We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired and dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Faithlegg
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“tired and dated”
Reviewed September 23, 2008

Was here for 1 night stay a couple of weeks ago - On entering the building the lobby and bar area is nice with a 'stately home' feel to it which I thought was nice. Bedrooms are very tired and dated (although clean) and could do with a refurbishment

Dinner in the evening was ok, food was adequate, not bad but nothing to write home about either - Breakfast was a shambles the next day - it was buffet style which I have no great problem with, but it was a major chore to get some coffee - had to ask a waitress twice for coffee and when it eventually came, it was as weak as a kitten.

Overall this is not 4 star standard - staff were efficient, food ok, decor a bit tired.....actually, I left feeling very ambivalent about the place which is a shame because it is a beautiful old house and has so much potential with a very good golf course attached to it

  • Liked — Golf course
  • Disliked — depressing rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinner71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    374
    165
    103
    53
See reviews for
302
659
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We are a family of two adults and four small children (we put our pet dog into nearby kennels ) .
Looking forward to a a well earned break ,we booked a 3 bedroomed house at Faithlegg mews Waterford costing €1345 for two weeks
A nicely laid out house but very badly managed
We arrived Saturday 21 December to find nobody at reception .when eventually a security guard turned up he said he wasn't expecting us and we had to prove our booking
Into the house we found all the heaters turned off and bearing in mind it was 6 degrees so much for a warm welcome !
Our neighbours arrived with a great big barking dog,this dog was to ensure we knew he was on duty by barking most mornings at 2am.
With no milk, handsoap or toilet paper (basics even for self catering ) we headed off in search of supplies.
Sunday moring we awoke to find all the electric power turned off,tracking down the security guard he points out this is a regular problem and sorts out the matter, later the children decided to have a quick shower however the shower leaked with most of the water coming thru the hall ceiling causing a serious mess
Next doors dog decided to pay us a visit with his big muddy paws he ran up the stairs jumping all over the place including my wifes coat ,however we didn't expect the owner to follow suit but he did

We contacted reception on their return (28 December ) to be met with a frosty attitude and when we asked for some basic cleaning we were told it was self catering and to do it ourselves
They dropped in a vacuum cleaner and broken mop
The vacuum cleaner (like the microwave and washing machine ) doesn't work and the mop is disgusting a problem even for self catering
We gave the hotel management a copy of this and as yet have not received a reply....

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Receptionist
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2008

I went to Faithlegg with my mother and 3 sisters for a relaxing weekend away with some beauty treatments. It was extremely disappointing on every level and the rooms were far from 4 star.
When we went to the "spa" it was a shocking experience. We were left sitting on a grubby coach and then brought into the treatment rooms. I booked a massage and they had no slot for your face in the massage bed, I ended up with a really bad neck creak and the lady giving the massage had no idea what she was doing. The walls were paper thin and the staff were talking very loudly outside the door, it was not a relaxing experience and extremely unprofessional.
If you are considering going to this hotel, I strongly advise you not to.

  • Liked — the drive down to the hotel
  • Disliked — the Spa
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanagarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Attended a wedding there in past week. The location was stunning as was the building from the exterior. Our room was not the Kingsize we booked-a double. When my husband mentioned this to the receptionist on check out there was no apology only "Well-It costs the same"...The room was not 4 star quality. I have stayed in many hotels and worked in a four star for years during holidays in my college time and this was below rating. The bathroom was tired, pillows uncomfortable and no divan covering the divan in hotels...
The staff were fairly rude and even turned off the lights when the residents were in the residents bar at the end of the night to get them to finish up their drinks....How Rude...they were paying enough for the wedding experience here. The food was alright not as good as I expected. As for breakfast...well they didn't serve until 7.30am. My husband went in at 7.30 with a friend and was given coffee but never offered any hot breakfast or even told how the breakfast worked...being a buffet. I am glad we got to experience Faithlegg but I would not recommend it at the price...

  • Liked — The original building was beautiful
  • Disliked — The attidude of the staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 889900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Stayed overnight in the hotel for a small family party. This was my third time at the hotel, I first stayed there a number of years ago when it first opened and again about 2 years ago.
The setting is beautiful, but the hotel is tired, dated and generally shabby, and in serious need of an upgrade. It is not 4 start standard.
Our room was fine, decent size, but rooms need to be refurbished. Decor was tired and drab. Bathrooms also needs to be redone, shower curtain had mould on it, and bathroom generally smelled stale.
We had lunch which was actually very nice.
We had dinner on Sat night, and overall, the food was not good. I asked for steak cooked medium, it was rare. It did not taste good so I did not even bother to send it back. My husband ordered pannacotta for desert, it was dreadful. Breakfast the next morning was awful, buffet style. I waited about 15 minutes for a pot of coffee, when it eventually came, I asked the waitress for cups as there were none on the table. She proceeded to deliver coffee pots to a number of different tables, and eventually returned 5 mins later with cups.
Overall, I would not return to Faithlegg, which is a real shame for the hotel as it could do so much better.

  • Disliked — Needs to be refurbished
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
216 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Beautiful property and grounds (4/5 star standard) but the inside is starting to look more like a 3 star (tired 4 star). Beware of booking on the weekends when you face a high chance of becoming part of a wedding. You will be shouder to shoulder in the small bar/lounge with the wedding guests and then will have to endure the wedding band until 2am (which is hotel policy). We were on the upper floors but could still hear it blaring in our room (they don't have a seperate building for the banqueting hall). Rooms in desperate need of an upgrade. If you are expecting an exclusive country retreat getaway look elsewhere. If you are less picky then it might be okay.

  • Liked — Grounds
  • Disliked — Standard of Interior and Weddings
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

We recently attended a friend's wedding in this hotel and stayed the night. For the cost of the stay (205euro inc breakfast) the room left a lot to be desired. We were situated in the new part of the hotel and for the price, the rooms were quite average. The walls were paper thin and it was possible to hear everything in the rooms next door to ours as well as everything in the hallway. The décor and facilities in the rooms were certainly nothing special - certainly not 4star quality. The staff were pleasant and the rest of the services in the hotel were generally fine, but again not really worth the money. I don't play golf, so I can't comment on these facilities - maybe they make up for everything else, who knows?.
If you're looking for a country house experience in Ireland, there's much better value out there.

  • Liked — Staff service in restaurant and bar
  • Disliked — the cost
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faithlegg
1.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
3.7 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,279 reviews
3.3 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,108 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
654 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Faithlegg, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Faithlegg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Faithlegg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faithlegg House Hotel And Golf Club
Faithlegg Hotel Waterford
Waterford Faithlegg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing