We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing. Wouldn't recommend or go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Faithlegg
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Wouldn't recommend or go back”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a family celebration (my uncle's 50th birthday) & were thoroughly disappointed.

Positives: The original house has a lot of charm (check out the reading room!). The one evening meal we had there was delicious & the waiter that served us was excellent.

Negatives: The biggest negative was the lack of hot water. We stayed there on a Friday & Saturday night. I got up on Saturday morning after a long journey from the UK the night before in desperate need of a hot shower to revitalise me but the water was stone cold even though we let it run for 10 mins. We decided to go down for breakfast & ask at reception hoping they would solve the problem before we returned to out rooms. When we spoke to the lady on reception she informed us that several people were having problems & they weren't expecting so many people to need showers that morning! What? Surely, as a 4-star hotel you should be able to provide enough hot water for everyone to have a morning shower? Disgraceful! The "hot" breakfast was cold & after 15 mins of waiting I had to ask a waitress to bring us tea & coffee. At that stage I had nearly finished my breakfast! I am used to being asked the minute I sit down at a table whether I would like tea or coffee. Maybe I was a little grumpy after the shower debacle! We checked at reception on the way back to our room & were assured that the water had been boosted & we would have hot water imminently. We kept checking the water but did not have any hot water until 4 pm that day. So, we had to go a whole day without a shower. I even checked the showers in the spa area but the water was cold there too. Everyone in our party had the same problem. Other negatives: breakfast was cold again the following morning but at least we had hot water! Our room was very grubby & in desperate need of updating. It was well below par for the price. Drinks at the bar were pricey & the service was ok, not brilliant, except for the one waiter who served us our evening meal that night.

All in all, more 2 or 3-star than 4-star & we won't be returning!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    387
    168
    106
    53
See reviews for
313
681
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kildare, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Just back from a weeks stay in a two bedroomed self catering mews at faithlegg.
The house was a definite four star facility with all mod cons.
The pool and food in the golf club was excellent and very child friendly.
The staff always pleasant and would definately go back again, as its near lovely scenic drives and near waterford city.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helixstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Hi
Myself and my business partner decided to treat ourselves to a week away here, before things start getting a little hectic in work. Having read the reviews, we thought it should be okay. When I booked the room, we were told that there would 3 evening meals included, on arrival we were told, no, it is only 2 evening meals. We arrived on the sunday late in the evening, rang down to order room service and we were told that the menu we had in our room was an old one and should not have been left there. The following evening we decided to head down for dinner, we were told that the beef would be served medium, we asked for it to be well done and we were told, sorry, but chef is serving it medium, after getting our point across about wanting our meat well done we were told that they would see what chef could do. The food was not up to scratch. Also one of the beds seemed to have bed bugs, I ended up covered in bites. I really felt that the staff although they were pleasant, just didn't have any direction. If you are into the golf, from what I saw, the golf course looks quite good and there were plenty of people using it.

However, would I stay there again, no, we ended up going to a local shop to get bread rolls and orange juice for our lunches. We were not the only one's to complain. I would like to say something good about it, the views around the area are fantastic, its not far from waterford city and there is a lovely pub not too far from it either that does lovely food.

Regards

Hizzy56

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hizzy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

This is a lovely hotel a few kms outside Waterford. Its an old Mansion House situated on a Golf Course. We stayed there for three nights. The best thing about this hotel is the restaurant - the dining room is beautiful with high ceilings. It has that Georgian feel to it. The food was superb - I would go back again just for the food alone!!! The Hotel has a fantastic spa in the basement which has a large jacuzzi and fitness centre. The rooms are nice and comfortable. This Hotel is great value for money and very relaxing. It is a little bit outside the city centre so you will need to get taxis if you're going out for the night!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We stayed in Faithlegg for the weekend. I'd read the different reviews on the hotel on this site but decided to keep an open mind.

We stayed in the newer wing of the hotel, the decor and furniture in the room was a bit jaded but it was comfortable enough. When we checked in we had some chocolates and champagne waiting for us in our room which were a nice touch. There was no mini bar in our room but then again I never use the mini bar so it made no difference to me.

We were disappointed with the quality of the breakfast. It was very bland and not what we expected from a 4* hotel. There was no homemade brown bread, instead there was the generic 'french' bread rolls and orange juice from a tin instead of fresh.

We had one dinner included in the package and the meal was lovely. It was a set menu but the quality of food was excellent. The wine menu was a bit disappointing, a decent bottle averaged around €45 which is quite expensive and the house red we got for €24 was cold. Our starters came before our wine and we had to remind the waitress to bring it. We had tea at the end of dinner and it was grey. Obviously they have a problem with tea because of the water in the area but even so they should make sure to put an extra bag in to make sure it brews properly.

The lounge and bar were lovely and were nice places for relaxing
pre and post dinner drinks.

Overall, the hotel building is impressive, the grounds are fantastic, the location is fabulous, the staff are friendly and helpful but it didn't feel like a 4* hotel. It is an old hotel by Irish standards so it has to compete with the shiny new 4* hotels but the little things like cheap breakfast sausages, no nice brown soda bread, horrible tea that take away from the weekend away experience. These are things I'd accept from a b&b but not a 4* hotel.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepidlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Straffan, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Stayed in Faithlegg for 3 nights. Very relaxing. Food in restaurant ok - not great - but no complaints as included in our package. Did not like the Carmen (Tolten?) white wine tho!! Definately would not recommend that wine. Great breakfast in our room and plenty of it. Nice bathroom, powerful shower. Plenty of hot water. Would definately recommend and return, tho note to all: the hotel is a drive from everywhere: so I suppose perfect for relaxing break!!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — There was a gummy bear on the floor of our room for the 3 days!!!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abigaleCoKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

The grounds are gorgeous, and the facade of the main house (the original old fashioned part of the hotel) is beautiful. The room we stayed in (on the relatively new addition) was pretty run down, dirty carpets, uncomfortable mattress, and had a substandard bathroom (electrical outlets iffy, shower pressure about 3/10). For what we paid for the hotel, we did not get anywhere near our money's worth. The food was acceptable but expensive, the service in the bar area was slow and inattentive, and if you thought the bedroom felt run down, the sitting area made the bedroom seem like a high end furniture store in comparison.

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joshlawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faithlegg
1.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.3 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,167 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,312 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,150 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Faithlegg, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Faithlegg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Faithlegg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faithlegg House Hotel And Golf Club
Faithlegg Hotel Waterford
Waterford Faithlegg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing