We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How comfortable are those beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“How comfortable are those beds!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Ended up on a long layover at O'hare and booked a room through hotwire. How lucky was I to end up at the Crown Plaza. Beautiful room, brilliantly quiet, and the most amazingly comfortable beds I think I've ever slept in. Clean rooms, friendly service, and they offered a free shuttle to the airport, to boot. I might have to plan all my layovers in Chicago just to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrawTheLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    425
    202
    60
    48
See reviews for
188
217
84
462
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I had gone to Chicago to visit my daughter for Thanksgiving Weekend 2011. My girlfriend joined me on Friday the 25th of November. Because hotel parking was so expensive, she parked at the garage at the Rosemont CTA Blue Line Train, and we used the CTA to travel to/from downtown. The hotel did not provide a shuttle to/from the Blue Line unless we were to travel to O'Hare Airport and then shuttle back, which might add 45 minutes to our trip. So, we chose to walk to/from the Blue Line.
After a day with my daughter, we went back to the Hotel around 10:30 pm, and walked back to the Hotel in the pouring rain, about 3/4 mile. As we left the sidewalk for the Hotel doors, a shuttle van pulled in. The headlights were blinding, and he had stopped, and we walked around the van. Rather than waiting a moment for us to pass, without signaling, the van made a hard right turn in to a parking space. The tail-swing of the bus struck me on the left arm, and almost knocked me down. I was not badly hurt, as much as I was shocked. I did not want a confrontation in the pouring rain, and so we went on to the hotel lobby. Unfortunately, there was no one at the bell stand, and the lobby was packed with people checking in. I was tired and wet, and did not wish to wait in the long line to lodge my complaint, as so we retired for the evening, and I planned to chat with Hotel staff in the morning.
The next morning as we checked out, I reported the incident to Mr. Tse Lam. He asked if I needed a doctor, and I told his that while I was bruised, it was not serious. But I was more concerned that this driver needed more training in safety and driving procedures. He gave me his card, and I promised to send him an email in detail, which I did.
I sent a detailed email which went unanswered for 2 weeks. He finally answered and apologized for the delay as he went on vacation. But everyone the Hotel questioned, denied the incident, and so he denied it as well. I asked him why he didn't request to interview my girlfriend. He did not respond.
I did not ask for anything. No refund. No free stay. Nothing! I only wanted them to address the issue with the driver and get him/her additional safety training. Had there been small children involved, the outcome could have been very different. I am amazed at the lack of follow-up, and quick dismissal of the incident. Maybe I should have called the Rosemont Police and made a loud issue in a crowded lobby.
I thought Crowne Plaza was better than this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crashvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPOHotel, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
I have reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay and thank you for providing feedback to us. I would like to apologize for the poor follow up on this matter. I want to assure you that it is our standard to get back to all our customers in a timely manner and I am sorry that this did not happen in your case. I have spoken with the entire management team about this. We are hopeful that you would consider giving the hotel another opportunity to demonstrate our ongoing commitment to providing exceptional service. I would really appreciate speaking to you directly about your experience and will be contacting you at the email address you provided.

Sincerely,

Cher Jacobsen
General Manager
(847) 928-3700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I chose this location because they were boasting free parking while I was away on vacation up to 14 days If I stayed 1 night. Not only was the hotel very nice, it was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. How can you beat staying less than 10 minutes from the airport the night before your flight and being able to leave your car. You get shuttled to and from quick and easily and no airport noise in your room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kschlenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

You can't really go wrong with any hotel in the O'Hare area, and the Crowne is no exception. We were layed over for a flight cancellation, so my review is very quick. Got in very late, check in was fast and friendly. Hotel is very clean, rooms modern and very nice. I was happy with how quiet it was, although do know that this a PET FRIENDLY hotel. We heard a couple of dogs briefly but was dead quiet after that.

Great pizza place close by that will deliver.

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sufusimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel when using rewards points. Overall, we had an excellent stay. The staff was quite friendly and accommodating. Additionally, the hotel's rooms have been updated quite nicely. The room was both comfortable and stylish. Everything was just right for a fun weekend trip into Chicago.

In the restaurant on the first floor, the brunch buffet was delicious, and we would recommend the brunch buffet.

We don't have anything negative to mention about the hotel, with the exception of the price of parking for hotel guests. $23 per night for regular outdoor parking (non-valet parking) seems a little steep for parking at a suburban hotel, especially when some of the downtown Chicago hotels have valet parking for about $25 per night. Other than the price of parking, everything was great, particularly the great rooms, which were renovated quite well.

Room Tip: The views of the City are pretty good from the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We missed our connecting flight out of O'Hare and the airline comped us a room here. Like most hotels around an airport, it's an overflow, crash pad for the airlines. We only stayed here for a few hours to catch a little sleep before our morning flight.

The property looks as if it was renovated recently, was clean, and comfortable enough.

The interior decorations have a boutique hotel aesthetic to them (lots of muted colors, European inspired furnishings) but not many luxury accoutrements. I like the eco-friendly touches, such as LED lighting and free filtered tap water. The latter is available in the vending room.

We didn't get to try out the wifi, any of the food offerings, or anything else other than the bed and shower.

As for connecting to the airport, the shuttle in the early morning fills up quickly so get there early and be prepared to stand if you're on a flight at a peak time. The ride however lasts less than five minutes to Terminal 1.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here as a Park and stay at a decent rate. Room was nothing special but were staying here more for the parking. Shuttle to Airport was great as is the case with most hotels in the area. The problem was with the shuttle back to the hotel. We were told by both the front desk and the shuttle driver that we did not need to contact the hotel for our pickup. WRONG. After we waited 30 min we taled with a shuttle driver from a competing hotel and were told that we needed to contact the hotel to be picked up. All in all we had to wait 60 min for pickup meanwhile we saw shuttles from competing hotels come by at least 3 times in that period.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiscMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rosemont hotels
0.2 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
0.1 mi away
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
#15 of 18 in Rosemont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
#7 of 18 in Rosemont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare

Property: Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
Address: 5440 N River Rd, Rosemont, IL 60018-5232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#6 Family Hotel in Rosemont
#9 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the BRAND NEW, Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare. With newly renovated guest rooms and suites, ballrooms, meeting rooms, restaurant, and common areas, our full-service hotel delivers BRAND NEW comforts, along with attentive service and a variety of amenities. Perfect for the business and leisure traveler, all just minutes from O'Hare and steps away from the Donald Stevens Convention Center and Rosemont Theater. BRAND NEW GUEST ROOMS AND SUITES - All 503 of the hotels guest rooms have been completely re-styled and are eco-friendly. The rooms are decorated with a delightfully rich design that is classic and comfortable. All of the furniture is custom made with the best materials and crafted by the finest of experts. Dining is delectable and close at hand. Choices include dining at Chicago Fire Oven, a full service restaurant which offers specialty sandwiches, salads, pizzas and burgers, grab a bite at On the Fly, offering a variety of breakfast pastries, salads and sandwiches, or relax at our Visibility Bar, enjoying specialty pizzas with 10 beers on tap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chicago o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Crowne Plaza Rosemont
Crowne Plaza Hotel Rosemont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing