We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hmmmm...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
Certificate of Excellence
TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hmmmm...”
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Ok, if I can get past the $18.00 a day to park in a parking lot not a parking garage. The hotel staff was very nice upon check-in and check-out. The housekeeping staff was absolutely wonderful! I can't say enough nice things about them, if you need anything they will bring it right to your door! If I had to stay here again, though I wouldn't because of the parking cost!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryder12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlinkf, Hotel Management at Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your compliments to our front desk and housekeeping staff. Our staff works exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. It is unfortunate that you weren't satisfied with our parking accommodations. We hope next time you take advantage of our complimentary parking in our nearby garage. We take our guests experiences very seriously and use feedback, such as yours, to help us improve our service to our guests. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon here at The Sheraton Gateway Suites O'Hare.
Sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    277
    116
    50
    31
See reviews for
111
86
67
364
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We booked through Hotwire for a stay -- we wanted to be close to the airport so it worked out good for location. We didn't mind it.

Agree with other reviewers -- the airport shuttle was slow and took a long time to come if you missed it exactly -- we missed one by 2 minutes at the airport and had to wait 28 mins for one to come back. Deifnitely not as convenient as some other hotels to get to/from airport.

The atrium is nice, looks like it used to be an Embassy Suites? Kids had fun in the glass elevators.

Room was good as it was a suite, it allowed us to put kids to bed and then go into the other room. They had a crib delivered to the room promptly. Overall the room was okay -- just your average suite room, clean but again, just nothing special. The bed was great though, soft king bed with lots of fluffy pillows.

The pool was really, really warm, which was nice at first, but then got too hot for comfort. It felt like a bath -- but at least they had a pool -- again, overall average. We ate room service due to a late arrival and not wanting to leave the room -- it was okay but typical of room service, overpriced. We didn't eat at the restaurant. In general, an average stay -- nothing horrible, but nothing that blew us away either.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

I've stayed in a few Sheratons in my lifetime and this by far is the worst Sheraton that is in desperate need of a makeover. My initial room smelled of smoke even though the hotel advertises that it is a non-smoking hotel.
The room is a bit filthy as there was some trash leftover from the last guests on the floor. The carpet looked mildewed and severely stained. The windowsill was peeling as was some of the paint on the walls.
The only saving grace was the bed which was HUGE and very comfortable with lots of pillows. There is also 2 large flat screen TVs as it is a suite, one in the living room and one in the bedroom.
I am thankful that I did not have to pay for staying here as the tab was picked up by the airlines due to a missed connection. If you are looking for a hotel close to the airport, do yourself a favor and find something else.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucidlilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Oh where do I begin? At the airport, we waited for the shuttle for 30 minutes while other hotel shuttles came by two or three times during that time period. The hotel is located close to the airport which is good, but 30 minutes to wait for a shuttle is unacceptable.

Once we got to the hotel, the check in was pretty fast. We got up to the suite and it seemed clean enough, but the housekeeping neglected to empty the recycling bin as it has stuff in it from the previous people who stayed in the suite. The suite next door had a empty glass sitting outside for the two days I was there and no one on the staff bothered to remove it from the hallway.

I got woken up twice between 1 and 2am due to drunks screaming at the top of their lungs while leaving the bar/club that is in the hotel. Who thought of the idea of having the entrance to a club/bar facing out to the same indoor courtyard as guest rooms? Other guests were opening their doors and yelling back out of disgust for being woken up.

Keep reading the reviews for other hotels and find a better spot to stay if you want to be in the O'Hare area. Next time I will do the same.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoastcyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

This would be a hotel I would choose if I had a layover, but not as a base to experience Chicago. Nice rooms, two LCD flat panel televisions, standard bathroom, refridgerator, nice bedding. As you check in, ask for breakfast coupons (even if your rate doesn't include breakfast) - you may get them - I did!

Parking $18 is expensive.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slckiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

It was just plain dirty. On arrival, there was an empty beer glass outside the door to our room, and there it stayed for 24 hours. The bathroom in our suite had visible dirt & hair--gross! There was no plastic bag with which to line the ice bucket, which I think is a fairly standard item. The pool area was completely gross, and the water was opaque. Ew! The hot tub had yellow caution tape wrapped around it on the 2nd night of our stay.

If you're willing to risk it, the rooms have a great setup for families. The entry room is a living area, separated from the sleeping area by the bathroom and a door which actually closes! Some suites are more of a studio-style, but these are better by far. I thought the decor was nicely up to date, with black & white photos of downtown Chicago. There is a free shuttle to O'Hare, from where you can grab the train into downtown. The hotel does charge you for parking, $18 per night.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kady_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We had a corner room on a high floor which allowed for interesting views of O'Hare Airport. Even though it is very close to the airport, we did not notice much airport noise. It seems as though the hotel is solidly built. If you wanted to use wireless internet in your room, there was a charge of $4.95 per day. The parking fee was $15 per day with in and out privileges. So keep these charges in mind when considering the hotel's rates. There are other hotels across the street that had nice restaurants (i.e. Harry Caray's Italian Steakhouse).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rosemont hotels
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
1.6 mi away
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
#15 of 18 in Rosemont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/O'Hare Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel

Property: Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel
Address: 6501 Mannheim Rd, Rosemont, IL 60018-3627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#8 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#8 Family Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel is in Rosemont, IL. Free shuttle service and park and fly packages are available. Stephens Convention Center, Allstate Arena and Rosemont Theatre are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Rosemont
Rosemont Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing