We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic lunch”
Review of Buona Beef

Buona Beef
Cuisines: American
Description: Buona is a quick casual restaurant chain that features Original Italian Beef, Pizza, Burgers, Hot Dogs, Sandwiches and Salads. The first Buona restaurant was established in Berwyn, IL in 1981, by Buonavolanto Patriarch Joe Buonavolanto, Sr. He was among the group of Italian Americans who perfected Chicago's original Italian beef. The menu is a blend of old-school Chicago classics and next-generation menu choices - made from scratch with fresh ingredients. While the menu has expanded, the original beef recipe has not been compromised - for the three generations of Buonavolantos who are active in the company, compromise and quality are never uttered in the same breath.
Restaurant details
Description: Buona is a quick casual restaurant chain that features Original Italian Beef, Pizza, Burgers, Hot Dogs, Sandwiches and Salads. The first Buona restaurant was established in Berwyn, IL in 1981, by Buonavolanto Patriarch Joe Buonavolanto, Sr. He was among the group of Italian Americans who perfected Chicago's original Italian beef. The menu is a blend of old-school Chicago classics and next-generation menu choices - made from scratch with fresh ingredients. While the menu has expanded, the original beef recipe has not been compromised - for the three generations of Buonavolantos who are active in the company, compromise and quality are never uttered in the same breath.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
219 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good basic lunch”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just had lunch at Buona Beef and is was ok. the building is pretty cold and plain inside but it is nice that they now deliver the food to your table instead of being buzzed to pick it up.

It seems like $9.50 for a beef, fries and a Coke is a little much.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Better beef Sandwiches and more reasonably price can be found”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Group of four coworkers for lunch. I've lived in Chicago all my life. Had many beef sandwiches over the years. Cant say that Buono is anywhere near the top of the list. Flavor of italian beef average ($5.35) , sandwich served rolled up in foil, sandwich soggy and hard to eat ( not in a good way.. I like still a little bite in the bread after soaking). Serverd warm at best , not hot. Rather small portion of beef I thought. Hot Peppers were good though although added $0.45 to the price. Ordered a side salad and water. Salad was small and lettuce was not crisp as if its been soaking in salad dressing for a while. Overall lunch was $10.88. Not a great taste, not a good value as its over priced for what you get. Staff is rather cold and impersonal as this is clearly a high volume beef restaurant. I'm not planning on going back. You can do better with either a smaller place or bigger place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, and much nicer than...”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

...Portillo's on all counts as well. Buona Beef is the best Italian Beef restaurant I've experienced in Chicago. BIG portions, great side dishes, light atmosphere (compared to Portillo's which is always noisy and cheap looking). BUONA BEEF IS MOST HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,044 reviews
1,330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,198 helpful votes
“Upscale fast food”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I had lunch here. We both had the 10-inch "Maggiore" Italian Beef sandwich with sweet peppers. For sides she had the parmesan/garlic chips and I had the fries. The sandwich was superb, her chips were very good, but my fries were greasy and not crispy at all. We thought that overall it was a bit pricey, as it is pretty much a fast food chain type menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Chicago Traditions”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

One of my favorite lunch places in the area. Makes some of the best versions of local specialties Chicago Dogs and Italian Beef. Got to try the Italian beef personal pizza. A great combination of two Chicago Specialties!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mtnsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buona Beef also viewed

Rolling Meadows, IL
Rolling Meadows, IL
 
Rolling Meadows, IL
 

Been to Buona Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing