We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Wonderful Service, Pricey Parking.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
Certificate of Excellence
Metairie, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Wonderful Service, Pricey Parking.”
Reviewed August 13, 2009

The aesthetic appeal of the hotel is simply splendid. Every room has a window as the center of the building is set up as the dining and lounging area. The heated pool and hot tub was a perfect way to end the day and the guest services and room service were both accommodating to the schedule of the client. Great experience. However, be prepared to spend $18 dollars a day on parking, which kind of defeats the great price I got via Hotwire for the hotel room. If you're lucky you can get parking at the hotel across the street for free.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00lyndsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlinkf, Hotel Management at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time at The Sheraton Gateway Suites Chicago O'Hare and we hope to see you again very soon in the O'Hare area! We also appreciate your feedback regarding our parking charges. Although we do charge in our gated parking lot, we do offer complimentary parking in the parking garage for all Sheraton Guests.

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    289
    121
    52
    34
See reviews for
121
88
70
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2009

The hotel staff were all (well mostly) friendly and helpful. We requested the removal of down bedding upon arriving in our room and it was taken care of promptly.

We did eat in the Luna Cafe all three mornings and had wonderful service from our waitress, Colleen (a very nice Irish woman) 2 out of the 3 mornings. The hostess Kathryn (a German woman) was not quite as friendly and hassled us about our children not being included on the breakfast voucher. She asked how many children we had and when I said two, she said that it was only free for children 5 and under. (I answered that way because at 10 and 12 I guess I still consider my kids "children". I said, "No problem, just charge us for them. We're not trying to pull one over on you." Nevertheless, she continued to follow us around the buffet line. We dubbed her the "breakfast Nazi". The following day, Colleen more than apologized for the "harrassment" and stressed the hotels desire to serve our needs as their guests.

We took the airport shuttle to the blue line into Chicago each day. Shuttle service during the day was very prompt. But....One evening we didn't get back to O'hare until around midnight. My husband called the front desk while we were still on the blue line to request a shuttle. The front desk phone was never answered. So, we called our friends room and asked them to call the front desk. They also did not get a response, so our friend got dressed at midnite and had to go down to the front desk and request a shuttle for us. We waited and waited for the shuttle. It didn't show, so we pretended we were staying at the Holiday Inn next door and hitched a ride on their shuttle. We gave the guy a good tip:) (this time we did pull a fast one because our children were fading fast!)

Things happen, so all in all it was a good stay. We stayed on the top floor and had a "Starwood Preferred" room. I would stay there again if in the Chicago area. You can't let one bad apple spoil the whole bunch.

The king bed was so comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calif_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We only stayed for one night on our way out for vacation and will stay here again. The hotel was very clean and close to the airport. Our room had everything we needed for the night and had a great bed. It takes about 10 minutes from the doors of the hotel to your terminal.

One thing that wasn't above par was the person that checked us in, he didn't tell us where to park or any details about the shuttle. Other staff was very helpful. When we arrived late at night we placed the phone call withe hotel and were picked up with 15 minutes.

Really we weren't looking for much, a place to sleep and get us to the airport. I like Sheraton and will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungTraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlinkf, Hotel Management at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time at The Sheraton Gateway Suites Chicago O'Hare and we hope to see you again very soon in the O'Hare area!

Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Ok, if I can get past the $18.00 a day to park in a parking lot not a parking garage. The hotel staff was very nice upon check-in and check-out. The housekeeping staff was absolutely wonderful! I can't say enough nice things about them, if you need anything they will bring it right to your door! If I had to stay here again, though I wouldn't because of the parking cost!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryder12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlinkf, Hotel Management at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your compliments to our front desk and housekeeping staff. Our staff works exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. It is unfortunate that you weren't satisfied with our parking accommodations. We hope next time you take advantage of our complimentary parking in our nearby garage. We take our guests experiences very seriously and use feedback, such as yours, to help us improve our service to our guests. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon here at The Sheraton Gateway Suites O'Hare.
Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We booked through Hotwire for a stay -- we wanted to be close to the airport so it worked out good for location. We didn't mind it.

Agree with other reviewers -- the airport shuttle was slow and took a long time to come if you missed it exactly -- we missed one by 2 minutes at the airport and had to wait 28 mins for one to come back. Deifnitely not as convenient as some other hotels to get to/from airport.

The atrium is nice, looks like it used to be an Embassy Suites? Kids had fun in the glass elevators.

Room was good as it was a suite, it allowed us to put kids to bed and then go into the other room. They had a crib delivered to the room promptly. Overall the room was okay -- just your average suite room, clean but again, just nothing special. The bed was great though, soft king bed with lots of fluffy pillows.

The pool was really, really warm, which was nice at first, but then got too hot for comfort. It felt like a bath -- but at least they had a pool -- again, overall average. We ate room service due to a late arrival and not wanting to leave the room -- it was okay but typical of room service, overpriced. We didn't eat at the restaurant. In general, an average stay -- nothing horrible, but nothing that blew us away either.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I've stayed in a few Sheratons in my lifetime and this by far is the worst Sheraton that is in desperate need of a makeover. My initial room smelled of smoke even though the hotel advertises that it is a non-smoking hotel.
The room is a bit filthy as there was some trash leftover from the last guests on the floor. The carpet looked mildewed and severely stained. The windowsill was peeling as was some of the paint on the walls.
The only saving grace was the bed which was HUGE and very comfortable with lots of pillows. There is also 2 large flat screen TVs as it is a suite, one in the living room and one in the bedroom.
I am thankful that I did not have to pay for staying here as the tab was picked up by the airlines due to a missed connection. If you are looking for a hotel close to the airport, do yourself a favor and find something else.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucidlilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Oh where do I begin? At the airport, we waited for the shuttle for 30 minutes while other hotel shuttles came by two or three times during that time period. The hotel is located close to the airport which is good, but 30 minutes to wait for a shuttle is unacceptable.

Once we got to the hotel, the check in was pretty fast. We got up to the suite and it seemed clean enough, but the housekeeping neglected to empty the recycling bin as it has stuff in it from the previous people who stayed in the suite. The suite next door had a empty glass sitting outside for the two days I was there and no one on the staff bothered to remove it from the hallway.

I got woken up twice between 1 and 2am due to drunks screaming at the top of their lungs while leaving the bar/club that is in the hotel. Who thought of the idea of having the entrance to a club/bar facing out to the same indoor courtyard as guest rooms? Other guests were opening their doors and yelling back out of disgust for being woken up.

Keep reading the reviews for other hotels and find a better spot to stay if you want to be in the O'Hare area. Next time I will do the same.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastcyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosemont
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
1.7 mi away
Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/O'Hare Airport
1.9 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
#8 of 18 in Rosemont
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel

Property: Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel
Address: 6501 Mannheim Rd, Rosemont, IL 60018-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#8 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#8 Family Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel is in Rosemont, IL. Free shuttle service and park and fly packages are available. Stephens Convention Center, Allstate Arena and Rosemont Theatre are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Rosemont
Rosemont Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing