We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hockey, basketball & Some Concerts” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allstate Arena

Allstate Arena
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Rosemont
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hockey, basketball & Some Concerts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I live nearby so I've been to several events at Allstate Arena. For hockey, you are really up close and the views are good. Ditto for basketball or bull riding. For rock concerts it is again fairly intimate and if the act has energy the show will knock your socks off. For a classical concert, even though you can be up close, the venue doesn't work nearly as well. The acoustics aren't that good, the seating, ventilation and bathroom facilities are all second rate.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJ_Hantsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    92
    78
    25
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Same Old, Same Old”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Been coming to the Allstate for years for concerts and sporting events, For whatever reason, the ladies bathrooms consistently have the same non-operating hand dryers from year to year. The broken hand dryers gets fixed and within a week it is out of order and stays that way for the rest of the year.

Rosemont spent a lot of money over the past few years to build more bars and food counters in the lobby areas. What will it take for Rosemont to spend some money to make the bathrooms (men and women) more accommodating for its patrons?

BTW, I looked on the website for the Allstate Arena and am not able to find information on how to report is problem via the website. Appears I have to call Rosemont and talk to them about this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank teri0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
240 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Okay Place for a Concert”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Okay so it is true that the seats are too small and it is warm inside, it is also true the way they park you is ridiculous. (4 deep) I do not think the acoustics are that bad. Now that could be because the Eagles probably sound good playing in a tin can. But what the heck, you are there to see whatever, be patient and enjoy why you are there. If you let the little things bug you there is no way you'll enjoy the money you spent. The Eagles are fantastic!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skibby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin, Usa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average place with great acts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Strangely enough, this modestly sized sports arena has ended up hosting a lot of rock and roll concerts that I have really loved. Great performers just seem to want to come to venues of this kind for smaller audiences/ability to sell out an arena. And most seem to get the audio just right, making this a place to see a great show, but not a great place to see a great show. The best part of this place is just that: good acts go there at decent prices. And although it is in relatively decent condition, and they keep it very clean (at least they did for Foo Fighters, Oasis, Weezer, and the Australian Pink Floyd show), the worst of it is that it still feels/looks like the poor kid on the block, with his hand-me-down clothes, three sizes too big. It's like they built the arena with so much more in mind and it limps along trying to keep up with larger places like the United Center. For example, the restrooms were either 1. Too small or 2. Big and weird and winding (fully modern, though) and the concessions seemed to be too small for the amount of people going to them. One food service worker was telling us how bad he had it working that night, getting a cut of what people spent on concessions, as if it was our fault. Also, some of the stair ways are blocked off so they cannot be used, which may cut down on cleaning costs, but sure gets on one's nerves if one goes up and down the stairs for things like concessions and restrooms. Worse, in the sides of the stair wells are trays and stainless steel carts for food processing, stored there, disused (poor kid on the block). Also, there is a lot of movement of people from the inner arena to the outer halls through not very many isles, putting those leaving directly in the view of those seated (sometimes for 25 minutes). Better crowd management is needed. Parking is cheap, but takes FOR-FRICKIN-EVER to leave if one doesn't go the road less traveled and work backward to get out of Chicago. It's not by any means a first class arena, but it isn't terrible either. There's nothing wrong with being the poor kid on the block, but don't go into the place and pretend (or portend) that it's not and you will probably have a better time of it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Allstate Arena”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is a nice facility. In the past I went there to see the Chicago Wolves Hockey game. I saw the Rodeo events, I shopped at the flee market that they have every Sunday (in the parking lot), and I saw the truck and tractor pulls that they had there. The City of Rosemont seems to do a good job with the traffic both before and after the event. But even though make sure that you get there early. All in all the arena is versatile as it offers many events for people to enjoy. I am looking forward to seeing many more events at the Allstate arena.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank alfie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allstate Arena also viewed

 

Been to Allstate Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing