We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”

Review of Goldcrest Cottage

Goldcrest Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Goldcrest Cottage
Kitchen Kitchen 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Goldcrest Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen 2
Sitting Room
Log Burner
Reading area
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Bamburgh Castle
Lindisfarne Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fenwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarafinch...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a great stay at a wonderful cottage. Warm,homely, cosy but so spacious the pictures do not do it justice. It had everything you could need furnished to a very high standard in a perfect location for all the places you should go on a visit to Northumberland. Will definitely be recommending this cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2017
Your kind review is very much appreciated, we love to hear when our guests had a great time. It truly is a little haven in a stunning location.

We’re so close to everything, in-land and by the sea, which makes it ideal for families and friends who want to explore our beautiful county.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fab Relaxing Cottage”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Myself,partner,2 children & brother in law spent a weekend here for my sons birthday.The cottage is warm,cozy,relaxing and welcoming.We were left a gift from Marie of prosecco and cookies,these were much appreciated and a lovely gesture,thank you.If I can say,the online photos don't do the cottage justice as it is amazing!We didn't want to leave,but we will most definitely be back.Thank you Marie.x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
Thank you for your kind review, feedback is always very much appreciatd. I'm thrilled you all had a wonderful weekend and would be happy to welcome you back some time soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovetrave...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage...”
Reviewed November 20, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Fabulous weekend. Great location, great cosy space (loved the log burner). Very comfortable with lovely touches. Really enjoyed our stay and hope to return again. We book a cottage in Northumberland every year and this is the best to date... Thank you :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2016
These are very kind and generous comments thank you. We try to make Goldcrest Cottage as inviting and homely as we possibly can. Many of our guests stay for long weekends and the idea is just to simply relax and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the cottage and the surrounding area. We hope you will return again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveB77
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in a good location.”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The owner, Marie, was very efficient and very helpful from the time of booking. On arrival we were welcomed with a bottle of sparkling wine, a box of chocolates and milk and rggs in the fridge. What a lovely touch.

As for the cottage, it was an absolute delight. Well appointed, spotlessly clean and good sized rooms The cottage was in a great location for exploring the northeast cost, with Holy island, Bamburgh Castle and even Berwick all within easy reach. We enjoyed every minute of our stay here, and would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: A minor issue, but no local pub.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
Your kind and generous comments on our cottage are very much appreciated thank you. It does look small and cozy from the outside but once inside it certainly does open up to a good sized family get house, perfect for a few days in the country. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suej51201...
Driffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely quaint cottage”
Reviewed September 28, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had a 3 night stay in this lovely clean cozy cottage.Wine and provisions waiting for us was a real treat.Very quiet location yet less than a minute from A1.Perfect spot for visiting Lindisfarne, Bamburgh, Alnwick and many other wonderful places in this stunning county.Only wish we had stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
Thank you for your very kind comments on Goldcrest Cottage, the location is ideal for visiting all the beautiful areas within our county and we try to made it a home from home as much as possible. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dale_aitk...
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage ”
Reviewed February 14, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights over Valentines weekend. Spotlessly clean & everything you need for a relaxing break. A great base for exploring the Northumberland coast and very handy for everywhere. I'd definitely recommend staying here & would return without hesitation. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2016
I'm thrilled you have a great Valentines break at Goldcrest Cottage and hope you will return again very soon. Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
413phil47
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stopped for 3 nights very smart place everything you needed for s base to travel
recommend so just going to be very picky wifi was not working wen we there very disappointing as we had picked this place for it
TV upstairs had a prob but that was sorted ty
2nd bathroom was just a toilet
Overall nice place

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2015
Thank you for reviewing Goldcrest Cottage and I'm pleased you had a good stay despite the problems we had with the wifi. That's the joys of relying on BT in a rural village!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing