We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lamb Chops”
Review of Rosewood Restaurant - CLOSED

Rosewood Restaurant
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: River Road
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lamb Chops”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have been going here for years and always have a great meal and service. The Lamb Chops are my favorite! The chops are encrusted with pistachio nuts (not over whelming) nicely done.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    39
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent pick for business meal”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was charged with picking a place to eat after my team and I all arrived from the airport. The appestisers seemed quit pricey - $16+ for 4 coconut shrimp and something like $18 for a crabcake. All four of us had excellant meals though - I had the Grouper, the boss had the Scallops, there was a sea bass and veal scallopini ordered. Two bottles of red wine (them), two glasses reisling (me), and 2 free desserts because the waitress stated my fish wasn't to their satisfaction and everything was sent back. The white chocolate mousse cake was fantastic and the apple purse had my colleague humming. I would recommend this restaurant. Once complaint was that the room did seem exceptionally noisy. There were two very large tables of guests though - one looked to be a birthday and the other might have been a business meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flummery_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old school Steak house does it all the y way it should be!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Rosewood is a classic gem! We travel to Chicago one a year to attend a trade show . So many more choices in the Rosemont area Rosewood stands tall. Slip back in time to a cool steak house. Meat is to die for salads are super yummy. Classic sides are very good.
I believe the jewel in the crown is the wine selection you can pick up an exquisite bottle for the most reasonable price out there.
Rosewood we love you don't change!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SF_Bulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Level Contributor
120 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had never even heard of the Rosewood even though it has been serving great food there for years. I understand it is a very hot spot for the business lunch crowd. I went with my wife and met another couple, he is a steak man only no fish etc. He loved it, cooked perfectly, great flavor the peppercorn sauce was superb. I tried it he was right. I had Halibut it was great my wife had a filet also great. The appetizers and salads were also very tasty, the prosciutto wrapped baked mozzarella cheese was good but a bit much my friend ordered it by accident. You will leave her full I guarantee you that, your wallet will be a little lighter dinner for 4 was $540 with the tip but our wine alone was $170 for 2 bottles but they were both perfect. I will definitely return but this time for a steak.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant near O'Hare Airport”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

-location: short walk from either the Marriott Suites or Westin at O'Hare airport
-Greeted by an exceptionally friendly host.
-Service was quick and friendly
-Bread is crispy white or raisan-pumpernickel
-I asked for olive oil instead of the butter
-2 specials on the menu were grilled baby octopus on a bed of spinach, tomatoes, and mushrooms (so much better than fried octopus)
-the other special was the special cut, thick lamb chop, exceptional quality
-the teas were infusions and I love the melon-white tea
-an exceptional dessert was the apple purse which is fillet dough wrapped around succulent apples
-my friend loved his sea bass on a bed of vegetables
-the wine selection was superb
-this gourmet restaurant could successfully challenge some of the great downtown restaurants in Chicago!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosewood Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing