We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faithlegg Self Catering

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Faithlegg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Faithlegg Self Catering
Ranked #1 of 1 Faithlegg B&B and Inns
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We rented a 3 bedroomed house on the grounds of Faithlegg in June 2012. We have 3 small childfren under 4 and this was our first time to take them anywhere other than to stay with grandparents. I was a little apprehensive especially as the house was such good value but I was pleasantly surprised. On arrival the receptionist was friendly and informative and we were delighted with the house- spotless, newly painted with everything we needed. The pool was great- large kids area, the new playground proved a hit and the area surpassed all expections. We visited several beaches including Tramore and Woodstown, had picnics most days and on the showery day we went to Wareford playzone- 10 minutes from the hotel. What made the holiday extra special was the countryside location- hard to believe we were so close to a city.
We intend to return and hope to make Faithlegg our annual holiday destination! We also hope to go back to stay in the hotel for a weekend break- minus the kids this time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aideenotoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Faithlegg Self Catering, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Aideen,

Sincere thanks for your amazing feedback. The joys of this hotel is its central location with the city and beaches only a short drive away. I am delighted to hear your kids enjoyed the hotel and our facilities and we do hope to see you all back here soon. If we can be of any assistance planning your holiday minus the kids call our reservations team on 051-382000.

Thank you again and I hope your future visits are as enjoyable as the first.

Best Regards,
Liam Moran
General Manager
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
45
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed at Faithlegg last week with my wife and young son. We rented one of the Willow Wood houses. I was very impressed with the overall facility. The hotel, holiday homes and surrounding grounds are very well looked after and there is a lovely relaxing feeling about the whole place. The Willow Wood houses themselves are great. Lots of space and all you need for a holiday. The fenced in back garden was perfect to let the little fella run around in. The house was a little bit worn in places but not that it would make a difference. The tv and dvd player supplied could do with an upgrade though. The tiny 19 inch crt was ancient (a good size flat screen would not cost much) and lost in the large living room. I was a little disspointed in the leisure centre which was one of the reasons we booked the place (as an option for the little fella in case of rain). The pool itself is a bit small and got quite crowded with just a few people in it. I have been in the leisure centre of it's sister hotel in Castleknock which is far superior. The hotel is in the perfect location as a base to visit Woodstown beach, Dunmore East and Tramore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Faithlegg Self Catering, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Sincere thanks for your lovely comments, I always welcome feedback as it helps us to constantly improve our hotel. Our holiday homes are designed with families and security in mind and is the perfect location for kids to play. I regret that you were not fully satisfied with our leisure facilities and hopefully it will be less busy on your next visit. We are addressing the possibility of upgrading our tv facilities in the houses and will hopefully be improved by your next visit.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your family's future visits.

Best Regards,
Liam Moran,
General Manager,
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here for five days at the end of June 2012. We were firstly allocated a two bedroom house in The Mews. First impressions are not good, the lay out of the Houses is awful! Too many houses in too little space and not nearly enough parking for everyone. We nearly missed our House as it was wedged in between two others in a corner (No 14 I think). Unfortunately inside the house did not fare any better. Whilst very clean, it was in dire need of a make over, furniture is shabby and mis-matched, bathroom tiles are cracked and the shower in the en-suite was fairly stained and tiny. That evening I noticed a few ants in the kithchen, I didnt pay much heed as I know they come and go but when we came back the next day they had overrun the Kitchen!. I rang up to the hotel who sent down their porter who put down ant powder inside the house but with my four year old with us, I was not happy to stay there with ant powder running across the floor so they decided to move us to "a bigger house".
Oh great we thought, an upgrade!! But no, they basicallly managed to squeeze an extra room out of the same space as the two bedroom house resulting in a main bedroom that two people couldnt pass each other and a shower that was soo tiny you banged your arms off the wall when washing your hair!. Again, this house was clean but shabby and in need of updating. The carpet upstairs was stained, the tiles on the floor were cracked and the kickboard in the kitchen was stained black due to a previous leak. The dishwasher was broken so that the tablet would not stay in, the washing machine was the noisest machine ive ever heard and the grill didnt work.
Honestly, If we had not gotten such a good deal I would have felt very, very hard done by!. I presumed that like most places, they passed off their worst houses on those paying a lower rate but over the five days I had managed to see a few of the other houses and they are in the same disrepair.
We booked Faithlegg Holiday Homes on the basis of its reputation as a Hotel but it doesnt live up to that image at all and if anything, it brings its Hotel down with it as I wouldnt go back to either the houses or the Hotel again. We had hoped to get better use out of the house, our plan was to cook a few evenings but that was not possible due to faulty appliances and therefore our relaxing break took on more of a busy feel as we stayed away from the house as much as possible.
On the plus side of things, the Hotel grounds and location are beautiful. We had a great few days touring around Waterford and Wexford and really enjoyed our trip. The few staff we did encounter (the Porter and one of the Managers) were very nice although the Receptionist on departure could have been a bit more pleasant. When my husband checked out there wasnt a "did you enjoy your stay?" "was everythign ok?" just took the key and that was it. Having worked in the Hotel industry myself from 3 to 5 star, this is just not acceptable. Manners cost nothing but a lack of costs you business!!
Oh yes, two of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept on..in both houses!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayRoisinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Spent 5 nights in no.19 the mews with family. Very spacious house with all the facilities you could need. Used the pool , play ground and played tennis. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Close to waterford but still quiet and rural. Will def. be returning. Only thing I could recommend would be one or two family changing cubicles at the pool can be awkward with younger children. But not a major issue.

Room Tip: Ask for no 19 very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a wks holiday after staying in willow wood. The house was perfect. Big back garden for the small ones to run around and enclosed which meant mum n dad could relax. Nothin needed in the house and everything provided.
The grounds are perfect with a pool n playground for kids. Great location to dunmore east and tramore.
Staff were extremely helpful and came to help me figure out the heating and the dryer as soon as I called. Nothin seemed too much trouble. Will definitely be back and couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getawayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFaithlegg, General Manager at Faithlegg Self Catering, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Faithlegg & Willow woods in the future.

Kind regards,
Liam Moran,
General Manager,
Faithlegg Estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clontarf, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Returned for a second family holiday to Faithlegg self catering Willows Wood over Easter break. The houses are modern and nicely situated in the grounds of the Estate. Our house overlooked the golf course with a private sunny garden. Downstairs open plan living, dining and kitchen area which was bright and well maintained. Four bedrooms - one double located downstairs with ensuite facilities and access to kitchen area. This was very handy for the grandparents. Upstairs, 2 single rooms and one large master double with ensuite and balcony. The utility had washer/dryer with a second fridge and sink. This was our second visit to the same house. The interior of the house could now do with a fresh coat of paint and the master bedroom furniture should be updated. In saying that, the house was very cozy, clean and kitchen fully stocked. Beds super comfortable. Any small concern we had was dealt with swiftly by the efficient reception staff. The pools were great with changing areas clean and well maintained. Most of the pool staff were super friendly and obliging. Didn't try out the gym as the Faithlegg area is good for a decent walk, particularly down to Cheekpoint. The kids club was open each morning and evening which both our children very much enjoyed. Dined in the hotel restaurant one night and was really looking forward to the meal. The rooms are beautiful with a lovely atmosphere. The menu was impressive but we were slightly disappointed, particular with the starters and dessert. The staff were very attentive and professional. The bar menu was excellent and great for after dinner drinks. Enjoyed a few rounds of golf on the magnificent course. We all had a wonderful relaxing break at Faithlegg and will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFaithlegg, General Manager at Faithlegg Self Catering, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post and I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in our Willow Woods Self catering house.
I have passed on your very kind comments to our staff.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to Faithlgg again in the future.

Best regards,
Liam Moran,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed in the Willow Woods houses in the grounds. Like the hotel itself, we felt that a lot of the fittings and furniture had reached their end of life after a lot of useage. It probably wouldn't take a lot of investment to bring the potential of the location back to a very high standard. It's got a lot going for it, with the golf, leisure centre, fine dining and nice locale. The guests were all very relaxed and the atmosphere was very good all through our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lackavra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFaithlegg, General Manager at Faithlegg Self Catering, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write and yes we are aware of some maintenance issues in some our self-catering houses. Repair work is currently on-going. Full use of the health & fitness leisure facilities are complimentary to all self-catering guests and we have an extensive new lounge menu in the hotel which guests can avail of from 12.30 – 9pm daily. Good to hear that there was a nice atmosphere during your stay.

Best regards,
Liam Moran,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faithlegg
0.0 mi away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
1.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.4 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
3.7 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faithlegg Self Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faithlegg Self Catering

Property: Faithlegg Self Catering
Address: Faithlegg, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Faithlegg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Faithlegg
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willow Wood estate, set adjacent to the 4 star Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Club is a collection of 14 self-catering houses with three and four bedrooms, designed and finished to the highest specifications. All of the houses have private enclosed gardens making them ideal for young children to play in and for barbeques on those long Summer evenings. The Mews are a collection of 51 self-catering holiday homes and apartments. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing