We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Old Lady who needs a few fillers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Faithlegg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We visited overnight for dinner. B&B. I visited the Spa which was excellent. The therapists were excellent and made the experience very worthwhile. The hotel itself is a bit tired with most areas needing an update. We were given a beautiful room The Lady Olivia which is a large very grand room. The beds and bed linen were excellent. The decor is however from the 1980's and the many cracked tiles in the bathroom a bit no no.
We had dinner in the bar as we weren't very hungry following and excellent afternoon tea. Unfortunately we sat in the inner bar where the staff sorted the crockery. The noise was dreadful and as the place was very busy there wasn't an option. I would strongly advise that this issue is sorted as one doesn't want to feel they are sitting in the wash up area of the kitchen.
The staff in Faithlegg are gracious efficient and hard working. Management should consider investing in redecorating.

Room Tip: The Lady Olivia is a beautiful room. If you don't mind dated decor its a beautiful space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeronicaL495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFaithlegg, General Manager at Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Veronica,
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and your feedback is important and helps us to improve our product and service further.
I do hope you will make a return visit to us in Faithlegg in the future.

Best regards,
Liam Moran,
General Manager,
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

My Fiancé and I stayed on Feb 22nd for one night. We had treatments booked on arrival which were amazing (thanks Jackie) The spa facilities are not up to 4 Star standards mind. Far from it.

My biggest issue though was with the restaurant staff. At dinner, our waitress took our order, however 15 mins later we were still waiting on our bottle of wine & had to call the manager over to ask for it. Our glasses were filled with water at the beginning but 3 times we had to ask for more. Insane service for a 4*. Dinner came without one of the side orders, by the time the side order arrived, most of our dinner was eaten. Poor and slow service.. a common theme & a sign of things to come.

After dinner, my Fiancé ordered a cappuccino which came out so hot she couldn't drink it for 10/12 mins. Crazy!

The bar staff saved the night. Shane and Ryan were good fun and we had the banter with them until 2am. The live music was also very entertaining.

Breakfast... Here we go again. Waited 15 mins to be seated by the restaurant manager who seemed ridiculously stressed. No menu was given to us so we hit the buffet. Sat down and noticed menu cards on other tables, very annoyed but at least we had buffet food. Had to order the toast and tea (not sure why they couldn't leave all that out for people to get themselves... Most hotels have a big roller toaster) We had to ask twice for the tea and toast. The toast came out after we had finished. No butter on the table nor were we asked if we needed any. Again, leave the butter out for people & stop trying to 'provide it as a service' you are not able.

We (and many many people on tables around us) were far from impressed with the breakfast services. We were unsure if we were just unlucky at dinner, but breakfast confirmed our initial thoughts about the restaurant staff.

One thing I will say about the restaurant, stop trying to do things you cannot do.... OR, hire a manager who has the aptitude to run the restaurant efficiently and either hire competent staff or train them sufficiently. They are the most incompetent and inefficient group I have ever come across. I travel A LOT for work and I've come across somenholiday inns with superior service.

Finally, I've been reading a lot of the comments below in relation to the staff inefficiencies (some are 2012) and the GM has responded stating that the issues have been addressed etc. Clearly, they have not been addressed and the management need to consider where money needs to be invested (staff training) or risk living off the faithlegg name/reputation for as long as they can get away with it.

I can tell you now that I will never voluntarily go back to faithlegg. There are far superior 4* hotels in Ireland and beyond & it's only a matter of time before you are downgraded to a 3* unless you up your game.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFaithlegg, General Manager at Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Alan,
I do appreciate you taking the time to write. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and also on your feedback. Whilst i don't feel all of your comments were warranted I am sympathetic and they have been taken on board. Should you wish to discuss with me further please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards,
Liam Moran,
General Manager,
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We got married at Faithlegg is May 2013 and what a weekend we had.
Most guests arrived the day before and chexk in upon arrival was easy and hassle free. Whilst the men engaged in a round of golf (15 of us) the ladies relaxed in the gorgeous hotel bar area.
The golf course is a fantastic test of golf and extremely well maintained, comments made by some very experienced golfers in our group. The staff in the pro shop were also very helpful in arranging everything for us.

Our wedding was on the Saturday and it was everything we had hoped for and more. Unusually, we actually had our ceremony in the main Minaun Room and the room looked stunning. It is such an impressive room we wanted to utilise it for the whole day.
It was then transformed within 2 hours into our perfect wedding reception room. The staff did an amazing job in achieving this for us so quickly and to such a high standard.
We had the top package for our meal and it did not disappoint. Our main choices were lamb and fish, and both were amazing, backed up by compliments from our guests. There was easily enough wine for everybody in the package. We also had a number of special dietary requirements and nothing was too much trouble for the staff at Faithlegg and service was impeccable throughout.
The hotel residents bar was fantastic for us and it a generally younger crowd and we really enjoyed that aspect.
The day would not have been possible without the expert guidance of Suzie and her team.
All in all it was our dream wedding weekend at the most perfect of venues with top drawer staff and delicious food. What more could you ask for?

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank ATR-FO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFaithlegg, General Manager at Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your lovely comments, have passed on your wonderful feedback to the Golf Club, Jenny our head Chef and to Susie and the team. I am delighted to hear that you had your "dream Wedding Weekend" at Faithlegg. Continued health and happiness to you both in your married life.

kind regards,
Liam Moran,
General Manager,
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hotel building is nice and the drive into it through the golf course is pleasant enough.
We arrived in a hurry as we were running a bit late for a wedding so didn't get much chance to look around during the day.
Any staff we encountered were pleasant and the food was good.
The room was large with a view across the garden and the bathroom was very big with a nice shower.
The only thing that disappointed me was when I went for 2nd's at breakfast there was only black pudding left. What I did get to eat was good though.
We were happy with our stay but feel it is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cudman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFaithlegg, General Manager at Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to write to us, we take all feedback on board as it helps us to improve our service further.

Kind regards,
Liam Moran,
General Manager,
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed two nights in Faithlegg House on 31st and Ist., January 2O14. Dinner on 31st was excellent and service first class even though there was a large wedding there also. It was our third visit to this hotel and always find the staff very helpful and friendly. It is a lovely location in summer months as it is close to the sea and Dunmore East and Passage East are beautiful locations with lovely restaurants and pubs

Room Tip: Front of hotel faces on to golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenisR359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFaithlegg, General Manager at Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Denis,
Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you will return to us again in the future.

kind regards,
Liam Moran,
General Manager,
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent 2 nights in the hotel last week to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Like many of the reviews before us, we could not fault the hotel nor the staff. Our room was magnificent. It was in the old part of the house. I don't know what the newer rooms are like. There was a wedding on in the hotel on each of our two nights and we were not disturbed at all by them. The golf course was great, despite the rainybweather of the previous week. We will be back!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here recently with my girlfriend. A lovely hotel with very friendly staff, set in beautiful countryside. Facilities great and the breakfast was one of the best hotel breakfasts I have had in a while!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFaithlegg, General Manager at Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank for your lovely feedback and i am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Faithlegg.

Best regards,
Liam Moran,
General Manager,
Faithlegg House hotel & golf resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faithlegg
1.5 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
20 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,079 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arthurstown
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,250 reviews
3.7 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,419 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: Faithlegg, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Faithlegg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Faithlegg
Price Range: $156 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faithlegg House Hotel And Golf Club
Faithlegg Hotel Waterford
Waterford Faithlegg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing