We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Blast!!!”

Hofbrauhaus Chicago
Reserve with OpenTable
Hofbrauhaus Chicago is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 85 Restaurants in Rosemont
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: River Road
Description: Hofbrauhaus Chicago is the first and only German micro brewery, beer hall, restaurant and beer garden to call Chicago home. Modeled after the legendary Hofbrauhaus in Munich, Germany, it takes pride giving you an experience as authentic and unforgettable as the 400-year-old original. Guests can savor schnitzels, sausages, Sauerbraten and pretzels, and some ingredients are even imported from abroad. The freshly brewed beer follows the purity law from 1516 using original recipes handed down by the Duke of Bavaria over 400 years ago. With its beer hall (Schwemme), King Ludwig Room, and Biergarten in summer, it's Oktoberfest every day. Hofbrauhaus Chicago also features live music nightly with bands from Germany and Austria. In addition, you can take a piece of Bavaria home from the gift shop stocked with authentic and unique Bavarian gifts & collectibles.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Had a Blast!!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a very unique bar. Went here this past Saturday night with a few friends and we had a great time. We went after the Rodeo at the Allstate Arena and surprisingly had no trouble getting a table. They have 8, 16, and 32 ounce beers and a choice of about 4-5 different types of beer. This was my first time here and I highly recommend checking out the Hofbrauhaus in Rosemont.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    249
    125
    71
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheesey Good Fun”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

If you have not been to the Hofbrauhaus in Rosemont before, then you should definitely put it on your to do list. I would STRONGLY recommend that your first trip to this place NOT be during peak hours, like a Friday or Saturday night. The roads around this section of Rosemont are crazy stupid and so is traffic. You will get confused, and turned around and perhaps lost, so if you try to find this place for the first time on a Friday or Saturday night, when traffic is crazy stupid, then good luck. Your patience will be tested. Valet parking starts at 4:00 so for your first trip, plan on arriving at 3:30 PM and save yourself $7.00 for valet and the whole crazy roads, crazy traffic, where the ?&$@/%<|€ am I thing.

The Movieco and outdoor ice skating rink are right there next to this place. I mean right next to this place, not two or three blocks away, so dudes who can skate, bring your Bauers and impress your date with your mad skating skills, then grab some German food at beer at Hofbrauhaus.

Read the other reviews, but what I didn't see in any of the other reviews was that this place will hold about 6,000 people. I counted tables and multiplied by eight (seats/table), then added for the bar. That's neither good, nor bad, but it will help set expectations for the food, which is good, but could be much better if they weren't such a mass production type place.

I also would like to say that my party of eight arrived at 5:30 PM on a Saturday and we were seated right away. The Cheesey band was already playing and with the exception of a few 15 minute breaks, played until we departed at around 8:00 PM. I read other reviews about wait staff not being good but our waitress did a great job. We weren't rushed one bit and we kept ordering things, like beer and hot spiced wine, one or two at a time. She provided prompt service throughout the night.

The last thing I will comment on is the band, which all good beer halls should have. And let's face it, this place is a beer hall, with food, and large screen TVs. The band brings this place alive. Without it, it's just a giant beer hall, but with it, it's got a sense of community of sorts when you look around and see thousands of beer steins hoisted and swaying to the music. Two of the band members were Latino, but who cares about that after a few steins of Hofbrauhaus beer. No Bud or Miller products, just Hofbrauhaus beer. Amen.

Peace.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GJNGJNGJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Skip It”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The location and the building, which somebody obviously poured a lot of money into, are outstanding. Trouble is, they want you to quickly help them pay for it. Mediocre, tasteless, expensive beer, bland food, marginal service, very loud atmosphere in which its hard to hear your friends across the table. We visited twice- once with a group of 8, and without even having that much, our tab was over $700! I simply love parent company's Hofbrau Octoberfest beer, in bottles, widely available every fall. But they only carry it in September and October in the restaurant- the rest of the time they've got some weakened form of 4-5 homebrews, nothing else, that they charge nearly $8 each for. A friend and I went for lunch- 2 beers each and one large but cold pretzel, with an extra charge for the mustard, our tab was $41. Then if you charge it, they have the nerve to tack on another 2.5%. Group of 6 or more? Add 21%. All tabs- special city restaurant tax plus sales tax totals 11.5%. The only people who will like this place are those who have odd tastes in beer and are on an expense account. I simply won't go to businesses who charge you extra to use your credit card.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheIsleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should have stayed home”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

After waiting 20 minutes for a waiter to come we were about to leave when the waiter did come over and assure us that we would have a great diner and a great time. When we got our $14 pretzel it was cold and hard as a rock so much for freshly baked. My wifes mashed potatos were cold also. Then when we left we were harassed by the valet parking kid aparently before 5 there is open parking and after 5 it is for the valet parking we were parked at 4. Cold food and poor service and being harassed I will never go back. The Bavarian House in Lilse is much better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The great things about HB, tempered”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Having recently returned from Germany and with some time to spare near O'Hare airport (to pick up someone), we saw it from I294 and jumped at the chance to try another HB. After exiting, it took multiple twists and turns to get back close to it. We eventually saw $7 valet parking, but wanted self-park so drove some more to enter a garage for the 'entertainment area' that had virtually no signs to guide us. Saw a $13 a day sign AT THE EXIT as we begged to get out right after entering - when we were told HB would validate. Parked and walked aimlessly a long way (again no signs) in the freezing cold of the garage and then outside and past the skating rink until we spotted HB again. We were seated at a picnic bench with others. Slow service due to our sever just getting a large party table, but he tried not to let us go too long without proper attention. Ordered one soup, beer, pop, one entree and bread (yes, it costs) - for a total bill of $43.53. This was more expensive than the not-cheap HB Hamburg we visited a few weeks prior. The food was very good, but you could go broke frequenting this place. Live music was great - including accordion music and standing on bench chairs to sing along. People seemed to be having a lot of fun. Large seating area with a traditional beer hall atmosphere, big screen TVs and a suburban Chicago wait staff that reminded you that you were not in Germany (ironically, as pictured on those big screens). If you have not been to an HB go at least once! Just save up.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenJohn316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hofbrauhaus Chicago also viewed

 

Been to Hofbrauhaus Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing