We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embassy Suites Rosemont Chicago - More bad than good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Embassy Suites Rosemont Chicago - More bad than good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Pros - Saved us money only because it's cheaper than the hotels downtown. The guy cooking the omelets in the morning was outstanding. The pool was good enough for the kids. Hotel for the most park was clean enough.
Cons - Staff not always friendly…very mixed bag. The person making the drinks at the happy hour seemed over whelmed and not always friendly...you'll see what I mean....but people overlooked this because drinks are free. When you walk into the restaurant you may find no one there to greet you but will be close by having a conversation usually by the bar….you feel like you’re interrupting them by being there…strange…so we walked out. I didn’t care for the restaurant, or bar. Room service is quick if you order something, but it’s expensive and they include a high gratuity. If you call room service to just get silverware…good luck. Linens had stains. Plugs were broken. Air conditioner in room was very loud when it kicked on. No luggage carts when loading and off loading…I asked for a luggae cart and the guy took me to a room where he keeps them locked up…think he wants to make sure he handles all of the luggage…more opportunity for tips(my opinion)...same luggae guy every day we were there.
I didn't bring my complaints to anyones attention because I won't stay there again. Maybe it was just a bad week for them...who's knows...chance you take.

Room Tip: If you are not planning to go in and out of the garage use 'general parking'…same garage use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDTMGR, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel. It is only through feedback like yours that we can address, correct and ensure all of our guests’ satisfaction. While we strive to provide our guests with an exceptional stay, I am sorry to hear from your review that you with disappointed with your recent stay. We do realize that you have a choice in where you stay and assure you that your feedback will be internally discussed to improve our offerings and services.

Thank you again for sharing your comments, and please feel free to contact me directly if there is anything else that I can do for you.

Sincerly,
Obed Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    389
    234
    144
    67
See reviews for
320
159
55
546
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Bar prices are steep. Restaurant kitchen closed before it's posted closing time. Staff were were great. Hotel is extremely dated. Close to a really cool entertainment district across the parking lot. 10min from airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Shawn William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Easily the worst hotel experience of my life. Person answering the phone was rude with no provocation when we asked whether it would be possible to switch from a room with two double beds to one king or queen. We then discovered that the only tank lid in the bathroom was sitting on the counter, and for good reason--it would not fit on the toilet. The toilet also had no flush handle; when I reached inside the tank to open the flush valve (because one of us had already used the toilet), the float ball came loose and the toilet began running. Needless to say we asked for another room, and I endured a brief lecture for having deigned to open the flush valve on a toilet with no handle. In our new room, the toilet seat actually *would not* stay up, and there was some water damage on the ceiling. I could go on, but briefly: there is nothing about this hotel that is not *the worst*. I can honestly say that I would far rather have been in a Motel 6.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDTMGR, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. I am so sorry that the toilet in your room was not working properly. I thank you for bringing this up to my attention so that I can follow-up with our maintenance staff. However, I was especially disappointed to read from your review that our staff did not provide you with the attentive and courteous treatment you deserve. I can assure you this is very unusual to happen and I’ve made sure to personally speak to our staff regarding your comments. We make every effort to respect our guests and I truly apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused. Again, I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again.

Sincerly,
Obed Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rosemont hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great location for our stay in the Chicago Area. It's not downtown but neither are the prices. We Chicago every three months or so and have stayed here many times. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and well maintained. The hotel overall, is well maintained. The complementary breakfast and evening reception is a plus. As a side note, the female bartender in the lounge during the afternoon is very nice, helpful and welcoming. We will stay here again for our next Chicago visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank donaldm393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDTMGR, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Even though we aren't downtown I am happy to see that you notice our value. The complimentary drinks and breakfast is something we pride ourselves on, so I am glad you enjoyed. We will see you again very soon.

Obed Morales
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a package "sleep-park-fly," quite a pricey one. The building is long and with elevators at one end only, a long walk from my room. This is the first hotel I've stayed in where the breakfast ends at 9 AM. And it does end at 9 sharp! I dialed for an automatic wake-up call as directed by the hotel and did not receive any. Fortunately, I backed it up with my alarm clock. The only good thing about parking is that it is covered. They gave me a ticket to exit the parking upon arrival, and - surprise! - it did not work. The parking is shared with the Hilton next door, and Embassy guests are second rate. When inside the garage, you can't understand where you can park and where you can't. In fact, this is the first place where nobody asked what kind of car I drove. The garage is deserted and a bit scary, no personnel whatsoever. Apparently, they have parking spots for disabled, but they are impossible to find. As far as the shuttle is concerned, it depends too much on traffic. There are better and cheaper places to sleep and fly around O'Hare.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator if you don't want to walk too far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comfytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESDTMGR, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I understand from your review that you were not completely satisfied with our some aspects of our hotel. I am so sorry that you did not receive a wake-up call as you requested. I can assure you that this is very rare to happen; however, I can very much empathize with your frustration and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. Please be assured that the feedback you provided in your review will be taken into consideration so that we may improve our guests’ in-property experience. Your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.

Again I sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I do hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerly,
Obed Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We pick up Memorial Day weekend as our high school reunion's day which is the 55th year after we met each other from we were 12 years old. And celebrate our teacher's 85th birthday at same time. We have good enough place at Embassy Suites and good enough complimentary reception and breakfast makes our reunion even unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Chilin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My family and I needed a place to stay overnight because our flight was delayed therefore made us miss our connection flights leading us to spend the night in Chicago.

Embassy Suites- Chicago O'Hare Rosemont is a FANTASTIC stay if you need a quick book at an above average, clean, modern hotel. We did receive a discount because of our delayed and missed flights, but without that I'm sure the price would be well appreciated with all that this hotel has to offer!

The only bad thing I can say about this hotel is that, in a walking distance, all the restaurants around here offer food for expensive prices! We just ate here at the hotel, and it was good with great service, but they didn't offer anything else, food-wise, besides for their fine dining restaurant and complimentary breakfast. I literally paid $27 for one entree, maybe it's just me but where I come from that's a hell of a lot! It was really all we could resort to in our situation, I just wish we had more options nearby.

That's not a big deal-- but I just wanted that conflict to be known just in case anyone wanted to know more in depth about things here.

Besides that, FANTASTIC, like I said.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linhhhnguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rosemont hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
0.1 mi away
Hilton Rosemont / Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
#14 of 18 in Rosemont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont
Address: 5500 N. River Road, Rosemont, IL 60018-5230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Embassy Suites O'Hare Rosemont is located adjacent to the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center and five minutes from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) via our complimentary hotel shuttle (4am-12am). Located within walking distance from MBFinancial Park and Fashion Outlets of Chicago. Our hotel is a full service all suite airport hotel providing outstanding newly renovated accommodations and amenities to business and leisure travelers in the Chicago and Rosemont, Illinois area. Hi-Spd Internet available in guest rooms and public area for a nominal fee. Self Parking: $26/day; Valet Parking: $30/day. We do not offer a shuttle to Allstate Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - O'Hare/Rosemont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Chicago o`Hare Rosemont Hotel Rosemont
Embassy Suites Rosemont
Rosemont Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing