We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Grove Restaurant - CLOSED

Pine Grove Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good continental breakfast. The waitress was good and entertaining.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AdarshPrabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    32
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
368 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“GOOD PLACE JUST TO MEET”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I used to go to the Pine Grove a lot, but not lately. Business contacts have changed.

It did not seem to have as large a luncheon crowd as I remembered but the food is still good and the COFFEE was the best I have had in a LONG time at any restaurant or hotel. Really - the coffee was excellent.

Met up with a long-time colleague and had a relaxing discussion where there was not the constant noise you hear at some restaurants. The decor is ok and maybe a little tired, but for a good place to meet up and talk business and not spend an arm and leg - This is the place because it's easy to find. (Mannheim and Higgins)

A good midway point between downtown and the NW suburbs.

Great for breakfast or lunch. Yeah - it's not a Carlucci's or a Cafe La Cave, but just to meet up and discuss business low-key at breakfast or even lunch save some dough and go here. Their coffee was great.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PROF_CONSULTANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, simple food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Excellent service and good basic food. Was happy to have it close by!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“BEST WESTERN Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed at the Best Western next door and went here for the complementary continental breakfast. Everything I needed was available. The place was clean and nice.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SaturdaySoftware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I don't know if it was because we arrived at nearly 8pm, but it was not a great experience. The food was OK, not a great range, but the waiter was a little too busy chatting up another customer to really deal with us. Given we had just flown in, I think really just wanted to eat and get back to our hotel quickly, this lack of attention did not help.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank InfrequentFlyer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing