We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee shop, friendly staff.”
Review of Coffee Planet - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Coffee Planet
Restaurant details
Rolling Meadows, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great coffee shop, friendly staff.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My neighbor took my husband and I here and I must say they were wonderful. Very friendly and accommodating. They will recommend coffees to teas to you. The coffee was very good as was their bakery. Price isn't too bad compared to Starbucks and Caribou Coffee. When in town I would definitely recommend a stop here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Daughters Recognition Service”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a great independent Coffee Shop with lite fare. The barristers are knowledgeable and very helpful with suggesting a coffee. They suggested a ‘Single Origin Coffee Pour Over” which I had not heard of before. You need to go to the site for an explanation. It was great and just the right amount of flavor and not that burnt or old coffee taste you get form the traditional coffee brewing. I was there as part of Class party while visiting my daughter. They actually closed the shop, left the drive through open, for the party.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Best Coffee Shop in Northwest Suburbs!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Coffee Planet has it all! It is a fairly new family owned coffee shop with a friendly atmosphere, great drinks, plenty of outlets at almost every seat, and an overall passion for what they do! They have a fabulous variety of drinks including any kind of coffee you can think of, a wide variety of teas, smoothies, hot chocolate, and plenty of delicious flavored lattes made by some of the staff as well! They also have game nights, acoustic nights, and others where they host slam poetry or an open mic! I am also a local photographer in the area and they were quick to welcome me in and allow me to sell my work on their walls, and they are always looking for more artists to bring in work! Now I can barely go a day without stopping in there and grabbing a drink on my way to class or work! It is incredibly cozy and makes a wonderful place to sit and relax, or get work done on a laptop, and if you enjoy coffee shops and haven't had a chance to try it yet, definitely put it on top of your list!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cartwrightnicholas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Support a Family Business! Give Coffee Planet a Chance!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Variety, Conscientious Service and Good Atmosphere. There's a winning foundation here!

You know these people couldn't have picked a worst time to open a new business let alone a coffee shop. Between that construction mess, the economy and the rising cost of everything..especially coffee, it's hard for a small biz to make it. Starbuck Troopers needs some local competition.

So far, I've been bye here 4 times and enjoyed the experience. Sure they are learning the ropes and they admit it but they will change your drink and remake if it doesn't seem right to you.

On my second run Rick remembered me over the course of a 3 week absence, that says a lot about character.

I usually do the Raspberry Mocha but this time around tried the Peanut Butter Mocha. The Bacon Mocha was just too much of a reach. The coffee was pretty well balanced , a little on the gritty side but that may have been the nature of the peanut butter flavor. It was pretty good. The previous Raz Mochas were good as well with only one being remade.

I hope ya'll make this a place on the drink agenda, work with them.

Coffee Planet occupies the old Caribou Slot, It has a drive-thru as well as WIFI but seating is for maybe 25 .

To the owner's...please push your corporate bulk sales if possible to local companies as a service. Hopefully this will bolster your profits...ya just can't rely on OTC sales alone...especially in this maket

Back on Thursday...Good Luck

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DigitalNomadIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coffee Planet also viewed

 
Rolling Meadows, IL
Rolling Meadows, IL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing