We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Night for the Chef?”
Review of Cafe Zalute - CLOSED

Cafe Zalute
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: River Rd.
st. louis, mo area
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bad Night for the Chef?”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Because of the reviews we tried this mall restaurant. I has a decent decor, but that was about it. I had the veal limone dish and the veal was very overcooked. It was much like the way my mother used to cook veal. The polenta was pretty good. My husband had the pork chop which was also very much overcooked. It was a Thursday night and hardly anyone was there and the service was still slow. I don't know if it was an off night, but we will never go back there when we visit this part of town. I read oother reviews and thought we would have a great dinner. Very disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sueinil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Simply awful.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Went for a work event. Restaurant was empty with the exception of our group. Service was slow. Food was either over cooked or over salted. Owner gave off the vibe of a used car salesman. Save your money. There are literally 50 other nearby Italian restaurants that get it right. Oh yeah, even though gratuity was already added to the check, there was an additional line for gratuity on the receipt. How greedy is this place?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaManconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, nice place”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We liked everything we ordered, and among 8 of us, we ordered a lot. Basically an Italian menu, but steaks and chops too. Great waiters. I didn't see the tab- I don't think it was an inexpensive place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and a fun atmosphere”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I had a customer in town staying near O'Hare. this was a fun place which was not as snooty or priced as high as some of the convention places. I had the chicken and artichoke which was very good. the desserts are very large. We shared a Tiramisu and Bread Pudding for four people, and took pleny home. the only improvement is that the sign on Devon is broken.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chicagolouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible food and service”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My family and I visited this establishment for our Valentine dinner everything started out well our appetizers where great but our other courses where disgusting first we had lobster bisque soup which was served cold then after we recieved the soup hot it tasted like canned soup the so called lobster in the bisque was catfish do to the dirty aftertaste the double cut pork chop my wife had was nasty and tasteless and tough my son had the chicken alfredo was ok but a massive portion for a child I had the 10oz filet was burnt not charret and it was cooked unevenly some parts where medium some where rare the steak was supposed to be medium well and you will always have the feeling you're being watched because the wait staff will talk about you in plain sight which makes it very uncomfortable to sit and trying to enjoy. I would not recommended this establishment for dinner at all

Helpful?
Thank mocha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zalute also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing