We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“too hip to be cool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“too hip to be cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hip vibe does come off even if it does try too hard.The front desk seems more like a check in desk for a cool gym than a hotel. My price per room at 112 a night was really decent. The room with its true to loft feel works. The bedding could have been a bit more upscale but it was still comfortable.

My only complaints were that 1. prepackaged scrambled eggs are definitely not hip or cool. Really Aloft? how much time and expense are real eggs? Even prisons have real eggs... don't ask me how I know but I know !. 2. Getting to the hotel from the airport. My question.. when they built the hotel did they build it backwards because It took us 15 minutes trying to figure out how to find the main entrance. It doesn't face the road unlike most hotels.. it faces a back road from which there is a confusing array of roads like tangled spaghetti that's been overcooked.

Still I like this place...its unique from most stuff hotels. Just work on your food please.

Room Tip: be nice to the front desk person
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_aexander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    322
    157
    62
    31
See reviews for
91
176
109
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I like the concept of the Aloft. I'm not a budget traveler but I like to get good value and this is it.

Great room with a really good level of cleanliness.

The breakfast is great and the health suite is really good too.

You know what? There's not much more to it but I like it and would recommend a stay here just to compare the different experience to the tired (and more expensive) hotel brands in the area.

By the way, the people are really nice in this hotel, not something I have experience a lot in Chicago airport hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott g, General Manager at Aloft Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your encounters with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

my family stayed here for a day before the departure. the check-in process was really quick and I did not really have to wait in the line a long time. At the lobby, there was pool table and other games, the bar as well as refreshment center. We could just sit and talk on the sofa which was comfortable. The swimming pool and fitness was little smaller compared to other hotels we have been but it was ok because many of people were staying and waiting for the flight, not the business. In the room, it was really comfortable and easy to order food from outside of hotel and deliver. The things we were not satisfied were 1. The lotion, shampoo, and conditioner were not new one. we could see someone has used and the cap was not sealed. 2. the bathroom area was not really cleaned.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

As others say, this is very much like other Aloft properties. It is kind of like staying in an Ikea store! The bed and bedding are very comfortable, the towels are soft, and everything is new and Euro-style high tech. I particularly like the docking station thingy which lets you charge your phone and feed audio and video through the LCD TV.

Soundproofing is pretty good. Could just barely hear the air traffic overhead.

The location is very convenient to O'Hare. Parking is a $20 extra charge at a structure, but connected by a covered bridge so no problem to get there.

I like the snack area for breakfast where you can grab coffee and pastries on the way out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinFamilyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you've stayed at other Aloft properties, there are no surprises here. It has a slightly larger footprint than others I've been in, but all the usual amenities are there:
* Gym is good, and open 24/7
* WXYZ bar and lobby area are open and inviting.
* Staff is friendly ( I dealt with 3 different front desk people--all helpful and nice)
* Basic food offerings are there. (Good news is this hotel is right beside an entertainment district being built, which features multiple bars and restaurants)
* It's very close to the airport (take River Road south off the Kennedy Expwy)
* Rooms are the standard Aloft layout, which is functional and comfortable.

Only negative in my opinion was the Internet was WAY TOO SLOW, so much so that I left the hotel early on Tuesday morning to go to O'Hare for faster access.
All in all, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwallen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott g, Front Office Manager at Aloft Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and I am glad you enjoyed the aloft. The next time you stay you will be happy to know the hotel has increased bandwidth throughout the hotel to provide a faster connection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I'm very picky about hotels and this one is great. The towels are soft, the sheets smell clean and the staff is very friendly. The only problem we had was getting to the hotel. Aloft is situated very near the airport, but in the middle of toll roads. If we had studied a map I'm sure we could have avoided some. There is also a parking fee which added to the total price.

We stayed here with the kids (teens) and the bathroom was small and open so there wasn't a lot of privacy.

Great hotel for adults that can follow a map.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivefoottwelve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
541 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I have never stayed at any aloft but now that I have I will sure stay more often.
The hotel is trendy. They are small hotels but they do try to make it simple.
The reception looked like a round information desk without the think glass of course.

The lobby had a small bar, breakfast area. Chairs/couches and a pool table.

My room was very comfortable. The first thing you are is the sink area. The closet/minibar/safe/ and extra pillow are located in all in one open closet sort of dresser. Too tall for me to reach the extra pillow, but I guess for some of a normal height it was ok.

Loved the glass shower and shower head. The shower are had a pocket door between the toilet and the sink area. It looked better than in can describe.

The big tv in the middle of the room f acing te very comfortable bed. The two small windows wee on the size. The room had a nice space and well taken advantage of every corner. Loved the complimentary bottles of water.

Location it was alright I guess for being at an airport

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rosemont hotels
0.3 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
0.2 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin O'Hare
The Westin O'Hare
#4 of 18 in Rosemont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Rosemont / Chicago O'Hare
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Property: Aloft Chicago O'Hare
Address: 9700 Balmoral Ave, Rosemont, IL 60018-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just minutes away from the airport, the Aloft Chicago O'Hare offers all travelers a new experience with a loft inspired design as well as lounge, 24/7 gym, and indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chicago o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Aloft Hotel Rosemont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing