We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backyard Grill and Bar

Backyard Grill and Bar
Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Roscoe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Rockton, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

A great place when you just don't want to cook dinner that night. I know most people get the burgers here....but they make the best pork chop ever!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LatteGirl947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Frequent patron”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We go here often because its local and the food is always good! Prices are low and staff for most part is always good! LOVE the soup it's a must have when we go! 1.00 kids meals on Tuesday also make it extremely affordable to go as a family!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Legalgrl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful laid back atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I love the food here. Everything I have tried has been wonderful. Some if the items are a little on the pricey side. But everything there is just fun

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machesney Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good and not expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

a good place to go with family or friends the foods always good they never disappoint and we like going there if we can't decide on anything else to do you can always find something you'll like and it won't cost you a lot of money

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Like fish? This is your place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have eaten at this location many times and have never had a negative experience. A good lunch menu that features sandwiches, soups and fresh salads served with efficiency keeps us coming back. Outdoor seating is a bonus. However, the Friday fish fry is a treat. Baked or lightly battered cod served with salad or soup and choice of sides is a great value. I highly recommend the salmon which is hickory grilled to moist, flaky perfection. This is where you want to be on Friday night.
The place gets full and when it does it is noisy making conversation a bit more difficult, however it is advertised as a bar and grill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WGM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backyard Grill and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Backyard Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing