We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nicer O'hare airport hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nicer O'hare airport hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are nicely sound-proofed against the airplane noise. We booked a regular room, but were given a small suite. The furniture was nice, and everything was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The shuttle service from O'hare was quick and we did not have to wait long. The personal at check-in were quick and helpful. The soap and shampoo were of nice quality. The bathroom was very clean, but a bit small given how nice the rest of the room was.

  • Liked — Convenient, clean, nice
  • Disliked — charge for wireless internet, no valet parking
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth_C95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    799
    330
    142
    81
See reviews for
303
334
183
1,113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

There's not much to say about this hotel, we were there for 14 hours in between flights from O'Hare. It is about 5-10 minutes from the airport by free hotel shuttle and it runs 24 hours a day every 30 minutes or so.

We we're in a corner room in Hyatt Passport wing, the room seem above average in size, but the bathroom was smaller then my hall closet. We also had an extra minifridge by the door, the one in the room was full of for pay amenities.

Room was clean had a balcony and a view of the distant city. The hotel seems quit large and had 2 or 3 places to eat, we didn't try them (they we're quite expensive). In fact we just had pizza delivered cause the weather was so awful. Although it did not appear that there was much close buy, but I believe there is a mall close by and you can take the "L" into town, but have to take the shuttle back to ORD to catch it.

According to staff the hotel is under renovation and all that is complete so far is lobby which looks nice, rooms are in the process, and we were not in a remodeled one.

If the price is right I will stay here again.

  • Liked — Great rate
  • Disliked — TINY Bathroom
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkaradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

Great stay at Hyatt Regency O'Hare. From the moment I boarded the complimentary airport shuttle the hotel's staff excelled. The employees took pride in their jobs and it showed.

Clean, efficient guest room with fast wireless internet. Shower had great water pressure and bedroom had the comfortable Hyatt Grand Bed. My room still had a box TV, but I was told by April 2009, all guestrooms will be completely refurbished including a flat screen upgrade.

Ate a decent dinner and breakfast at OH's restaurant where again the service was spot on.

High marks to the management at this property. I'll definitely be staying here on my return trips.

  • Liked — Gracious service and proximity to O'Hare airport
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank baliben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We decided to stay at this hotel on a spur of the moment decision as we were flying out of O'Hare the next day and wanted to stay close to the airport. I had stayed here 30 years ago, when the hotel was new, and remembered it as a nice spot.

When we pulled up to the front in our car, it was very quiet. I went in, to enter into a large, cavernous space with no signage whatsoever. In front of that were stairs and escalators going up so I assumed that something (hopefully the front desk) was there. As I came up the escalators I found a lobby that reminds me of Picasso: although I can appreciate it, it definitely is NOT my taste....ultra modern with some throwbacks to almost the early 60's decor. I found it cold and impersonal. Probably in part because there were so few people around.

I waited in line for nearly 15 minutes before I was helped - although there were only 2 parties in front of me, there was just one desk clerk on duty and the other parties had issues beyond normal check-in procedures. Finally another front office staff member came to help me - he was very helpful and personable. I inquired as to room availability and got a great rate of just $89/nite. Unfortunately, it was disappointing to learn that in order to get a discount as a AAA member the hotel's policy is that it has to be booked through AAA, something of which I have never heard before.

The room was interesting. The decor was quite modern with granite counter in the bathroom, yet at the same time the toilet was the kind without a water tank and the handle connected directly to the pipes, the kind that you would see in old public bathrooms. The tub was very small, as was the entire bathroom. The amenities in the bathroom, however, were nice.

The room decor was obviously newer, and the beds were very comfortable. The sheets were soft, but a big disappoitnment is that the Hyatt has chosen to use a flat sheet (not a fitted sheet) for the bottom sheet on the beds, which results in the bottom sheet coming untucked during the night and making for an uncomfortable sleep.

Also, you have to pay for wi-fi, something that is for me unheard of in a hotel with the reputation of being a Hyatt.

We had dinner in the lobby restaurant. We were greeted and seated promptly, and the service was excellent: attentive without being intrusive. Dinner was very tasty and well presented, although a bit pricey. Decor here was a funky modern, echoing the lobby.

Checkout the next morning was fast and very professional. When I complained about wifi not being free the front desk member apologized and removed the charge from my bill, something that I did not at all expect but certainly reflects the way that I remember Hyatt staff handling matters like this professionally in the past.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Maks37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

We stayed in Hyatt for one night between flights and I truly cannot fault this place. OK, so it wasn't the most luxurious 4-star hotel I've ever stayed in, but it certainly met all of our needs for the short stay.
Rooms were clean and comfortable, especially the beds, the hotel itself was quiet and the staff was friendly and helpful. Plus, there's a free shuttle to and from airport.
The only thing I would maybe find little faults with was the bathroom, which wasn't exactly up to the 4-star standards that I've seen in Europe. But it was clean and served its purpose, so can't really complain about that either.
I wouldn't perhaps stay in Hyatt Regency O'Hare for a week's holiday, but for a short stay between the flights (especially for the tiny price we paid for it - £30) it was an excellent choice and I do recommend it.

  • Liked — The beds in the room were so comfy.
  • Disliked — The bathroom could have been a little better.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Applefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

My wife and I needed a place to stay the night before a departing flight from O'Hare. I bid for a 4-star on Pricelene and I got the Hyatt. The room is really not 4-star by most current standards. For example, the Hyatt Place is about 2 notches up from this place. I have to say, this was probably a 4-star in 2005, but not anymore. Personally, the last time I stayed in a room this small was on a cruise ship! I am not kidding when I estimate the square footage of our king room at about 160 Sq. Ft. The room entrance is on an angle and the suitcase barely fit past the dresser. Also, in a 4-star hotel I would expect an LCD TV and the TV was one of those old tube kind... yawn. The carpet appears worn and the room decor is flat. I am glad I am only here for the night. Oh, did I mention, that our room has a view of a concrete wall? Room 201, do yourself a favor and don't check it out. Another thing, self-parking is $20. The $20 is in addition to the amount I paid on Priceline. Onions to Priceline for not telling me about the parking fee while booking. Anyway, I needed a fridge and that cost me another $20. The beds are...well...imagine if you took a mattress pad and put it on a bed in a budget motel and voila! that is exactly what you get at the Hyatt Ohare. I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel. Lastly, good luck finding this place. Had it not been for my GPS I NEVER would have found it! Good travelling....

  • Liked — Nice bar of soap.
  • Disliked — Decor, cleanliness, room configuration, amenities, bed, bathroom, etc...
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
179 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

Personal disclosure: I don't really like huge, convention/airport hotels. So, as far as they go, this is probably a pretty good one. We stayed at the O'Hare Hyatt with a group to attend a Northwestern - OSU game. We had a view of a highway clover leaf. It would have been better if the hotel had been configured to have atrium views/balconies, which has an interesting wheel and spoke design. The hotel was clean and had all the amenities that you'd expect from a hotel of this level. One exception -- the shower was substandard and noisy. The hotel's remote location from other eating options puts you at a disadvantage if you don't favor the $24 breakfast buffet.

  • Liked — Interesting design elements
  • Disliked — Size and location in the middle of no where
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Keithcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosemont
0.5 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Westin O'Hare
The Westin O'Hare
#3 of 18 in Rosemont
4.0 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Rosemont / Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Property: Hyatt Regency O'Hare
Address: 9300 Bryn Mawr Ave, Rosemont, IL 60018-5238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rosemont
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#7 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#7 Family Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency O'Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 1101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an iconic O’Hare airport hotel with cutting-edge design and dramatically transformed public space and guestrooms. Groups of all sizes appreciate the grand venues offering innovative catering and unrivaled services at our hotel. Invite friends to join you for cocktails at the enticing Red Bar, or dine in the hip, contemporary O’H American Grill serving mouthwatering traditional American cuisine from around the country. Plush Hyatt Grand BedsTM, deluxe amenities and welcoming touches await you in the remodeled rooms of our exceptional hotel. Guests love our stunning lobby and sunny atrium, easy check-in service, friendly staff and bright, elegant rooms with contemporary décor and high-tech features. Warm yet classy, Hyatt Regency O’Hare boasts an impressive modern aesthetic that speaks to business and leisure travelers alike. With quick access to both O’Hare airport and downtown Chicago, Hyatt Regency O’Hare is the ideal accommodation for every visitor to the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Rosemont
Hyatt O'hare
Hyatt Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Ohare Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing