We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Nothing Outstanding Very Average Stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“'Nothing Outstanding Very Average Stay"”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

My stay was good not great. I am a big fan of Customer Service. It was lacking here. No one really showed an interest in helping. Armando (?) was the only hotel staff I encountered who showed an "Genuine" interested when asked a question. Having said that the hotel is an normal Embassy Suite. The room was clean; bathroom a good size. Breakfast was average buffet. There is a business center on the first floor across from the front desk with free computer usage. Shuttle from airport to hotel, pick up is at door 3 downstairs at airport. Shuttle picks up and delivers to the Doubletree and Hilton also. The Doubletree is within walking distance. Cab ride to the airport is about $12-$15. On my next trip to chicago I will stay at the Hilton at the O'Hare Airport....less of an hassle. I realize I am a capitve with nothing around to do. But for a short stay for me it is ok! I have stayed there before.

Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Lady_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDTMGR, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Dear Traveling Lady:
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Embassy Suites O'Hare Rosemont. I am sorry that you did not receive outstanding service during your stay. We work hard to train our team members with great customer service skills and make them feel that they can do anything necessary to make the guest's experience the best. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future and let us show you a better experience!

Sincerely,
Amanda
Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    414
    247
    154
    76
See reviews for
353
162
57
577
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast US
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Pros: Close to O'Hare, great restaurants close by (and a really good one in the lobby), excellent free transportation from the airport, clean rooms, wonderful breakfast in the atrium, nice touches as a HH member.
Cons: A double bed (?); kind of dated in the rooms, inconsistent service from the front desk.

One note about the hotel restaurant. Not wanting to even walk across the parking lot to a Capital Grill, Mortons, or other excellent restaurants nearby, I decided to just eat in "Basils." It was really, really good. Service was wonderful and friendly (which is always great when you are away from home), the menu was quite varied, but the Pasta Dish I had was excellent. I really, really enjoyed it. If I was staying an additional night, I would have done it again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteelBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDTMGR, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Dear SteelBeach:
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you enjoyed Dinner at Basil's Kitchen. We are actually in the process of updating our restaurant menus this month, so we hope that you will return soon to try our new items.
Please always feel free to request to speak with a manager if we are not meeting your service needs. This is very important to us. We hope that you will choose our hotel on our next stay in Rosemont.

Sincerely,
Amanda Lynch
Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

BACKGROUND: We stayed here one night in September 2010 before going to Wrigley Field for a Cubs game the next afternoon. This location worked perfect for us. We got an excellent rate of $89 off the Hilton Honors website and the hotel was walking distance to public transportation for downtown Chicago.

CHECK-IN: On check-in, we were informed about the free happy hour drinks (5-7, I think), which were great. There wasn't a huge selection, but there was some variety in drinks and they had a crackers/pretzels type mix out for people to snack on too. The bartender was fast and very nice. They also had a waitress availabe to bring the drinks to your table, who was a sweatheart. They even gave us a drink to take back to our room when it was closing down. :)

We had originally wanted a smoking room, but the online website showed that room to be $50-$60 more than the regular room so decided to go outside to smoke. When checking in, I asked about the smoking rooms and, as there was one available, we were upgraded to this free of charge.

ROOM LOCATION: We actually think we ended up with one of the best locations in the hotel. Our room was on the second floor, which is where they serve free happy hour drinks in the evening and free breakfast in the morning. Although in an atrium setting, our room was off of the main area so noise was not too much of an issue with us. We only heard people in the hallway the following morning when it was busy with people running around to get to breakfast and to check out.

THE SUITE: The suite itself was very nice with two rooms including the bedroom and living room type of area that had a pull-out sofa, mini-fridge, microwave, table and chairs, sink, some kind of humidifer (? - maybe because it was a smoking room), etc. No one slept in that room, so I'm not sure how comfortable that was, but our bed was INCREDIBLE. We had a great night's sleep. The bathroom was kind of cramped and almost impossible for two people to be in there at the same time, but it was fine for what it was for. :) There were two tvs in the suite (one in each room), not flat screens, but not a big deal to us. There was also a door that separated the bedroom from the living room so this would be great if you did have someone sleeping in the other room.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast in the morning was very good. There was a made-to-order omelet station and a buffet setup that included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, apple pancakes (delicous), fresh fruit, cereal, muffins, breads, juices, coffee, etc. It was very very crowded when we went, but we just made up our plates and took them back to our room, which was great!

POOL AREA: This was the only area I was a bit disappointed with. Maybe we just went at a bad time, but the jacuzzi was very cold and the one person we did see in the pool said they were waiting to see if the jacuzzi would warm up because they were freezing in the pool. The jacuzzi water looked a bit cloudy and the whole area was freezing cold. Because of this, we never went in and just headed back up to our room to watch some movies for the night.

FITNESS CENTER: We never used this, but it looked pretty nice.

OVERALL: Friendly staff, location great for easy transport to downtown (although a bit long), great breakfast, wonderful happy hour, and very reasonable prices for Chicago area. You do have to pay $24 for parking, but that is pretty common for the area. I would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawni_and_Buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDTMGR, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Dear shawnmarie01:
Thank you so much for your posting of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much last month. We will definitely review your comments about the whirlpool with our Engineering staff. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you travel to Chicago. Thank you again for your positive comments.

Sincerely,
Amanda Lynch
Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Very disappointed with this embassy suites. Rooms outdated, internet slow and poor service. There are many better options for the price in Schaumburg.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamiecakes1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosemont hotels

Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Three moms took our 16 year old daughters to a concert at the Rosemont Theater. The Embassy Suites was just a short block away. The hotel worked well - clean rooms, plenty of space and a delicious breakfast included in the stay. Although I hate to pay for parking, it is expected in Chicago! The hotel was also convenient to restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2010

As a part of my work, I need to travel couple of time a year to Chicago. Once I have been booked by my company to this hotel. I like the hote and surroundings

The reasons are –

• Well placed location
• Far from workplace but its OK for me
• car parking
• Rooms are big in size
• Rates are reasonable
• Breakfast is good, various options are available
• Near by restaurant, where you can go for dinner in the evening / night
• Overall safe place
• Friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prag-Het
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Hotel stays busy with the convention center and the rooms take a pounding from the high occupancies. It shows it .

Daily breakfast, it was either lukewarm under cooked eggs or they had sat so long they were solid masses floating in liquid. Asked for Scramble eggs at the counter was told only in the buffet line. Liquid Concentrated coffee (yuk). Maid used a wash cloth on the used drinking glasses, as she left orange swirl marks from the airborne I drank from the glass...

Front Desk Staff was very nice and the Housekeeping supervisor was very nice as well.
May try the Hilton Garden Inn next time. The Doubletree next door is run by the same group.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rosemont hotels
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
0.1 mi away
Hilton Rosemont / Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
0.2 mi away
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
#15 of 18 in Rosemont
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont
Address: 5500 N. River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018-5230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Embassy Suites O'Hare Rosemont is located adjacent to the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center and five minutes from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) via our complimentary hotel shuttle (4am-12am). Located within walking distance from MBFinancial Park and Fashion Outlets of Chicago. Our hotel is a full service all suite airport hotel providing outstanding newly renovated accommodations and amenities to business and leisure travelers in the Chicago and Rosemont, Illinois area. Hi-Spd Internet available in guest rooms and public area for a nominal fee. Self Parking: $26/day; Valet Parking: $30/day. We do not offer a shuttle to Allstate Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago o`Hare Rosemont Hotel Rosemont
Embassy Suites Rosemont
Rosemont Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing