We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spacious and well equipped house with pool”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Pompignan, Gard, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Grace G
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely spacious and well equipped house with pool”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Ostal Philia as part of a family group. On arrival, we were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the house and the layout allowing for privacy as well as providing great communal spaces.  Having a pool was a big advantage, with plenty of beach towels, as was the large kitchen and dining area outside for our family to enjoy.

The decor inside the house was attractive and welcoming and Patrick and his wife had thoughtfully provided a changing table for our baby.

Both kitchen areas were well equipped, everything was clean and well maintained.

The information pack provided by Patrick gave us great insight into the local area and suggestions for things to do.  We particularly enjoyed visiting the breathtaking caves at Grotte des Demoiselles as well as  Avignon, Montpellier and the beach.  We would also highly recommend Auberge Cigaloise in Saint-Hippolyte-du-Fort where we had a lovely meal on the last evening of our stay.

It was also nice to be within a village giving us the opportunity to walk to the boulangerie everyday for delicious pastries and a variety of breads.

We would definitely recommend this property.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luv2trave...
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended spacious house with pool”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just returned from a lovely stay at Ostal Philia. We were very warmly greeted on arrival by Patrick who has an amazing knowledge of this area of France and gave us really helpful advice about places to visit.

The house is large, beautifully decorated and very welcoming with plenty of room for our three families to enjoy being together as well as having their own space if needed. The added bonus was that there are two really well equipped kitchens and dining areas, the second being by the pool, an ideal place to sit and eat during the day. We had a small baby travelling with us and a changing mat and bath were there ready on our arrival.

The house is in on the edge of a village with a really excellent boulangerie where we walked to each morning to buy delicious bread and pastries. We also enjoyed a really nice lunch at the local restaurant where I gather great pizzas are available on Friday and Saturday nights.

There are so many places to visit in the area such as the amazing Pont du Gard and the spectacular caves at La Grotte des Demoiselles. We also decided to investigate the beautiful cities of Montpellier (via the really efficient tram system recommended by Patrick) and Avignon as well as spending time relaxing by the pool and we also enjoyed a day at the beach.

On our last day Patrick came back to see us together with his wife, Yvonne, they were both delightful. They obviously love this area very much and want to share it with their guests.

Thank you Patrick and Yvonne, for all your help, advice and recommendations, we had a wonderful time in your lovely home.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franco S
Welwyn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We highly recommend this rental ”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Fantastic!

We were met on our arrival by Patrick and his very lovely wife Yvonne. A more warmer welcome could not have been had. In the fridge was fresh milk .
Delicious fresh bread, brioche tea,coffee and jam was also waiting for us so no worries about breakfast .
The house was absolutely spotless clean and very tidy . A beautiful home that was very comfortable and required nothing.
Plenty of space for every one , ideally located for all kinds of excursions , 35 mins drive to gorgeous beaches that had very few people on them.
We can't wait to go back and stay at Patrick and Yvonne's home. They are a truly lovely couple that couldn't do enough for us . Thank you guys X

Ps
The surprise Champagne on ice gives you a clue as to what sort of holiday we had.
So much attention to detail ,

10/10
5 star

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
Dear Franco, thank you to mention that we take great care to offer a perfectly cleaned house. It's a hard 4 hours job for the 3 of us but our guests deserve it. Happily we found a laundry not too far for the linen and the towels.
Since you arrived by plane on Sunday night, it was obvious that we left everything for your breakfast since the baker is closed on Monday.
We'll be delighted to greet you and your family once more.
Abraso
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely villa in quite location”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were met by the delightful owners Patrick and Evonne who explained the workings of the house to us. We had a wonderful ten days stay in a old property with modern interior and explored the surrounding countryside and villages which did not disappoint us. We will certainly be returning to sample the whole experience once again. Thank you Patrick and Evonne

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Not a lot
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
Dear David, we promise we'll spend more time with you, Chris and your family when you'll be back: we have so many more recommendations for beautiful sites you'll love. We hope you'll also ride horses with our friend Isabelle who speaks perfect English (I'm jealous)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrike B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Your perfect holiday home!”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The house is the best holiday home we've stayed in. The very generous and flexible layout makes it the perfect holiday home for families, giving everyone plenty of space. The original features throughout the house gives it a charming and unique atmosphere. It is extremely well equipped, from child cots to bbq and separate kitchen. The swimming pool is lovely and well suited also for smaller children. The house is also perfectly located for exploring for surrounding area. We can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The generous layout, perfect for more than one family, and the very friendly owner!
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2015
Thank you Ulrike for such prompt and kind a review. The mediterranean people we are still wonder how you can find pleasant to swim in a pool where the water is less than 18 °C...
You're right, one week is too short to visit all the worthwhile sites. See you soon (from May to October the water in the pool will be more than 23° and this is enjoyable)
Patrick and Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Reviewed January 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, calm, independance, equipment
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2015
Sigh! It's a pity you haven't visit Saint Guilhem, one of the most beautiful village in France, and Caves des Demoiselles close to the Herault river where you experience canoe. At least. A good program for your next stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KLCJT
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2017
Merci pour votre appréciation.
Vous ne l'avez pas vu pendant votre séjour pour les fêtes de fin d'année quand la piscine est hivernée, mais en été elle est protégée par une barrière. Quand vous reviendrez Elio sera donc en toute sécurité dans le jardin autour.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing