We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun innovative Hotel design!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Chicago O'Hare
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Rosemont
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun innovative Hotel design!”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Save a few $$$ and stay here and commute on the nearby train into the city. (transportation pass is only $14.00 for a week and includes all the transportation in the city. Bus and Metro and El...
Design of this hotel is superb! From the open lobby with plenty of spots for a small meeting, reading, visiting. No one has mentioned the moving wall photos of interesting spots of the world and a fun to watch and take if very easy in front of the fireplace. No restaurant but a pick up kitchen with plenty to eat or a shuttle to many excellent surrounding restaurants.
The room design is great and functions very well. Large windows on either side of outside wall with a large flat screen tv in middle. Desk space on both sides of window. One with all the plug ins you could want to charge etc. The bath design works extremely well for anyone staying for a few nights...
The ONLY negative is the quality of the bedding is not up to the supreme standards of other SPG hotels...I certainly hope that this group of Aloft Hotels will correct this in the near future.
Price Convenience and great shuttle service every 1/2 hour

Room Tip: 1/2 of rooms face west other 1/2 face east...Depends on time of year
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymargaretcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    340
    161
    67
    35
See reviews for
95
189
112
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel is a BARGAIN compared to the hundreds that I have spent on other hotels in the area on previous trips, although this is not a full-service hotel by any means. The decor is modern, sleek and clean. The aroma therapy also lends a light lemony fragrance to the air adding to the sense of cleanliness and freshness. The staff was pleasant, helpful, and prompt.

I was delighted with my room. Anyone travelling frequently will appreciate the high-end look and amenities. There were elegant choices in lighting with all of the switches located by the door so as you're coming and going you can control the whole room. The shower was a large, beautiful glass enclosure with a luxuious showerhead and dispensers for liquid soap and shampoo. I love this. The vanity had a modern bowl sink and stylish chrome faucet.

The bed was comfy and I slept like a baby. Others have complained about the airplane noise and I was prepared for that, but didn't notice it at all.

Several things to keep in mind:

Parking will set you back $20 - but figure that into the price you're paying and it's still a deal.

There is little to nothing in walking distance so eat and shop before you come or after you go. I did notice on the night I arrived that an outdoor ice skating rink was being prepared between the hotel and the theatre. If you've got some time to kill that could be fun!

Finding the place isn't exactly easy and signage was poor - keep your eyes peeled for signs as you approach because you'll see the hotel clearly but there is no entrance off Balmoral. You have to go into what looks like a parking garage to get to the hotel and it's one-way.

As of this writing there is construction across the way, so don't plan on sleeping past 7am without some interruption (luckily for me 7am is actually 8am Eastern so I was sleeping in!)

Room Tip: Ask for room on the north side to avoid construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foo-D-GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We had a not so good start to our stay. There was construction going on so the signs to the parking were a little confusing and it to us 20 minutes to get from the car to the hotel. After that the stay improved. The rooms are nice; good size, modern, Bliss toiletries, even a mini fridge.
The Bar is also a total plus; fun, busy and a good bartender. I was surprised to see it was a semi "hot spot" for the burbs, And for the price, it was a deal.

Room Tip: Parking is strange - pay attention
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Example of too much of the artsy-fartsy baloney: When you get into bed, do so carefully, lest the mattress slide off the stupid slick wood platform (no ordinary box spring bed here) resulting in a bruised / bleeding leg from slamming into the rather sharp edge of the platform.

The TV is mounted on the same wall as the desk but way over to the left or right so that you can't see it while seated at the desk. Annoying if you want to watch TV while you eat the pizza you ordered.

If traveling with kids, you will not appreciate the glass panel that separates the shower from the rest of the room. It is kind of frosted but not all that private.

In one room I stayed in, the coffee maker was imprisoned on a shelf that is too small for it - there was no room to pour the water in the top because of the shelf above it, so I had to move it to the bedside table. Problem is, the bedside table was secured to the wall with only one fastener, so it had a pronounced list to one side. A different room did not have the coffee maker imprisoned in solitary confinement, however, and the bedside table was properly secured in that room.

The in-room fridge (a very nice feature) sits up on an elevated spot, so when you go to open the door, sometimes the front edge of the fridge will slide off its throne.

Not many options for food within walking distance (they are building something right across the street but not sure what). One place that I've tried and like pretty well is Maria's Mexican Restaurant which is a reasonably short walk away.

The staff is happy to drop you at any of a list of restaurants on their way to the airport, though. They will also drop you at the Rosemont station for the EL (subway) and from there you can go to downtown Chicago in maybe half an hour or 45 minutes.

For those who prefer style over substance, you will be delighted. For example, the imprint of your feet will make the floor panels of the elevator change colors. WooHoo!

Friendly staff makes up for a lot of the design flaw annoyances. Many of my younger co-workers love the place and are awestruck by the artistic design, so take my criticism with a grain of salt.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PseudoGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We're big fans of the W Hotel brand so these Aloft Hotels are great. Similar contemporary style but at a much more reasonable price point (though the service / amenities reflect that). We were visiting friends who lived near O'Hare so this was a perfect location for my wife and I to stay since we didn't plan on staying at the hotel much at all.

Pros: Stylish design and lounge board games to pass the time. Comfortable and clean bed. Indoor pool downstairs.

Cons: Tight space (room just fits the bed and bathroom), there's a bar but no one was working it, limited food selection downstairs since there's no kitchen and parking was pretty expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Songer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed here as part of a stay park and fly. Hotel was conveniently located near Ohare airport. Room was nice. We walked over to a resturant in the movie theater for a bite to eat. Hotel had a bar, (but not a restaurant) and a pool table near the lobby. Very eclectic decorations in the hotel. Definetly young and hip, not a stuffy hotel. 24 hour shuttle service to airport was great. They even had the van waiting for us when our departure was before the continuous service usually started.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyPGravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott g, General Manager at Aloft Chicago O'Hare, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the shuttle service exceeded your expectations. Although we do not have a restaurant we do offer appetizers in our bar area as we have food in our grab and go. There will also be 6 restaurants opening across from the hotel within the next few months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My daughter was married in Chicago this summer and we chose the Aloft for our hotel wedding block. It appealed to us because of its proximity to the airport, the Blue Line into the city, as well as our wedding venue. We knew that almost all of our guests staying there would not have cars, so the parking garage fees were not a concern. We were also attracted to the space – the wide open lobby area with several comfortable seating areas and the bar. Given we were there for a wedding, our time at the hotel would be somewhat limited, but we liked that there was a pool and the outdoor area that opened up between the pool & the lobby.
We knew about the construction and were a bit concerned about being able to walk to restaurants. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find the shuttle could take us to restaurants etc., if available. This enabled us to go out and dine together a few times.
The great group rate afforded some of our guests to stay longer and enjoy Chicago before and after the wedding. About two months before the wedding we ran into some problems with our room block. It was a distressing situation and at one point considered changing hotels. I won’t go into detail, but will say that due to Scott’s and Alan’s assistance all turned out well in the end. As someone who works in hospitality I know that ‘things happen’ and there are going to be problems. It’s how management deals with the problem that makes a difference to the guest.
I would definitely recommend the Aloft as a great place to stay. We have a large family and the lobby was a comfortable place we could gather in our down time and feel like we had our own space. Everyone raved about the comfortable beds…I never heard a plane or any traffic in my room and I was on the 3rd floor….I have to say a hotel of that size should definitely have more than 1 ice machine. I found that very strange. We also didn’t know how this space would work for pre-wedding photos, but our creative photographer took some very beautiful photos there before the wedding.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imrosed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rosemont hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
0.3 mi away
Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport - Rosemont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Rosemont / Chicago O'Hare
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rosemont Chicago O’Hare
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
Hyatt Regency O'Hare
#7 of 18 in Rosemont
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Chicago O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chicago O'Hare

Property: Aloft Chicago O'Hare
Address: 9700 Balmoral Ave, Rosemont, IL 60018-5214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rosemont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Rosemont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Chicago O'Hare 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just minutes away from the airport, the Aloft Chicago O'Hare offers all travelers a new experience with a loft inspired design as well as lounge, 24/7 gym, and indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Aloft Chicago O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chicago o`Hare Hotel Rosemont
Aloft Hotel Rosemont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing