We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything costs extra!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Macomb, IL
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything costs extra!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The cost of the room was OK, but absolutely nothing came with it. Parking $22. Expensive on site restaurant. Car was hostage in garage, so could not explore area for food alternative. Maybe OK for folks on an expense account getting reimbursed. But no fun for leisure traveler.

Room Tip: No special rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringBreak-IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. The cost of our parking is the same and in most cases less expensive compared with the hotels in the area. We also do provide in and out privileges so guests can leave and come back as they please. Within walking distance from the hotel, is The Park at Rosemont, which provides several different restaurant options if a guest chooses not to eat at one of the three available outlets on property. Please let us know if you have further questions or concerns regarding your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    797
    330
    142
    81
See reviews for
303
333
183
1,113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My friends and I stayed here while visiting Chicago since we didn't want to pay downtown pricing. The hotel lobby is in a massive atrium that is overlooked by all of the interior corridors. Four central elevators transport visitors 10 floors skyward, but if you're not paying attention it is easy to get turned around due to the symmetrical nature of the layout.

The staff was super friendly and welcoming. There was a restaurant and a lounge on site, as well as a coffee shop on the lower level. The hotel was nice enough to give us a voucher for a free appetizer at the bar, which offered (among other things) fresh sushi. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and absolutely delicious, although at $18.95/person for the full spread, it comes in rather high. Our server went out of her way to ensure that we had eaten enough.

The room was clean and comfortable, though our balcony was closed due to "unscheduled" maintenance. This hotel does not have free WiFi, but our TV was internet enabled (which actually made figuring out how to just watch TV a bit of a process in itself).

The hotel has a free shuttle that runs to the airport, but if you travel light it is within walking distance of the Rosemont Blue Line stop. It is worth noting that a CTA ride into the city will take an hour out of your day. Overall we had a good experience with this hotel and it's staff, but with so many options in the area, we will most likely shop around on price a little more in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTCompKSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear that the staff was able to provide you authentic hospitality during your stay with us at Hyatt Regency O'Hare! To skip the CTA ride into the city, be sure to check out Rosemont's newest attractions, including a new shopping center, an entertainment area with a bowling alley, restaurants, a comedy club, and also a casino right down the road. We hope you have a flawless stay next trip and that we are able to host you and your friends again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I'm a Marriott guy, but the convention I'm attending is at the Hyatt. Lobby is incredibly nice. The service when I got here wasn't stellar. There was one person checking in with about 10 people in line, and they didnt flex up to handle the surge.

The layout of the hotel is unique and can be a little hard to navigate if you haven't been here before.

The rooms are small, but I guess you only sleep in them. It was a nice touch having the TV on with a personalized welcome message.

Overall, not too bad. I would expect nicer amenities and a larger room for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for the recent review! We agree that our lobby is outstanding due to all the fresh greenery and natural sun light. We apologize that the check in was not as quick as you would expect and that the size of our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. We hope that next time you are near O'Hare that you will stay with us again and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Be careful with this hotel as the convention center attracts all sorts. We needed a good night sleep before an early flight. Unfortunately, the Midwest Anime Comic Con was at the hotel. Teenagers and other loons dressed-up and running around, shouting and slamming doors all night long. The front desk staff tried to put us in a "quiet" room, but to no avail. Be sure to check the Hotel's calendar to see what's happening if you are going to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamlahund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. As you observed, Anime Central is a very large program that we hosted and we apologize that some of your experiences during this convention were not ideal. Please feel free to reach out to the hotel directly with further concerns about your stay with us and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence next time you stay in Rosemont!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
188 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I absolutely love this property. Nice size hotel with comfortable amenities. Nice clean room with extra comfortable bed. The property is well maintained and it shows. Service was friendly at check-in and check-out. Great breakfast buffet at the restaurant and the service there is amazing. I am already looking forward to go back there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J9257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the five star review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good hotel if you have a early morning flight and very close to the train. However, the hotel itself is dated! They put me up in a "executive room" which means you are in a different building from the atrium style building, far from anything. So, if you stay here, refuse to stay in that building. Overall, average to poor hotel I am sure there are better options near the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robtguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I apologize we were unable to meet your expectations. The current layout of our hotel is built on the idea of two "towers." We have 1,096 rooms in our hotel and they are split between both the main tower and the executive wing. Some of our guests prefer to stay in the executive wing because of its distance from the lobby. We hope that you stay with us again in the future so we can regain your confidence by finding you a room that better fits your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very nice staff and rooms in a hotel in good shape with some genuine architectural style for an airport hotel, but I was there for a convention that the hotel could not come close to accommodating. With nearly 5000 anime fans--all apparently living a carnival weekend and admittedly not especially well-behaved--the elevator wait was easily a half hour because the four lifts could only accommodate five people at a time, and the hotel staff that was patrolling the elevators' capacity were terribly rude. The hotel restaurants are decent but not especially innovative and predictably over-priced. The food the hotel offered to convention guests in a temporary buffet line had a 23% gratuity added for simply standing in line, just terribly excessive. Parking $22 a night, really too much. Nearly nothing is in walking distance except more hotels with similarly trapped conventioneers and people stranded from air travel, but the mass transit into Chicago is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattOHare, Manager at Hyatt Regency O'Hare, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the staff and architectural style of the hotel. As you observed, Anime Central is a very large program that we hosted and we apologize that some of your encounters with our staff during this convention were not ideal. For future reference, The MB Financial Park at Rosemont is located about three blocks west of the hotel and has a variety of restaurants and includes a movie theater, comedy club, and a bowling alley. Please give us a chance the next time you are in town so we can regain your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosemont
0.5 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Westin O'Hare
The Westin O'Hare
#3 of 18 in Rosemont
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Rosemont / Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency O'Hare

Property: Hyatt Regency O'Hare
Address: 9300 Bryn Mawr Ave, Rosemont, IL 60018-5238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Rosemont
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
#7 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#7 Family Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency O'Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 1101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an iconic O’Hare airport hotel with cutting-edge design and dramatically transformed public space and guestrooms. Groups of all sizes appreciate the grand venues offering innovative catering and unrivaled services at our hotel. Invite friends to join you for cocktails at the enticing Red Bar, or dine in the hip, contemporary O’H American Grill serving mouthwatering traditional American cuisine from around the country. Plush Hyatt Grand BedsTM, deluxe amenities and welcoming touches await you in the remodeled rooms of our exceptional hotel. Guests love our stunning lobby and sunny atrium, easy check-in service, friendly staff and bright, elegant rooms with contemporary décor and high-tech features. Warm yet classy, Hyatt Regency O’Hare boasts an impressive modern aesthetic that speaks to business and leisure travelers alike. With quick access to both O’Hare airport and downtown Chicago, Hyatt Regency O’Hare is the ideal accommodation for every visitor to the Windy City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Rosemont
Hyatt O'hare
Hyatt Rosemont
Hyatt Regency Ohare Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing