
We also went to see Dover Castle and Canterburry Cathedrale which both was very impressive.

We would definitely recommend this cottage for a small family like ours. The surrounding is very quiet and beautiful. We were glad that we had found such a nice place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Headland! Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim A
1 review
“Great Spot”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

a modern,comfy and well equipped flat,super location for walks & plenty to do all year round.The kitchen was well equipped with pots/pans utencils etc.great to be able to walk along the coast in both directions,i would recommend the walk eastward to the ZETLAND ARMS...takes around 45 mins each way.The bay/pub just 200yds away is a lovely short stroll any time of day.At least 4 pubs/restaurants in the village plus shop...although it is a steep walk up to the village of about 0.5 miles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet spot and good walks near by
Liked least: a steep walk to the shop/village
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments and recommendations of local walks. We will add these to our guest welcome information. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at Headland!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire W
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little gem tucked in the White Cliffs!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week in the cottage, it was spotless, cosy,and in a prime location for visiting the local attractions. We had a lovely meal in the Free house at the bottom of the road, right on the sea front which is just a few minutes walk away!
We would love to return sometime!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so clean
Liked least: The shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad your enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrich...
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed there with two adults and three children, and had a wonderful time.
The place is located just 5 mins walk from a pebbly beach (St Margarets at Cliffe), and South Foreland Lighthouse is within walking distance, too.
The property itself is a small flat, with two separate bedrooms, and one big lounge come kitchen, all on one level. It is very clean, new, and very well equipped, we felt the owners had really thought of absolutely everything. The owners were also very accommodating with a couple of special requests we had. Overall, 5/5, and we would definitely come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! Really glad you enjoyed your holiday at Headland!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martina m
darmstadt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place which is lovely equipped and perfect for exploring the beautiful angles of Kent.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Headland Cottage is a lovely place to stay. It is very new with not only the best equipment, but also furnished very nicely. I loved the pillows (whale design) and the romantic marine style of the house.
The owners are very kind, helpful and gave us lots of insider tips what to see and do near the cottage.
Headland Cottage is a perfect place to stay if you want to explore the beautiful angles of Kent. We recommend to visit Botany Bay, just 30 minutes drive for St Margarets Bay.
Headland Cottage is a perfect place to stay if you want to visit London by train because getting to Dover station only takes 15 minutes and you also can use trains from the station of Martin Mill which is even closer.
Headland Cottage is a perfect place to stay if you want to be right at the sea but don't want a touristy place.
For our family (children 10 and 13 years old) Headland Cottage was marvellous. Thank you Michael and Maria!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage.
Liked least: The end of our holiday after 1 week.....
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review - Botany Bay is indeed a lovely sandy beach, and London is within easy reach via the fast rail link. Glad you had a good stay at Headland!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186338Jul...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Lovely luxurious newly renovated cottage, very comfortable and brilliantly equipped. Loved the decor and photos of St Margaret's-at-Cliffe. Great location, opposite the beautiful and interesting Pines Garden and Calyx and a 10 minute walk away from the South Foreland Lighthouse and stunning cliff paths. A very warm welcome from the owner. Would not hesitate to come back to explore more of Kent's countryside and coast. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Headland! Thank you very much for your kind words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you very much for your kind words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing