We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Better, Could Be Worse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Rolling Meadows - Schaumburg Area
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Rolling Meadows
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Could Be Better, Could Be Worse”
Reviewed June 17, 2008

After our connecting flight back home was cancelled, we were forced to spend the night at the Holiday Inn Rolling Meadow. American Airlines offered us a special "distressed traveler" rate for $69 and the hotel offered a free shuttle to and from O'Hare.

We arrived at the hotel late--after 9 p.m.--hungry and tired. We didn't get a chance to use the retro tiki-themed Holidome indoor pool area, although it looked inviting.

Our room was very recently renovated, and was clean, spacious and comfortable with two double beds, two desks with ergonomic chairs, t.v. and clothes armoire, microwave and coffeemaker (although no regular coffee was provided, only decaf). A USA Today was at our door in the morning.

We had a late dinner of soup and sandwiches at the hotel's in-house restaurant McKenna's. The waiter was trying his best, but the kitchen was slow and uneven (the soup was lukewarm).

There is also a convenient but small gift shop off the lobby.

The front desk staff were somewhat surly at both check in and out, although the airport shuttle drivers were hospitable and efficient.

All in all, this is a fine place for an overnight, even if it has a few kinks.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tjl3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    65
    51
    36
    58
See reviews for
127
23
12
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel as I mis-connected a flight back home out of ORD and AA gave me a distressed passenger rate of $65.00.
There was whether in Chicago this night so there many people stranded and needing a place to stay so the hotel shuttle bus was packed. The shuttle only picks up from ORD every hour and is about 45 minutes away from the airport. This is not good after flying for 11 hours on an international flight.
Check was horrible as there were about 30 people checking in and it took about 7 minutes per person to check in and of course I was at the end of the line.
The hotel is going through a remodeling phase so the lobby was a little torn up but that is understandable.
The restaurant was expensive and completely unorganized the food was ok but the service was horrible!
My room wasn’t the best as it smelled a mixture of wetness and smoke. Although, it did have nice furniture and looked recently updated.
The "Holidome" was neat as it had a beach theme with two pools and spas. This portion would be great for a family with kids.
I would probably not stay back at this hotel as it is in the "burbs" and not all that nice.

  • Liked — Check in
  • Disliked — Smell of room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpatterson20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keith123Chicago, Manager at Holiday Inn Rolling Meadows - Schaumburg Area, responded to this review, January 8, 2009
Renovation was completed in July of 08'. All roomos were complete with new carpet, bedding packkage, refrigerators, microwaves, and new modern guest shower experience. Holidome feature a sports court, 2 pools, 2 jacuzzi's, a fitness center and a tiki bar, all in a tropical setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We recently had a family reunion for 6 families. Rooms were very average, with many things not up to par: no light bulbs, broken hairdryer, almost all phones broken in the rooms! BUT THE KICKER IS THE MICE!!! Yes, you read that right.... my family checked out immediately upon seeing 4 mice running about in our room! There were other sightings in the Holidome area. It is a shame, as the whole Holidome area has been remodeled and is nice. If that were not enough, the "Gestapo staff" was forever cruising the holidome area and always watching us as if we were gonna be troublemakers--- mind you, we range from 4 months to 83 yr old and are so friendly. Also, no food, drink is allowed in the Holidome area so we could never gather as a family to visit and snack in that huge gathering arena!! (Now in retrospect, I suppose they wanted to food to be limited to keep the mice at bay!) I plan on writng the company , cuz this place has potential--yet much to be done!! --Starting first with the exterminator!

  • Liked — the holidome area
  • Disliked — the mice!!!
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rolling Meadows hotels

westment
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2007

New about remodeling, so I didn't know how my stay was going to be. At check in the front desk was very nice and my room was also nice and my looking at the holidome I could tell that after they are finish these hotel will be great. I will be back to see the the this.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Tank65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2007

After reading some of the bad reviews, I started to wonder...If people expect a hotel to be like their home...why don't you stay there??? A hotel is a hotel...period.

Preferably, I spend most of my time in Chicago at other places beside the hotel room. When I return, however, I expect the room to be clean and restful. I stayed on the fifth floor of the tower and the rooms are very large and very clean. The maids are very friendly and quite beautiful (I'm single....).

The service is great at this hotel. The shuttle promptly picks guests up from O'Hare Airport and the drivers are very polite and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. (maybe not to those who just want to stay in their room all the time).. but especially to those who are on business trips or who spend most of their time siteseeing the Chicago area.

I give this hotel a Chicago THUMBS UP!!!!!!

  • Liked — Great Service
  • Disliked — The lobby was pretty busy but the rest of the hotel was too quiet
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stevensonxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2007

This hotel is dirty, disgusting, and so much stuff is broken in the rooms! I was here for a family reunion and every member of my family had a problem with their room! The rooms we were initially given were so bad (I felt like I was in a horror movie!) that we asked to switch rooms. Our rooms were switched- they were better, but still pretty bad. In one room the toilet didn't work, in another room the shower didn't work, my room had a disgusting tub (I showered with shower caps on my feet so I didn't have to touch the tub), no garbage cans, and no iron. Most of the front desk staff were rude, but some were okay. Overall, the hotel is DIRTY!!!! And everything is FALLING APART!! And what kind of hotel (and a Holiday Inn at that) doesn't offer CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST?!?! I would never advise anyone to stay here!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — DIRTY
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jposcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemaj1999, Management at Holiday Inn Rolling Meadows - Schaumburg Area, responded to this review, January 8, 2009
I am sorry that you felt our hotel was dirty. We take great pride in our hotel and have gone through a renovation. We maintain high standards of cleanliness. Thank You for making me aware of this I will pass it on to our Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

I had reservations to stay at this property this past week. From the moment I pulled onto the property, I knew I had made a mistake - the parking lot was in a complete state of disrepair, as was the outside of the facility. At any rate, I checked in and went to my room - - what a disappointment! It was filthy beyond compare, and many things were actually broken - the handle on the sink was MISSING and the drawers to the dresser were broken and jammed. The carpet was stained beyond belief and ripped. The window had been left open to air out the stench of smoke (on my non-smoking room) and it was humid and uncomfortable and smelled disgusting. Before unpacking, I decided to look around the hotel to see if I even wanted to stay. The holidome area was a disaster. It doesn't even resemble the internet pictures. The entire PROPERTY was actually a disaster. It was filthy beyond compare. I understand that this property is supposed to be undergoing some renovations - - but I have stayed at properties undergoing renovations, and they in no way compare to this hell hole. I would think that Holiday Inn would be ashamed to even have their name associated with this property. I stay with Holiday Inn a lot, but more and more, I have found myself staying at Starwood brand hotels - - which is exactly what I did this visit. Ten minutes after checking in, I checked out and went to stay at a Sheraton that was located about 10 minutes (and yet, a world) away. No one seemed particularly surprised when I told them I was leaving, as if they almost encountered this all the time. What a sad excuse for a Holiday Inn. STEER CLEAR!

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank fiddldd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rolling Meadows
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rolling Meadows
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Schaumburg, Chicago
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
Hilton Garden Inn Schaumburg
#2 of 29 in Schaumburg
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago Schaumburg
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Schaumburg Chicago Northwest
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago - Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Rolling Meadows - Schaumburg Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Rolling Meadows - Schaumburg Area

Property: Holiday Inn Rolling Meadows - Schaumburg Area
Address: 3405 Algonquin Rd., Rolling Meadows, IL 60008-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Rolling Meadows
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Rolling Meadows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Rolling Meadows - Schaumburg Area 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look again! The Holiday Inn Rolling Meadows is renewed and better then ever. Located only 9 miles from Chicago's O'Hare Airport, the Holiday Inn Rolling Meadows is conveniently located on the NE corner of I-90 and I-290 right off I-53 in the heart of the Schaumburg business district. The hotel features newly designed rooms in our executive tower and suites situated around an incredible Polynesian indoor tropical garden and recreation area. The Chicago area hotel offers a childrens' pool, adult lap pool, whirlpool, sauna, fitness center and game room. Enjoy the sights and sounds of the islands as you relax at the Tiki bar. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed wireless access throughout the hotel. Each guestroom provides a refrigerator and microwave, upgraded bed linens and a superior shower experience. Whether your visit is leisure or business related, the hotel is conveniently located to America's top notch shopping, with easy access to Woodfield Mall, Arlington Park Race Track, Schaumburg Convention Center, Rosemont Convention Center, Willow Creek, and Medieval Times. Kids eat free at the Holiday Inn Rolling Meadows and we welcome you to join us at McKenna's Restaurant and Lounge. A full menu of delicious choices is offered for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We invite you to look again! We're waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Rolling Meadows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Rolling Meadows - Schaumburg Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Rolling Meadows Hotel Rolling Meadows
Holiday Inn Rolling Meadows
Rolling Meadows Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing