We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel, but needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Faithlegg
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, but needs some TLC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Stayed for a weekend break. The hotel itself is lovely, real old country style house. I thought our room was a bit on the small side, we had a double and single room. We ordered room service the first night as we arrived around 9pm and the bar service had finished. The food was piping hot, very good quality and delivered very quickly.
I did not get a good night sleep the first night as I felt the walls were paper thin, we heard the people next door talking and laughing and their television. I requested a room move but no other rooms were available to accommodate the 3 of us. The receptionist was very apologetic but this is an issue the hotel need to investigate and rectify as other reviewers have also mentioned this problem.
Also the room could do with a more modern (and bigger) TV, some complimentary water, aircon and a bathroom fan.
Complimentary newspapers would also be a nice touch.
We ate in the bar on Saturday and in the restaurant on Saturday night - both meals were lovely and the service was excellent. The restaurant staff were very pleasant and accommodating.
Breakfast is very nice too and the dining room is lovely.
We enjoyed relaxing in the lovely lounge area near reception, with a lovely open fire.
We also ventured down to the pool area. It is a bit of a maze down there. The changing rooms near the hotel side were being cleaned so we had to change at the changing rooms off the pool, which mean we were walking fully clothed passed the hot tub and the steam room/sauna ... it just felt a bit wierd. Again like other reviewers mentioned, the pool are is in need of a bit of tlc.
The location of the hotel is lovely and there are some nice hill walks nearby.
I found the hotel very relaxing (despite my first seleepless night) and the staff were friendly and helpful. My husband used the driving range/putting green and he has played on the golf course previously and heartily recommends it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    356
    162
    101
    52
See reviews for
292
637
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend break. Plenty of amenities at hotel which was clean and comfortable. Great value break.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeoc-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

Hey all, had a wedding here on the 27th of November.. a white wedding in every sence,... It was Snowing... amazing setting... we drove from Limerick, expecting your average hotel,.. well above it... We arrived late due to the snow, Speedy check in and rush to get ready and back up to the church, which was just across from the entrance of the hotel... Perfect... back after the ceremony and the hotel had a big heated bowl of Mulled wine, (which appeared never ending) we sipped on that until the feeling came back in our figers... It was snowing and minus something outside... but inside it was so cosy and warm, abig fire was roaring... just what was needed.. The pictures on the web site are just how the hotel is, theres no photo shopping, it was magnificient... the service the staff everything, the food was amazing, hot and filled with taste... and second helping, although the reception seemed a little cold at first, it soon heated up.. The room was lovely Bed was massive and a power shower...i emailed to say I left a charger after me.. they got back to me in under 24hrs and they are posting it back up... impeccable service.. i'll be back!! Would I recommend??... YES YES YES...thanks Faithlegg, you made our friends wedding amazing....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

I would recommend this hotel for a nice romantic break . Treat yourself to one of their Master bedromms they are amazing. all in all it is a lovely get away from the hectic lifestyle will lead. the bonus is the lovely walks that can be taken right on the doorstep of the hotel.Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

Stayed here for two nights in October.

Pros: Beautiful setting; great bar staff and restaurant staff; clean rooms; fantastic food - breakfast was great but dinner was one of the best that we have had in a long time (compliments to the chef!!).

Cons: No fires in the middle of cold October. The main house had two fireplaces. We could not understand why there were no fires particularly as it was a manor house and a cold and wet october weather. Took away from the atmosphere; Bar toilets were dirty with wet tissue balls stuck to ceiling and window??!; Finally bedroom walls were paper thin - literally. Got two hours sleep on second due to a child crying next door.

Overall though the pros far outweigh the cons and this hotel did the important things well ie clean rooms, great staff and fantastic food.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

We only had time for one night at Faithlegg and what a pity.

When you arrive the setting is impressive and very well maintained. We checked in and found we were in one of the masters rooms, our room was right above reception so you are treated to a stunning vista (especially at sunrise). The room was huge and so was the bathroom, perhaps the decor and furnishing fit with this type of old building but aren't to my taste; having said that there's nothing offensive about it and it is very grand.

We had a nice walk around the grounds down to the club house. They also serve food but the menu wasn't anything special so opted for a meal in the main hotel - I had a curry my beloved went with the fish - both were tasty. There weren't many people in the bar/restaurant - perhaps it livens up when the golfing is over

Of the three hotels we stayed in during our trip to Kilkenny & Waterford I enjoyed the leisure facilities here the most although the mens locker room was a little small. Very good pool, nice sauna and steam room and the staff were friendly in the spa area.

The disappointing thing was when we arrived reception couldn't give us much information about spa treatments and availability and as we were only staying a night my girlfriend was very disappointed when she found out she couldn't book an appointment, how hard can it be for reception and spa staff to talk to each other?

Breakfast the next morning was super - no complaints and very relaxing surrounds.

I got up early for a brisk morning walk around the course and work up an appetite, what a fantastic setting.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rokan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

I spent a weekend at Faithlegg which is in a rural setting about 10 minutes drive from Waterford. We were a family group and we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was lovely and the layout in a number of adjoining rooms was relaxing with lovely views of the trees and garden outside. Our family dinner had lovely food and great service. The hotel did have long corridors to get to rooms and might not suit less mobile elderly people.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skimumIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faithlegg
1.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
3.3 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Faithlegg, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Faithlegg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Faithlegg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faithlegg House Hotel And Golf Club
Faithlegg Hotel Waterford
Waterford Faithlegg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing