We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stranded overnight since O'Hare grounded our plane due to weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5460 N. River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
Certificate of Excellence
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stranded overnight since O'Hare grounded our plane due to weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were able to get a room quickly at about 9pm when the weather was bad enough to ground our flights until the next morning. Doubletree had a room for us and a shuttle to get us to and from the airport. They are a very clean hotel and we received our warm cookie at check in. I have stayed at this hotel before when flying out from O'Hare and will continue to use it again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    367
    140
    67
    28
See reviews for
155
138
82
585
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Firstly the good thing about this hotel - The bar and restaurant facilities are good. Great service and good fare.

My company uses this as the preferred hotel for staff when in Chicago. I arrived and tried to use my company credit card (with the logo on it) to check in. As this was my 3rd overseas trip in th month, it was declined. I had to wait in reception for 2 hours (with screaming jet lag) while my PA had my credit card limit increased .

Secondly I was put on the 2nd floor. There was a smell of smoke on this floor when I walked onto it. I went to sleep and woke up feeling sick and light of breath. I called to say that I was unhappy with my room as it was on a smoking floor "we don't have a smoking floor sir". OK I figured I had a rogue smoker int he room next to me.

Next night I went out to dinner and came back to the room. The hotel had air conditioning units and fans running on max (about 5 of them). I got into my room and it stank, all my clothes stank, my bed stank all of stale smoke.

I went to reception and STILL they said this was a non smoking hotel. I went to the bar and I spoke to some fellow resident and he told me the hotel is non smoking but they put them all on the 2nd floor.

OK so now my health has been put in danger and you are lying to me.

When I checked out I spoke to the manager and he was apologetic, which was nice as it was the only person in reception that was in danger of cracking a smile. They are the most miserable bunch you could come across. They make you feel sorry for them they are so pitifully sullen.

If you like having your health out at risk and being lied to by inept sour puss' then stay here, otherwise choose another hotel at the airport, I know I have done.

Room Tip: Tell them you don't want to stay on the smokers floor that isn't a smokers floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruby M, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
I am sorry to hear that we failed you during your stay here at the hotel. As you can read in previous reviews the customer service is one thing we really pride ourselves on. It is our goal to provide exceptional service to every guest, unfortunately it appears that we did not achieve that during your stay.

We value the loyalty of our all of our guests and always look to them to provide us with honest feedback.

Warmest Regards,
Ruby M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The only negatives in my opinion while staying at the double tree rosemont are that of their restaurant and drivers. The staff of the restaurant act as if they are doing you a favor. The food is so so. Breakfast is good but doesn't start until 7am and for early risers not being able to get a cup of joe to me is a big deal! Please fix and I will continue to use the hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wish4rs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I needed to get out of DC for the Inauguration, so my parents met me in Chicago for a long weekend. We opted for the Doubletree for several reasons: proximity to O'Hare Airport (where we were all landing), rate ($89 per night), proximity to public transport (walking distance to Rosemont "L" but can also take airport shuttle to airport to avoid the cold weather and take train from there), and the Hilton brand (I am a Diamond member.)

My room was upgraded to a nice corner room, and we all enjoyed the full breakfast buffet at no cost. The staff was very helpful, and we took advantage of the business center (FREE use of computers and printing), the fitness center, and the pool/whirlpool.

Our rooms had huge bathrooms, including showers which could comfortably accommodate 4-6 people (no, I did not try this.)

My only "complaint" was lunch at the hotel restaurant. Normally I don't eat at the hotel for lunch or dinner, but we were hungry after our trip and it was so cold out. So, we went to the hotel before we headed into the city. One of our orders was incorrect, and my soup was lukewarm (not hot.) The prices were to be expected of a hotel in a major conference area. But otherwise, I was pleased with the breakfast buffet each morning.

I highly recommend this hotel as an alternative to staying in the city.

Room Tip: If you are Diamond, ask for a corner room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisinnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When I checked in, the doorman was incredibly rude when I wanted to get valet service. It was not busy, there were no other cars waiting, but he igonored me for a long time and then left my car sitting in the valet area for 20 minutes. He also didn't want to give me a cart to take my luggage up saying too many people don't return them. Upon check in, I was given a room right across from the pool and the fitness center and next to the elevators. We got a TON of traffic. I asked to be switched, but was told there were not any other rooms (I checked in early, so I am not sure how I got stuck with that one) - the lady then went on to book a room on the phone for that night. I went out that evening for dinner and when I got back, the entire second floor reeked of marijuana. I am not talking just a little; I mean full contact buzz. It even reeked when I went into my room. I called the front desk to let them know, and they promised to deal with it. It was not dealt with because it smelled the same way ALL night and again the following evening. The bathroom shower looked like it had not been cleaned. The towels and sheets had stains on them, as well, So, my experience was NOT good. The only thing good about this place is it is close to the trains to take you in to downtown, it is close to the airport and it has a free shuttle to the casino if you are looking for something to do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruby M, Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
I would very much like the opportunity to personally apologize for the inconveniences that you went through during your stay. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.


All The Best,
Ruby M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inkster, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is situated in a great location, everything is with in walking distance!!! Ice skating, movie theatre, restaurants, bowling as well as convention center across the street. I would recommend this hotel and this area to anyone looking for a fun family outing in the Chicago area!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I travel frequently for business. I have stayed at other hotels in the O'hare area but I fell in love with the service at this location. The restaurant they had located in the hotel was very good. My room was very clean with plenty of room to lounge around relax after all day meetings. I'd recommend this hotel. Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyons s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosemont
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
0.3 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Rosemont / Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
#5 of 18 in Rosemont
4.0 of 5 stars 2,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
Address: 5460 N. River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rosemont
#5 Business Hotel in Rosemont
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree O'Hare Rosemont is located adjacent to the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center and five minutes from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) via our 24-hour complimentary hotel shuttle. Recently award 4 Diamond AAA rating. Hi-Spd Internet available in guest rooms for a nominal fee. Parking with in/out privileges: $20/day; Valet Parking: $28/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Rosemont
Rosemont Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing