We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak, so-so on everything else”

Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 85 Restaurants in Rosemont
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Williams
Transit: Blue Line CTA
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great steak, so-so on everything else”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

While the steak here was wonderful, there were some issues with the other dishes - the broccoli was undercooked (and was taken off of our bill), and the burger came in such a small bun it was difficult to eat. Was quite strange for a US restaurant to serve on such small plates.

But, as I say, the steaks were excellent, if quite pricey, and we were given a free dessert due to the broccoli. However, compared to some other steakhouses this didn't quite measure up

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    246
    61
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks and wine very close to O'Hare International”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Went to Gibson's for a Corp. dinner and had a great time. I was very surprise to see they have Halo wine (excellent)! The signature steak is their Gibson's cut which has it's own unique prime cut grade and is "amazing"! If you decide to go for a dessert make sure you plan on sharing as they are so big you can't possible eat it by yourself. Service is excellent, food is excellent and drinks are top notch. Highly recommend Gibsons for special occasions or just a great night out for steaks and wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rrredford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Good place to get dinner while you're staying at the Doubletree or are in the area for a convention. The steak was flavorful and prepared exactly as I requested (medium rare).

The only negative is that I dined solo and the waiter was not incredibly attentive. They were very busy during the time I went but that's no excuse why I had to wait so long to even get a menu or to get my order.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“very reliable”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I come to Chicago on Business 6 times a year.When I am at the Rosemont convention center , I have lunch there every day and usually dinner at least once . Food is very good,service is sometimes spotty ,but I always come back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelLikeaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gibsons”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Always a favorite. My husband eats here almost weekly because the foos is so good. The waitstaff is very well trained and knowledgeable. Much better than most of the other well-know steak houses.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelisBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing